We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Bad value for money at NH Villa Carpegna” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Roma Villa Carpegna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
NH Roma Villa Carpegna
Ranked #315 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
GreenLeadersGold level
Innsbruck, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad value for money at NH Villa Carpegna”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wife and I were there October 19-24, 2012. Our experience was bad. Neither hard nor soft ware comes close to what is expected from a four star hotel. It certainly damages the reputation of nh hotels in general and does not match my prior experience with this company.

It seems the future of the place is not clear and therefore overdue refurbishment is not done.
This goes hand in hand with a very bad spirit of the team. The stuff is not service minded at all. I wittnessed quarrel in front of guests. It appears they always try to keep their workload low/ avoide extra effort.

We were checking 3 rooms before we agreed to stay. The first was said to be a non-smoking room, but it was smelling like a smoker room. The second was extremely small and dark. The third was large and not smelling so we took it. But all of them were run down.

In general, all areas are run down: e.g. the corridors, the elevators, the furniture, the bedframes, wallpapers come off, the bathrooms, curtains ....

You do not find a clean corner, carpet, wall or window at this place.

The bar is closed. They claim a technical problem. I had the impression there is no intend to open it; i.e. it never opens.

At the first morning we were having our breakfast at 9:40 - it closes at 10:00. There was no bread - I went into the kitchen to ask for it - I didn't find anybody, but what I saw in terms of dirt was disgusting. My wife asked a waiter for bread - only then they filled it up again.

Beakfast was the worst quality I ever got in Italy. The coffee was from a Nescafe instant machine - awful. Bread, cake, danish pastry, fruit were always the same - no change in 5 days! Cheese and sausage were of poor quality. Fruit juice was instant sirup as well.

To say something good - the hotel is perfect to park your car, it is quired and the mattresses were okay. I found the public transport options and connections good as well. However, the area where the hotel is located is not very appealing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harald J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    465
    240
    84
    42
See reviews for
232
364
34
277
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Hotel was very good, room was modern, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was fantastic and the staff were very helpful. Location is fine, shops and restaurants just around the corner, Vatican is about 20 minutes on foot. Bus stop is really close and will get you to all of the main sights. Bus fare is cheap and tickets are easy to buy. Hotel was excellent value!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Msk79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

I just recently got back from a trip to Italy and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The Hotel at first looked great when I arrived but when I got to the room it wasn't so great. The rooms where very out dated and the carpet was gross it looked like it wasn't cleaned in years. The bathroom was very clean however which was surprising. The service at the front desk was excellent which somewhat made up for the room. I had a problem with the WIFI but the front desk agents helped me quickly and got it working. The restaurant and bar where also nice and clean and the food was good as well. The hotel was in a great location! It was minutes from The Vatican and also had some nice little home style snack bars around that had amazing food. If you are spending a few nights in Roma and would like to be close to The Vatican you should give this hotel a shoot.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldTraveler2192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel for 4 days in July 2012. The weather was hot and we really enjoyed the wonderful pool in the afternoons. The combination of sightseeing and sunbathing and relaxing by the pool was great. Location wasn´t really a problem although the busses are irregular. You can jump on almost any bus from the busstop at the square, they all take you to the river, and you can walk from there. We went by taxi from the airport, it was 80 euro, it is a fixed price. It was the same price when going back to the airport, the hotel arranged that, it worked out fine, the driver was pleasant and polite and did us the favour of posting some postcards for us. The staff at the hotel were also nice and helpful, and the hotel had a nice relaxed atmosphere. The breakfast was very good with lots of choice. We used the free half-hour wifi in the reception every day, it was OK. We went to the wiewpoint 5 minutes from the hotel, the wiew is great, the staff can tell you where it is. We also went to the park of Villa Pamphili 10-15 minutes walk from the hotel. It as exceptionally beautiful with wild turtles, lots of birds and exotic trees. It would also be great for jogging. Only problem was some noise at night, probably from some generators for the air-condition, it sounded like a washing mashine. We stayed at the 3rd floor, I don´t think it is as noisy at the lower floors. And the rooms looked a little worn. If I go to Rome in another time of year I will probably choose a place closer to the center, preferably close to Lg. Torre Argentina, you can walk everywhere from that square. But in summertime, I will choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enjoyyourholiday_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West Victoria
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel as part of a two night stay with Globus tours the motel was clean, great breakfasts, offered us free wifi which was excellent though slow. You could pay for wifi for high speed but I though this wash bit steep for 24 hrs. I did ask for my room not to be cleaned and I displayed the relevant sight on the door but the cleaner still entered m room to clean.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Neclyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We went to this hotel for 3 nights at the end of August. Overall, the hotel is nice but needs to be re-furnished. The bed was really nice though: a huge king size bed :) The swimming pool is a bit small but ok. The breakfast is fine with many choices.

You can find buses quite easily (when you leave the hotel, turn left and then right, and you will find the busy road). However, do not be too impatient! Buses are quite irregular in Rome, but it's not due to the hotel... It might be easier to take a taxi rather than public transport to go to or from the airport. The price is £50.

To sum up, the hotel is fine; we enjoyed our stay but we expected something else for a 4 stars hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paill-Paill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

As we already came from Venice & Verona and having splurge to both places, we decided to take this hotel because we had few experiences in NH and it was actually good. The price is reasonable. When we book this hotel, we knew that it is not centrally located and with the public transport, it's actually fine.

When we arrived, we took public transport to reach the hotel. It was really a bad idea with the luggages, etc. We were so tired and we find it difficult to find even if we asked the locals (it's also partly our fault as we had no map of the hotel's location). We had to make a long walk in a wrong direction. But when you find it, it's not far from the bus station. It was ok during check-in. We ate sandwiches for snack and it was good. Being very picky about hotel's food, we are always afraid to try the dishes and opt to eat out. But we were very tired and decided not to go out in the evening of our arrival day and had our dinner at the hotel's restaurant. I can't fault the food. It was really good. The breakfast selection is great too. The hotel room is clean and average.

We booked a taxi from the hotel to the airport (1 day in advance from the reception) during our check-out. We were there and the check-out was quite busy. The taxi was late and we had to come back twice to the reception to ask them to call the taxi. The taxi was a no-show and we had to be hard on them to be able to get a taxi as it was raining and we booked one day in advance. In the end, they manage to give us a taxi and our money back and had to run the meter. We had a fixed price before the incident. The location turned out fantastic that day because it was starting to flood in the center during that time due to rain and the traffic was bad. We reached the airport on time. The staff is ok but you have to push them a little bit to get what you want. They supposed to double check the taxi for us and they failed to do so but I am happy that they found a solution otherwise we would have miss our flight.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
H10 Roma Citta
#143 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Prati
NH Roma Leonardo da Vinci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cardinal Hotel St. Peter
#661 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
A.Roma Lifestyle Hotel
#36 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,097 reviews
Trevi
Comfort Hotel Bolivar
Comfort Hotel Bolivar
#175 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Roma Villa Carpegna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Roma Villa Carpegna

Property: NH Roma Villa Carpegna
Address: Via Pio IV, 6 | Gregorio Vii, Villa Doria Pamphilj, Aurelia Antica, 00165 Rome, Italy (Formerly NH Villa Carpegna)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Rome
#166 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#229 Business Hotel in Rome
#273 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#299 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Roma Villa Carpegna 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Roma Villa Carpegna is set in a quiet area, just a few kilometers away from Rome's historical center and within easy reach of the Vatican and St. Peter's Square. NH Roma Villa Carpegna offers an attractive alternative for your stay in Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, NHHotels and Odigeo so you can book your NH Roma Villa Carpegna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Villa Carpegna Hotel Rome
Jolly Hotel Rome
Jolly Hotel Carpegna
Jolly Carpegna Villa
Jolly Hotel Villa Carpegna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing