We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont Stay Here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Rome Central Park
Ranked #250 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dont Stay Here”
Reviewed April 10, 2011

We stayed on the executive floor and the room was still very small. The hotel is very far from anything. The cab from the train station to the hotel cost 40 Euros. Every time the AC turns on is smells like mildew, so we just keep the door open. The shower frequently fluctuates between hot and cold which is just plain annoying. If you would like a late checkout it will cost you an extra 50% of the daily room rate. Internet access is not free and will cost you 22 Euros a day or 10 euros an hour. Hotel offers a shuttle to the Vatican which takes about 15 min and cost 2.50 Euros per person each way. In the case of me and my wife anytime we wanted to leave the hotel it cost us 10 euros every time that's just ridiculous. I have stayed at 6 different hotels while on my 15 day trip through Italy and this was by far the worst hotel of all. Even the staff was rude and unaccommodating.

Room Tip: Book a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VB2theworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    330
    165
    46
    25
See reviews for
162
265
26
181
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

I have been here a couple of times. It is a joy to sleep in this hotel where rooms are very quiet.
Maybe the location is a bit far from tourist attractions but there is a shuttle service provided by the hotel to the city center and a train station is just two minutes away, then consider 30 minutes to downtown.
Good for business travelers.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FedeF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

I read reviews earlier and was a lil scared of the commut. It was not bad at all. The shuttle service is now from 8 -12 PM and 4:00 - 9:00 PM and that works out well. Gemelli is closeby and the hotel staff was great. They did give away our original booking inspite of a communication that we will be a day late but the management more than made up for it. Lovely view of St. Peter's dome.

Dont forget to swing by the local convenience store - awesome cappucino for 90c.

Loved it!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WanderKindner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2011

Very accomodating, helpful and very gracious. My husbnad's and my brand new 150.00 shoes were stolen from our luggage at the airport, the staff intereceded for us as best as they could to act as an intermediary for us and the airport. It was to no avail, but not for lack of effort on their part. They have a shuttle for 5 euros, round trip,that takes you to the Vatican and from that part you can branch out to many sights. Taxis are very expensive to my notion so the shuttle is quite a bargain. The rooms are quiet and clean, we had a great view from our balcony of St. Peter's. We had a wonderful trip aside from the theft. I would advise that NOTHING of value be put in your luggage , you have to be aware of more then the pick pockets there. Wear a money belt, don't let your purses hang from your arm, and stay off of bus 64, known over there as the wallet eater bus.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjeannef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

We found the hotel lovely, well-maintained, and the staff gracious, professional and courteous. The front desk staff were always welcoming, warm, and very helpful. Housekeeping was excellent. Rooms are large, "American-style" and well-appointed. And the view of St. Peter's is lovely from the balcony. It was an added bonus to have a mini-fridge in the room -- nice to keep a bottle of wine and piece of cheese. Ice is available from ice makers, though they are s-l-o-w, so it does take a bit of time to get an ice bucket filled.

Getting to the hotel from the airport is both inexpensive, and easy. One takes the train to Trastevere Station (NOT the express to Termini). At Trastevere Station, switch to the train on track 6 and in six stops one arrives at Gemelli. Take the exit to Sacchetti (that's two levels up). At street level turn left, walk two very short blocks, turn left again, and the hotel is at the end of the block (again on your left). The cost is just 8 Euros/person each way.

Transportation to/from central Rome can be a bit more challenging. One can use the hotel's shuttle service to/from the Vatican area. Or, take the train from Gemelli station to Valle Aurelia and switch to the subway (note, the subways stop at 9:00 PM except on Saturday). Or, return to Trastevere Station and then take Tram 8 (direction Argentina) for easy access to the historic center, Jewish Ghetto and the restaurants and nightlight of Trastevere. The train does stop at 10:30 PM, but is every 15 minutes during the day (30 minutes on Sundays and holidays). Tickets are 1 Euro for up to 75 minutes of travel (meaning transfers are included), and are available at the hotel and at the Tabak shops. Tickets MUST BE validated (stamp your ticket in the little yellow boxes) before using, and inspectors do periodically check. Unlimited travel daily/weekly passes are also reasonably priced.

There are a couple of options for returning later using the buses (some of which run until midnight) and investing in a bus map (3 Euros) is cost-effective if one anticipates bus travel.

There is a workout room on the 7th floor, though we never used it since we walked a considerable amount each day in Rome. Internet access is VERY expensive. And the coffee from the machine in the breakfast room is disappointing. In a city which loves its coffee, one expects better. Other than a couple of breakfasts, we did not eat at the hotel.

Across the street from the Gemelli station is a Carrefour market (open until 8:00 PM, closed Sunday) where we purchased wine, cheese, and other snacks.

As seasoned European travelers, we were able to work around the challenges presented by the hotel's location, and since we were in Rome several days we had time to make sense of the transportation options. This hotel was a good choice, and a good value for us.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank LKAstier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

I've stayed at the Courtyard Rome Central Park for four nights in January 2001 with my wife as part of a vacation through Italy. I booked the hotel due to the rate. Hotel room was excellent. Bead was extremely comfortable. Rooms was very large. Very clean. Breakfast was very good. Hotel provides transportation to the Vatican City area. Hotel is modern and woth it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

We stayed here 3 nights and I must tell every tourist who is thinking about staying here (because it is a Marriot): RUN AWAY. DON'T STAY HERE.

1) The location couldn't be any worse. You might as well stay in Sicily. This hotel is EXTREMELY INCONVENIENT if you are a tourist looking to explore the great city of Rome. Unless you plan on getting back to the hotel before 10 p.m. every night, then the location is not that bad. (for more on details, see below). Otherwise ... NIGHTMARE.

2) The view was OUTSTANDING. We stayed in a beautiful large American style room with a million dollar view of St. Peter's in the Vatican but it cost us approx. $300/night. So if you plan on staying in the room alot, this hotel was wonderful. It's rare to find such large rooms in Italy. But after an hour, the view becomes less impressive

3) The WIFI is very expensive. It adds up over a few days.

4) The breakfast was unsatisfactory.
__________________________________

Let me share our horror stories regarding transportation to/from this hotel. We arrived in the late afternoon and decided to head into the city of Rome for a late dinner. Then we walked around and enjoyed Rome at night. Around midnight, we decided to head back to the hotel. We tried to enter the subway but it was CLOSED. We eventually learned that the subway closes at midnight. Being from New York with a 24/7 subway, this was a shock. We tried to find a cab to take us back. No such luck. We finally persuaded a regular citizen (not a taxi driver) to take us to our hotel at one o'clock in the morning (after begging a dozen people with cars). It cost 50 euros.

The next night, we made sure we entered the subway by 11 p.m. The subway took us to the last stop where we then had to transfer to another train to take us to our hotel. GUESS WHAT? THAT TRAIN STOPPED RUNNING AT 10 p.m. There were no people or cars in sight. And the streets were very dark and desolate. We had a map and after ONE HOUR of brisk walking, we were able to make our way back to the hotel via dark creepy hilly country roads adjacent to a park.

Finally on our last night, we left Rome at 8 p.m. and were able to catch the hotel shuttle back to the hotel. So what's my point???? Unless you leave Rome at 8 p.m. every night, DON'T STAY HERE. For the same amount of money, you can book a 4 star hotel in the HEART OF ROME. Otherwise it was a nice hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JACKPO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Rome Marriott Park Hotel
#376 of 1,256 in Rome
1,913 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora
Hotel Sisto V
#553 of 1,256 in Rome
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Prati
Le Meridien Visconti Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Rome Central Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Rome Central Park

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Rome Central Park
Address: Via Giuseppe Moscati 7, 00168 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#139 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Rome Central Park 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Rome Central Park Hotel is conveniently located near the Vatican City and S. Peter's Abbey and offers everything you would expect from a 4 star conference & leisure hotel whether you are in Rome for business or fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Marriott, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Rome Central Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Rome Central Park Hotel Rome
Central Park Roma Rome
Central Park Roma Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing