We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Rome Central Park
Ranked #254 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hotel with a view”
Reviewed April 23, 2009

This is a beautiful Hotel with an even more beautiful view of Rome looking down on St. Peters Church. The hotel is beautiful, clean, quiet, rooms were perfectly cleaned. I'm an OCD freak and I even slept on the sheets, so I didn't have to break out the spare sheets I had brought from home (very rare for me). This was my second trip to Rome in less than a years time. The first time I was downtown in the city center so I must say this hotel is further than the 3 miles advertised on the website. The hotel does offer a free shuttle from 9 a.m to 9 p.m It runs on the hour and half hour dropping off and picking up near the Vatican, the location is perfect for getting around to the rest of the city however you choose. Our stay included breakfast ,which was great and dinner. Typical Roman 3 course meal and dessert it even included wine.

If your stay does not include meals there is a great little restaurant within walking distance that the hotel staff will recommend, to purchase the hotel dinner is not cheap. They are open for lunch and dinner. Take the house wine when dining here, it is 3Euro and Fabulous. Hotel staff very helpful, not including Christopher, he made a mistake on our stay including our meals and the first night we had to find someplace to eat on our own, the next morning the rest of the staff checked on this and corrected it. It would have been nice for Christopher to at least apologize. Other than that this really is a good hotel if you don't mind being a little further away.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valval30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    337
    169
    47
    25
See reviews for
166
269
27
186
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, MD
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2009

This place is so far away from the city, it was a nightmare. Luckily it was only for one night. We called the hotel from the states and they said it was a 27 minute ride to the airport. That's why we stayed there on our last night in the country. Turns out It was 90 minutes via the transit, so we ended up taking a shuttle for 55 euros. The directions that they gave to us were poor as well. After you get off the subway, there is supposed to be a bus to the corner near the hotel, but we couldn't find it, and had to take a taxi. Once we checked in, the toilet wouldn't flush. When I called to tell them, the phone didn't work.
This place was just bought by Mariott, and the manager said that they were working out the "kinks," but, based on location alone, this isn't a good spot unless you've got some business in this suburb.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdawwgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2009

Initially we were concerned with the hotel's location as it is not in the city center. We were pleasantly with how easy it was to get from the airport (FCO) to the hotel and back and into the city center (free shuttle and via taxi). I believe the hotel is undergoing renovations and we stayed in what was clearly a remodeled room - and it was beautiful, comfortable and had a balcony overlooking the city. The staff was just okay and reasonably helpful. The neighborhood was cool. We ate at an awesome family-owned restaurant about two blocks away (sorry but I have forgotten the same, but it is on the main street in the opposite direction from the train station).

From the airport, take the L1 to the L3 - so easy and inexpensive. You can use the L3 to get to and from the city - or the free shuttle (the drivers are not nice or helpful), or a taxi (about E20).

DO NOT pay for the breakfast as it was very disappointing. Also, the restaurant is good - a little pricey but good. There are much better options in the city - check Rome reviews of restaurants in the city as they provide excellent recommendations. Also, if you are looking for a good tour, check out Eden Walks and do the sunset tour and the Vadican tour with Grant. Amazing and fun.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Byron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano, Italia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2009

Really nice three stars hotel. European style: rich but sober.
Fully furnished room, including a water boiler and some tea and coffe bags.
Everithyng looked clean.
A special mention to the breakfast: superior!
Everithing, from the american taste to the local italian specialities, was delicious. It worth waking up earlier in the morning.
The hotel is near to the 'Policlinico Gemelli' and 'Universita' Cattolica', that you can reach by foot in 5/10 minutes.
The area is not one of the best I saw, but neither seems too ill-famed.
A couple of 'trattoria' in the neighbours: we eated in the 'trattoria sacconi' and we were satisfied (beware it is really popular and not so clean, but the know how to cook).
The light-train station 'gemelli' is near the corner and connects you to the urban metropolitan subway.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank civilian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights and had a wonderful time. We are Platnium with Marriott and choose the hotel due to the price.

We used the train to get to the hotel from the airport without any issue and utilized the free shuttle to and from the city while we were there. Only once was the shuttle full on a Sunday morning. Most of the time it was us and one other couple. If you elect to take the train back from the city, be sure to get on the local and not the express. We made the mistake once and ended up an hour and half outside of Rome!

Our rate included breakfast. It provided a good American/European selection, but neither of us would touch the scrambled eggs. We also had dinner in the restaurant one night. It was Ok, but nothing great.

We really enjoyed dinner at a place a block and half from the hotel called, Gaia. It is an organic restaurant and pizzaria. We also went to the local "typical Italian restaurant" and also had good service.

The hotel is undergoing renovation and I would say is a good value for what you are paying.

  • Liked — away from the city, but still close
  • Disliked — wish the shuttle ran later at night
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PumpkinDenver_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, Essex
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2009

We found the hotel clean and well maintained, the staff were friendly and professional. The room was clean and exactly as expected, so no complaints at all.

Although on the outskirts of the city, the hotel provides an excellent mini-bus on every hour throughout the day right into the city centre which we made daily use of, with the return on every half hour. The journey took about 20 mins and stops near the metro station near St. Peters so you can also jump on the Metro if you have plans to go somewhere else.

One morning we needed to get into the city early before the first mini-bus left at 8.00am. We took the train from the station 5 mins from the hotel for a short journey a few stops to connect with the Metro Line A. This worked well and we were in the city ahead of schedule.

I would not recommend walking into the city from this hotel. We walked in once, and once was enough, its not the best walk and it took over an hour to reach St.Peters.

I cannot comment on the breakfast or evening meal as we chose not to eat in the hotel, due to the expensive prices. There are very few places to eat in the area around the hotel. We mixed with the locals in the morning for a coffee (go to the end of the short road in front of the hotel, and walk straight across to find these places), but unless you want to pay hotel prices for food, best to eat in the central areas of the city, then catch the mini-bus or taxi back.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACH29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Rome Marriott Park Hotel
#372 of 1,263 in Rome
1,980 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Sisto V
#600 of 1,263 in Rome
318 reviews
Prati
Le Meridien Visconti Rome
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Rome Central Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Rome Central Park

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Rome Central Park
Address: Via Giuseppe Moscati 7, 00168 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#142 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Rome Central Park 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Rome Central Park Hotel is conveniently located near the Vatican City and S. Peter's Abbey and offers everything you would expect from a 4 star conference & leisure hotel whether you are in Rome for business or fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Rome Central Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Rome Central Park Hotel Rome
Central Park Roma Rome
Central Park Roma Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing