We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Dei Consoli
Nearby Hotels
$294
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$356
$278
Capo d'Africa
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma(Rome)(Great Value!)
$192
$187
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$178
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$314
$288
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Yes Hotel(Rome)(Great Value!)
$252
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
$1,100
$1,066
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Morgana(Rome)(Great Value!)
$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$1,029
$491
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$1,402
$769
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (824)
Filter reviews
824 results
Traveler rating
350
282
119
45
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
350
282
119
45
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroof terracevia cola di rienzovatican citywithin walking distancelovely little hotelminute walkpastriesan excellent hotelhotel is situatedaround the cornerbreakfast is servedvisit to romecity breakmetro stationbreakfast roomwalked everywheretrevi fountain
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
165 - 170 of 824 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed at this hotel 4 yrs ago in August upon the recommendation of friends and returned this Christmas 2013. Wonderful staff and hotel. Small enough to feel welcome and get to know staff but large enough to accommodate our needs, i.e. free wifi throughout, thorough maid services. The rooftop breakfast is our favorite part; wide offering for hungry tourists, especially our three teens. If you desire to see the Vatican at different times of the day, this is the hotel to stay at. It is a 10 minute walk. We were up early in the morning and almost had St. Peter's Square to ourselves, no lines at 7-8am. We went to Rome without having tickets to Christmas Eve Mass in St. Peters. We happened to mention we were looking for tickets and they were able to secure some for us! It was the experience of a lifetime. It is also on Via Cola di Rienzo which has some very good shopping, restaurants, bars, bakeries. Thank you Laura and all the staff for a memorable stay in Roma!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-dei-Consoli, Manager at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Linn,
it is always a great pleasure to have clients returning to Hotel dei Consoli..
That is the best prove that we did our job in a professional manner and that we contributed to a memorable vacation.
I am very grateful for your review and for your recommendation of Hotel dei Consoli trought a very nice description of all positive points of your stay with us.
Please let me say that it was our pleasure to work on in order to find the tickets for your family for Pope celebration.
We really hope to see you again in the near future..
With kindest regards,
Luigi Pirrò

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed here early December 2013.Rome in December was great, no queues. Recommend official guides based at attractions, reasonably priced and informative.
Lovely clean hotel, close to Vatican and within walking distance of other attractions. Great attention to detail, my boyfriend liased with the hotel team prior to our arrival and planned his proposal to me in the rooftop restaurant, champagne and roses.
We were upgraded and well looked after by the all the staff.Taxi arranged by hotel back to airport , efficient and reasonable.
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philandwendy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-dei-Consoli, Manager at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Phil and Wendy,
thank you so much for your kind review and for sharing on Trip Advisor your experience at Hotel dei Consoli concerning your wedding proposal on our rooftop terrace. We are absolutely proud for having taken part to such a special moment of your lives. Congratulations once again and we wish you again the best in life. It was our pleasure to help and assist you during your stay.
I /we do really hope to have you again with us at the Hotel dei Consoli in the future.
Kind regards,
Luigi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We stayed in this hotel earlier this year, in June 2013. Everything about the hotel was excellent, from the wonderful welcome from Sam in reception, (complete with a couple of words in Irish for us), to the old world authentic feel to the rooms, (complete with old furniture, yet the place was not dowdy or tired at all), and on to the beautiful roof top terrace where we sat in the morning sun beside orange and other fruit trees to eat our breakfast, with really friendly staff in attendance

The location is very good and near to the Vatican, and yet only a short walk to all the other main tourist sites. We will definitely be back. Thanks to all the staff

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dubtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-dei-Consoli, Manager at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Client,
thank you so much for summarizing your experience at Hotel dei Consoli as a "fantastic place to stay". I am happy and proud you had a great stay with us and I do look forward to have you with us again in the future.
With the kindest regards,
Luigi Pirrò

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

this hotel is located near vaticano,you can walk about 10 minutes till vaticano .is a small hotel which has also rooms in another building nearby named dependance dei consoli,small nice ,simple decorated rooms,with all the basics,breakfast at the terace with view to vaticano
nice small but i think it is expensive for the quality that provides,due it is near vaticano and the center of rome,five minutes walk from metro station musei vaticani,ottaviano
you can choose the other building, dependance dei consoli, when there is an offer to catch a better price ,but you have to take the key from the reception of the main hotel because the dependance do not have a reception,be carrefull

Room Tip: choose room at dependance when there is an offer ,it worths believe me
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charalampos s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-dei-Consoli, Manager at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Client,
I am sorry you are not fully satisfies of your stay at Dependance Hotel dei Consoli.

I profit of your review to put in evidence once again that "Dependance Hotel dei Consoli" is a separated location that, as clearly mentioned in our website, it was born to offer an option to clients wishing to stay in the same area where the Hotel dei Consoli is, but at the same time wishing to have a more economic solution while accepting to have different services. Standards for Dependance are different/lower than standards of Hotel dei Consoli.

First of all, we named this option "Dependance" that is an internationally recognized expression to identify a "separate location" from a main building.

To be very fair, in order to support and strength the totally different value proposition, we clearly communicate a few key messages and in particular:

1. "The Dependance consists of apartments located in Via Germanico 66; this means that Dependance is not part of the Hotel dei Consoli main building. However, it is at a short walking distance from the Hotel dei Consoli".

2. "Breakfast is not included in the standard sales conditions for overnight stays at the Dependance, but it can be arranged on request at the time of booking or arrival at the Hotel dei Consoli Terrace, through payment of an additional charge".

3. We put in evidence that "Dependance does not have dedicated reception and it does not have dedicated bar. For any request the client must refer to reception at Hotel dei Consoli - in via Varrone 2 - open 24H, or to Hotel dei Consoli bar (open from 6 pm to 11 pm)".

4. "Guests have to check-in at the Hotel dei Consoli, where they will be given directions for reaching the building".

I hope you understand my view and you understand how sorry I am that you were deluded for your stay! Looking forward you to reconsider having a stay at Hotel dei Consoli I wish you the best for your next trip to Italy.

Kind regards,
Luigi Pirrò

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

this hotel is very prestigious close to Vatican city amazing restaurant in the top very tasty restaurant just in front of the hotel affordable for what you pay clean ,you can walk and see city center the hotel staff arrange tour and shuttle pickup to airport

Room Tip: room on the street
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NAAMAH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-dei-Consoli, Manager at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Client,
thank you so much for your very short but clear and compelling review of Hotel dei Consoli as "Best Location"... I am really proud of it..
Looking forward to having you again with us,
kind regards,
Luigi Pirrò

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews