We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rome hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Roma Villa Carpegna
Ranked #304 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
GreenLeadersGold level
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
214 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Rome hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

This was a pretty good hotel, large rooms and good clean bathrooms. It is a bit outside the city center of Rome...about 15 to 20 minutes. There is not much to do around the hotel though as far as restaurants and shops. We stayed here with a large tour so we did not venture about the hotel much.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jolene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    500
    254
    89
    44
See reviews for
246
384
34
312
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights during our recent road trip to Rome. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Buffet breakfast was lovely including fresh fruit etc. The hotel was kept spotlessly clean. The swimming pool was a blessing after a long day in the city sight seeing, only complaint would be that there were not enough sun beds or towels when it was busy; lying on concrete patio not comfortable the pool attendant was not very helpful more interested in smoking and mobile.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mason-Cruickshank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Firstly, despite the numerous reviews stating that this hotel is dated etc., it is not! The hotel decor is perfectly fine, the rooms and lobby are clean and comfortable with fully functional air conditioning, the tv stations are good, the pool is clean and well staffed, and it has excellent wifi throughout.

The downside to this hotel is obvious - it's location. It's at least a 20 minute walk from the Vatican, which is itself around 20 minutes from the main city centre. If you know this before you book in then you wont be surprised by anything. It's a budget stay that allows you a full breakfast, a lovely pool, and gives you a base from which you can wander into Rome as and when you choose.

The main issue we experienced during our stay were the staff. On arrival we were asked by a shocked a receptionist what had happened to us. We had travelled from Pisa by train, then a metro and finally a bus to reach to hotel. But we didn't think that we looked that rough! When checking out, we realised that the receptionist had booked our taxi to the airport for 4.30pm instead of 4.30am. A panic ensued, meaning that we had to pay over €60 for a taxi to Ciampino airport instead of the €49 price quoted by the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dannymagra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
104 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Before choosing this hotel, you need to weigh up a few pros and cons. It is a few kilometers away from the city centre and Vatican. If you are planning a short trip to Rome with an intensive sightseeing programme, this would probably not be the ideal choice. However, if you wish to spend four days or more with a mix of relaxation and sightseeing (and in summer, some time relaxing by a lovely swimming pool), this is a great choice.

Getting there can be a challenge! The hotel's website directions are hopelessly inadequate. See below for directions! If you rely on the hotel directions you will get lost.

I was perturbed by some of the earlier reviews. Yes, the hotel is past due for refurbishment, but the rooms are clean, with comfortable beds, perfectly adequate bathrooms. The carpets are in need of replacement. However, there was nothing wrong with our standard room.

Breakfast was excellent, with interesting and innovative healthy choices. The pool was great and there is a small but well equipped gym.

Getting there: from Fiumicino airport take one of the buses (about €5 one way; much cheaper than the train) to Termini Station. A number of companies operate from the bus station at Terminal 3. From Termini, take the Metro Line A to Cipro station. Exit the station at Via Cipro, cross the road and the bus stop will be on your right. Take either the number 31 or 33 bus. Tell the driver you wish to get off at Leone XIII (Pio XI) stop. At the stop continue up the hill for about 30 meters, turn right into a small street and you will be at the hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

The check in to too long time. 20 min when it was our turn.
The pool security guy - was asleep even when it was children in the pool. (we even took a photo of him sleeping)
In the evening we were going to take a glass of wine in the bar, we sat down for 10 min, no one working there.
After mentioned it to the reception, who said that they will call for the person, we waited for another 5 min, still no one was willing to serve us.
In the morning breakfast the clean glasses was not clean, many of them was not washed at all, and they came from the kitchen directly.
The bread was so hard, you could kill some one with it:-)

The staff working in the reception was not in the best serving mode., more arrogant than positive.

Really disappointed !!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

I cannot believe that anyone would ever say that this place deserves more than a "0" stars as a rating. My wife and I walked in and our first affront was the outdated furnishings and the pissy smell. The only virtue was that the staff was very nice. We then enter the room and were greeted by a soiled carpet, water stained walls, smoky mildew smelling outdated room. We then sat on the bed and it slid toward the door. We told the staff that we were leaving, they offered us an upgrade. We were so horrified that we turned down the offer and paid 300 bucks at a hotel across town, and could not have been happier to get out of this nightmare at any price. STAY AWAY!

Room Tip: There isn't one good room in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

The head receptionist was arrogant, the pool was under maintenance (month of July!!!), the carpet in the room was filthy, the non smoking room reeked of nicotine, overall a "poor" experience! To move around Rome was not easy at all. Public transportation in this city is awful and the hotel is very far from the city center!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blackstar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
A.Roma Lifestyle Hotel
#41 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,871 reviews
Cardinal Hotel St. Peter
#627 of 1,290 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Tiberio
#272 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Prati
NH Roma Leonardo da Vinci
Prati
NH Collection Roma Giustiniano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Roma Villa Carpegna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Roma Villa Carpegna

Property: NH Roma Villa Carpegna
Address: Via Pio IV, 6 | Gregorio Vii, Villa Doria Pamphilj, Aurelia Antica, 00165 Rome, Italy (Formerly NH Villa Carpegna)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Rome
#163 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#229 Business Hotel in Rome
#272 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#297 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Roma Villa Carpegna 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Roma Villa Carpegna is set in a quiet area, just a few kilometers away from Rome's historical center and within easy reach of the Vatican and St. Peter's Square. NH Roma Villa Carpegna offers an attractive alternative for your stay in Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Roma Villa Carpegna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Villa Carpegna Hotel Rome
Jolly Hotel Rome
Jolly Hotel Carpegna
Jolly Carpegna Villa
Jolly Hotel Villa Carpegna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing