We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Courteous, professional as well as personal personnell.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Rome Central Park
Ranked #261 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Courteous, professional as well as personal personnell.”
Reviewed March 16, 2011

Very accomodating, helpful and very gracious. My husbnad's and my brand new 150.00 shoes were stolen from our luggage at the airport, the staff intereceded for us as best as they could to act as an intermediary for us and the airport. It was to no avail, but not for lack of effort on their part. They have a shuttle for 5 euros, round trip,that takes you to the Vatican and from that part you can branch out to many sights. Taxis are very expensive to my notion so the shuttle is quite a bargain. The rooms are quiet and clean, we had a great view from our balcony of St. Peter's. We had a wonderful trip aside from the theft. I would advise that NOTHING of value be put in your luggage , you have to be aware of more then the pick pockets there. Wear a money belt, don't let your purses hang from your arm, and stay off of bus 64, known over there as the wallet eater bus.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjeannef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    331
    165
    46
    25
See reviews for
162
266
26
181
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Avon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

We found the hotel lovely, well-maintained, and the staff gracious, professional and courteous. The front desk staff were always welcoming, warm, and very helpful. Housekeeping was excellent. Rooms are large, "American-style" and well-appointed. And the view of St. Peter's is lovely from the balcony. It was an added bonus to have a mini-fridge in the room -- nice to keep a bottle of wine and piece of cheese. Ice is available from ice makers, though they are s-l-o-w, so it does take a bit of time to get an ice bucket filled.

Getting to the hotel from the airport is both inexpensive, and easy. One takes the train to Trastevere Station (NOT the express to Termini). At Trastevere Station, switch to the train on track 6 and in six stops one arrives at Gemelli. Take the exit to Sacchetti (that's two levels up). At street level turn left, walk two very short blocks, turn left again, and the hotel is at the end of the block (again on your left). The cost is just 8 Euros/person each way.

Transportation to/from central Rome can be a bit more challenging. One can use the hotel's shuttle service to/from the Vatican area. Or, take the train from Gemelli station to Valle Aurelia and switch to the subway (note, the subways stop at 9:00 PM except on Saturday). Or, return to Trastevere Station and then take Tram 8 (direction Argentina) for easy access to the historic center, Jewish Ghetto and the restaurants and nightlight of Trastevere. The train does stop at 10:30 PM, but is every 15 minutes during the day (30 minutes on Sundays and holidays). Tickets are 1 Euro for up to 75 minutes of travel (meaning transfers are included), and are available at the hotel and at the Tabak shops. Tickets MUST BE validated (stamp your ticket in the little yellow boxes) before using, and inspectors do periodically check. Unlimited travel daily/weekly passes are also reasonably priced.

There are a couple of options for returning later using the buses (some of which run until midnight) and investing in a bus map (3 Euros) is cost-effective if one anticipates bus travel.

There is a workout room on the 7th floor, though we never used it since we walked a considerable amount each day in Rome. Internet access is VERY expensive. And the coffee from the machine in the breakfast room is disappointing. In a city which loves its coffee, one expects better. Other than a couple of breakfasts, we did not eat at the hotel.

Across the street from the Gemelli station is a Carrefour market (open until 8:00 PM, closed Sunday) where we purchased wine, cheese, and other snacks.

As seasoned European travelers, we were able to work around the challenges presented by the hotel's location, and since we were in Rome several days we had time to make sense of the transportation options. This hotel was a good choice, and a good value for us.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank LKAstier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

I've stayed at the Courtyard Rome Central Park for four nights in January 2001 with my wife as part of a vacation through Italy. I booked the hotel due to the rate. Hotel room was excellent. Bead was extremely comfortable. Rooms was very large. Very clean. Breakfast was very good. Hotel provides transportation to the Vatican City area. Hotel is modern and woth it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

We stayed here 3 nights and I must tell every tourist who is thinking about staying here (because it is a Marriot): RUN AWAY. DON'T STAY HERE.

1) The location couldn't be any worse. You might as well stay in Sicily. This hotel is EXTREMELY INCONVENIENT if you are a tourist looking to explore the great city of Rome. Unless you plan on getting back to the hotel before 10 p.m. every night, then the location is not that bad. (for more on details, see below). Otherwise ... NIGHTMARE.

2) The view was OUTSTANDING. We stayed in a beautiful large American style room with a million dollar view of St. Peter's in the Vatican but it cost us approx. $300/night. So if you plan on staying in the room alot, this hotel was wonderful. It's rare to find such large rooms in Italy. But after an hour, the view becomes less impressive

3) The WIFI is very expensive. It adds up over a few days.

4) The breakfast was unsatisfactory.
__________________________________

Let me share our horror stories regarding transportation to/from this hotel. We arrived in the late afternoon and decided to head into the city of Rome for a late dinner. Then we walked around and enjoyed Rome at night. Around midnight, we decided to head back to the hotel. We tried to enter the subway but it was CLOSED. We eventually learned that the subway closes at midnight. Being from New York with a 24/7 subway, this was a shock. We tried to find a cab to take us back. No such luck. We finally persuaded a regular citizen (not a taxi driver) to take us to our hotel at one o'clock in the morning (after begging a dozen people with cars). It cost 50 euros.

The next night, we made sure we entered the subway by 11 p.m. The subway took us to the last stop where we then had to transfer to another train to take us to our hotel. GUESS WHAT? THAT TRAIN STOPPED RUNNING AT 10 p.m. There were no people or cars in sight. And the streets were very dark and desolate. We had a map and after ONE HOUR of brisk walking, we were able to make our way back to the hotel via dark creepy hilly country roads adjacent to a park.

Finally on our last night, we left Rome at 8 p.m. and were able to catch the hotel shuttle back to the hotel. So what's my point???? Unless you leave Rome at 8 p.m. every night, DON'T STAY HERE. For the same amount of money, you can book a 4 star hotel in the HEART OF ROME. Otherwise it was a nice hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JACKPO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2011

We stayed here with the goal of sightseeing Rome and it worked out wonderfully. We took the train out to the hotel from the train terminal. It was about 45 minutes but I was a little nervous towards the end. We found out its very safe but if you traveling with your grandparents or your schedule allows, plan to take the hotel shuttle that picks up right outside the Vatican. We didn't know about this until after we got to the hotel. The hotel shuttle drives into Rome and drops off/picks up passengers right outside of the Vatican. Its 2 euros per person each way and we used it every day (they have a schedule at the front desk); the charge can be billed to your room. The shuttle leaves exactly (if not 1 or 2 minutes early) at the scheduled time from the city so make sure you get gelato at Old Bridge across the street and eat it while you are waiting!

Our room was nice and big, and the bathroom was impressive for a Courtyard. There was a mini-fridge that we used every day. The housekeeping staff is the best I have ever seen- they organized all of my makeup and things on the counter in a way that made me feel like I was at a department store.

The restaurant downstairs is AMAZING. We ordered dinner twice (w bottles of wine) to take back to our room and we received excellent service. The food was fresh and flavorful. The staff was great.

A few complaints about this property- they didn't have our reservation. Even after I showed them our printed confirmation they had to create an entirely new reservation and told me not to worry, "we have rooms." You better have rooms! I just flew 3500 miles! A businesswoman the next day had the same problem. Apparently they have problems all the time with the US system inputing data into the Italian system. I HIGHLY recommend calling/faxing/emailing the hotel after you make your reservation.

There was not a pool.
Their snacks/drinks/beverages in the Marketplace are expensive and they have a poor selection. Perhaps they were just out of basics at the time.
The air conditioner in our room did not work. We could not control the thermostat and were too warm every night. We could have left our balcony door open for breeze but I am a whip and didn't want to.

Overall, we enjoyed staying here and will stay here again the next time that we come (after double-checking to make sure they have our reservation!).

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsHermesMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2010

While they would like to make you think that this hotel's location is near things because you can see St. Peter's, the reality is that you can see St. Peter's from most of Rome. The location sits outside the central part of Rome so getting to everything requires taking a shuttle bus (only convenient for the Vatican), a train/subway/bus combo for the ancient central district of Rome, or long cab rides (that can be expensive when returning if you happen to be east of the river - 40 euros or over $50).

The restaurant tries to be something it is not and is very expensive for the quality of the food. We ate there once and that was once too often (only choice for us Christmas dinner). Front desk service was not all well trained and made numerous errors with us including a missed wake up call that almost resulted in our missing a scheduled tour to Pompeii. At no time did anyone offer to help with bags (I believe they do not have any bell men).

Internet service is available but expensive - 19 euros per day for a laptop or 10 euros a day for a smartphone. Completely ridiculous given that we also stayed in Florence at the Luchessi which offered free service for as many user accounts as you wanted.

If you do stay there, make sure you are on a higher floor or on the back side not facing St. Peter's so that the parade of delivery trucks and garbage trucks starting at 6 am don't wake you up (although this is what saved us from missing our tour).

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drgchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC,
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2010

We had stayed at this hotel in the past, when it was under Swiss management, and we stayed again for 3 nights November 19th to 22nd, 2010, and were not disappointed with the new management. It is clean, modern, with friendly staff and great breakfasts (try to get them included in your room price). It sits on a hill looking over Rome to the dome of St. Peter's, so ask for a front room. It is quiet because it is not downtown, but there is a hotel shuttle every 60 minutes for 2 euros ($3 USD) which leaves you at the Vatican. If you are coming from Fumicino Airport a cab will cost you about $200 USD, so save a lot of money by taking the local train at the airport (not the Leonardo Express, the platform beside it) to Gemelli station which is right behind the hotel (go outside the Gemelli station entrance, turn right and right again and you are at the hotel). You may change trains at Valle Aurelia station, but you save over $180 on a taxi and the trains can accommodate luggage. But be very aware of pickpockets trying to pick their way through your luggage (and pockets/bags) because the locals, seeing you being victimised, will do nothing to alert you.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CapesVancouverBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Rome Marriott Park Hotel
#377 of 1,257 in Rome
1,918 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora
Hotel Sisto V
#558 of 1,257 in Rome
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Le Meridien Visconti Rome
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Rome Central Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Rome Central Park

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Rome Central Park
Address: Via Giuseppe Moscati 7, 00168 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#145 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Rome Central Park 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Rome Central Park Hotel is conveniently located near the Vatican City and S. Peter's Abbey and offers everything you would expect from a 4 star conference & leisure hotel whether you are in Rome for business or fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Rome Central Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Rome Central Park Hotel Rome
Central Park Roma Rome
Central Park Roma Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing