We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“two night stay as part of a Globus tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Roma Villa Carpegna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
NH Roma Villa Carpegna
Ranked #314 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
GreenLeadersGold level
South West Victoria
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“two night stay as part of a Globus tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel as part of a two night stay with Globus tours the motel was clean, great breakfasts, offered us free wifi which was excellent though slow. You could pay for wifi for high speed but I though this wash bit steep for 24 hrs. I did ask for my room not to be cleaned and I displayed the relevant sight on the door but the cleaner still entered m room to clean.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Neclyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    465
    240
    84
    42
See reviews for
232
364
34
277
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We went to this hotel for 3 nights at the end of August. Overall, the hotel is nice but needs to be re-furnished. The bed was really nice though: a huge king size bed :) The swimming pool is a bit small but ok. The breakfast is fine with many choices.

You can find buses quite easily (when you leave the hotel, turn left and then right, and you will find the busy road). However, do not be too impatient! Buses are quite irregular in Rome, but it's not due to the hotel... It might be easier to take a taxi rather than public transport to go to or from the airport. The price is £50.

To sum up, the hotel is fine; we enjoyed our stay but we expected something else for a 4 stars hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paill-Paill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

As we already came from Venice & Verona and having splurge to both places, we decided to take this hotel because we had few experiences in NH and it was actually good. The price is reasonable. When we book this hotel, we knew that it is not centrally located and with the public transport, it's actually fine.

When we arrived, we took public transport to reach the hotel. It was really a bad idea with the luggages, etc. We were so tired and we find it difficult to find even if we asked the locals (it's also partly our fault as we had no map of the hotel's location). We had to make a long walk in a wrong direction. But when you find it, it's not far from the bus station. It was ok during check-in. We ate sandwiches for snack and it was good. Being very picky about hotel's food, we are always afraid to try the dishes and opt to eat out. But we were very tired and decided not to go out in the evening of our arrival day and had our dinner at the hotel's restaurant. I can't fault the food. It was really good. The breakfast selection is great too. The hotel room is clean and average.

We booked a taxi from the hotel to the airport (1 day in advance from the reception) during our check-out. We were there and the check-out was quite busy. The taxi was late and we had to come back twice to the reception to ask them to call the taxi. The taxi was a no-show and we had to be hard on them to be able to get a taxi as it was raining and we booked one day in advance. In the end, they manage to give us a taxi and our money back and had to run the meter. We had a fixed price before the incident. The location turned out fantastic that day because it was starting to flood in the center during that time due to rain and the traffic was bad. We reached the airport on time. The staff is ok but you have to push them a little bit to get what you want. They supposed to double check the taxi for us and they failed to do so but I am happy that they found a solution otherwise we would have miss our flight.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

I stayed at this hotel as part of the post package offered by Royal Caribbean estimating that it would be OK since it was recommended by them and it was close to the Vatican...(about a 15 minute walk) and it had a pool. Overall it was an average hotel but we had a great time although I suspect you could do better elsewhere. Based on our experiences we found the following:
On the positive side it had a beautiful pool and a fantastic breakfast that was included in the price.
On the negative side the place was somewhat unkept,the physical condition of the building was wanting to say the least. The restaurant menu in the afternoon and evening was lacking in choices so we went to a uninspiring restaurant known as the Villa Pamphilli down the street. Also, be careful of some of the tours they will try to sell you. Upon the concierge's suggestion we booked a private night tour and was promised an English speaking guide. That was not the case at all although we went along and had a fantastic time with Gregorio who did the best he could under the circumstances. I wish I spoke and understood Italian better but at 50 Euros an hour and a promise of an English speaking guide I shouldn't have had to. Overall, if you want an average room with a pool near to the Vatican its fine but otherwise you might want to shop around.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sigichloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stay away from this place if you want a clean, pretty, maintained property. WE chose this hotel because we were doing the 3 night pre-cruise package. Had read the reviews about the hotel and they seemed to be okay so was comfortable with our decision. We checked in and was given Room 1. The walls were all beat up and dirty. Went to the front desk and they upgraded us to a Superior Room. A room with a sofa, couple of chairs, and a terrace. (I am attaching the pic of the Superior Room). The furniture had the stuffing coming out of it. The drapes and the carpet were filthy. Like filthy that they haven't been cleaned in 20 years. The terrace door didn't even open. Would not have mattered because there was nothing out there anyway. Empty flower pots is all I could really see through the dirty windows. We went back to the front desk again and spoke with the manager. She took us to another room. A room that had been somewhat renovated (a new wood floor). Which seemed cleaner so we agreed to it. We were really stuck because we had pre-paid for the hotel and cruise port transfer from the hotel. Went to the restaurant later for a light bite to eat. Sat outside on the terrace. We waited 40 minutes for the waiter to take our beverage order. Ugh! The second day was very hot in Rome so we decided to spend an afternoon at the pool. As you can see from the pics, the shrubbery around the pool was ALL DEAD. Not very appealing.

Would also like to mention that every window in the hotel probably hasn't been cleaned in 5 years or more. Every window was filthy. Hallway carpeting I would guess hasn't been cleaned in 5-10 years as well.

The hotel is situated in the middle of a neighborhood. Not much to do in the area. You need either a bus or cab for everything!

Two positive things about the hotel is this. 1. The personnel at the front desk & the Manager were very pleasant and were really trying to get us into a room that would satisfy us. 2. The breakfast buffet was very good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbinWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

- average staff
- good room
- bad location
- average price

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

I chose this hotel for one single reason - the pool. Otherwise I wouldn't stay there.
Two young ladies at the reception upon my arrival were rather incompetent and perhaps shouldn't be working in the service sector, the rest of the staff (reception, pool, breakfast room) was nice and helpful.
The hotel is rather worn-out, the carpet and walls in the room (no 171) had lots of stains on them, the air-conditioner wasn't too efficient. The toilets in the public area were appalling - dirty, with water and papers everywhere, smth you are used to see in discobars towards morning, not in a 4star hotel.
The breakfast was OK, wide variety of salty things, pastries and fruit. However, the coffee by default is from machines (4star hotel?). I asked for fresh cappuccino and had a feeling that I got it only because I asked for it in Italian.
After 11 p.m. the only reasonable way to come back to hotel is taxi, some 13 euro from downtown.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mellene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
H10 Roma Citta
#144 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Prati
NH Roma Leonardo da Vinci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cardinal Hotel St. Peter
#658 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
A.Roma Lifestyle Hotel
#36 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,102 reviews
Trevi
Comfort Hotel Bolivar
Comfort Hotel Bolivar
#177 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Roma Villa Carpegna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Roma Villa Carpegna

Property: NH Roma Villa Carpegna
Address: Via Pio IV, 6 | Gregorio Vii, Villa Doria Pamphilj, Aurelia Antica, 00165 Rome, Italy (Formerly NH Villa Carpegna)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Rome
#166 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#229 Business Hotel in Rome
#273 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#299 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Roma Villa Carpegna 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Roma Villa Carpegna is set in a quiet area, just a few kilometers away from Rome's historical center and within easy reach of the Vatican and St. Peter's Square. NH Roma Villa Carpegna offers an attractive alternative for your stay in Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, NHHotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your NH Roma Villa Carpegna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Villa Carpegna Hotel Rome
Jolly Hotel Rome
Jolly Hotel Carpegna
Jolly Carpegna Villa
Jolly Hotel Villa Carpegna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing