We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Very nice 4 days in Rome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dei Consoli

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Dei Consoli
Ranked #474 of 1,285 Hotels in Rome
Vestec, Stredocesky Kraj, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice 4 days in Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Amazing friendly hotel near Vatican and in walking distance to other nice parts of Rome. Near to metro station Ottaviano, near to train station St.Pietro. Small, but very nice room, excelent breakfast in terrace restaurant. Special thanks to Samuel on the reception, he was very helpful with planning trips, restaurant and shopping tips. In 30 or 40 minutes you can reach sea resorts Fregene or Cerveteri, which was in hot July very refreshing. We definitely come back to Dei Consoli!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ondrej78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraHotelConsoli, Owner at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Client,
I am truly thankful to you for having chosen the Hotel dei Consoli for your stay in Rome.
I am happy to read that all your expectations were met.
Thank you for posting how you appreciated the "amazing friendly hotel", the "very nice room", the "excellent breakfast in terrace restaurant", the "very helpful reception with planning trips, restaurant and shopping tips"
Thank you for recommending the Hotel dei Consoli to other travelers !!!
Looking forward to having you again here at the Hotel dei Consoli. Please, next time, contact us directly and it will be my pleasure to meet you and to offer you a welcome drink.
Kind regards,
Amalia Consoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    238
    96
    37
    16
See reviews for
100
340
33
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Hotel Consoli for a long weekend to celebrate my birthday. We chose this hotel mainly due to the location. When we arrived we were greeted by the very friendly, and helpful hotel staff, dumped our bags and headed straight out to see some sights. We were not disappointed by the location of this hotel; the vatican is literally a 5 minute walk. It is also in a good location for other attractions, most are within walking distance (if you are up for a longer walk), or there is a bus you can catch from around the corner that will take you to all of the main attractions.

I would recommend asking the staff for restaurant recommendations, they are very honest and give great advice. The hotel breakfast had everything we wanted and they also had a christmas market in the restaurant during our stay. The room was comfortable and had everything we needed. We organised a taxi to pick us up from the airport which made life much easier and was well worth the 55 euros we paid.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetpea1077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraHotelConsoli, Owner at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Client,
we do love having clients celebrating events at Hotel dei Consoli!!
Thank you to you and your Husband for having chosen our hotel and for putting in evidence "the very friendly and helpful hotel staff", the location ("the Vatican is literally a 5 minute walk. It is also in a good location for other main attractions, most are within walking distance"), "the very honest and great advices"., the breakfast and last but not least "the comfortable room"...
Looking forward to having you again here at the Hotel dei Consoli. Please, next time, contact us directly and it will be my pleasure to meet you and to offer you a welcome drink.
Kind regards,
Amalia Consoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This hotel is just a few minutes walk from the Vatican City.
The traffic is very convenient.

Also, the room is tiny and clean.
Breakfast is satisfactory.
Staff is friendly and helpful.

I love my staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarryCai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraHotelConsoli, Owner at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Client,
I am so proud you enjoyed your stay at Hotel dei Consoli. Thank you so much for your recommendation and for putting in great evidence our "fantastic location" to be straight close to the Vatican and in a very central location for everywhere in Rome.
Hope to have you again at Hotel dei Consoli. Please, next time, contact us directly and it will be my pleasure to meet you and to offer you and your Family/Friends a welcome drink.
Kind regards,
Amalia Consoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

What more could you ask. In the centre of Rome close to the metro and many sites of interest. The staff were fantastic and very knowledgable. It was my husbands birthday and a bottle of Prosecco was waiting in our room when we arrived. holiday!A very good start to our

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraHotelConsoli, Owner at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Susan,
thank you so much for your genuine review and recommendation of Hotel dei Consoli.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. Thank you particularly for recognising that the "staff were fantastic and very knowledgable".
It is our focus and pleasure to support people celebration as birthdays, anniversaries and honeymoons..
We look forward to having you again here with us.
Warm regards,
Amalia Consoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Great location for exploring Rome, starting with the Vatican. Lovely well appointed room, staff friendly & helpful. Breakfast in the roof terrace restaurant was excellent, particularly the 3 hour window to partake - no need to get up in a hurry unless you want to!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraHotelConsoli, Owner at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Natalie,
thank you so much for your review and recommendation of Hotel dei Consoli.
Thank you for putting in evidence the "great location for exploring Rome, starting with the Vatican", the "lovely well appointed room", the "staff friendly & helpful", the "excellent breakfast in the roof terrace"..
We look forward to having you again here at the Hotel dei Consoli !!
Kind regards,
Amalia Consoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed here last week for her 40th birthday and was very happy with the hotel, room was nice and clean, all of the staff were very helpfull, especially Sam on the front desk. Laura also helped me with a few plans to surprise my wife.
Only a short walk to the Metro but as we like walking everywhere Sam pointed us in the right direction and gave us tips on places to go during our first trip to Rome. Lovely rooftop restaurant where we had breakfast every morning with a varied choice.
A big thank you to all the staff there... We will be back.
Kevin D

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpudDuncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraHotelConsoli, Owner at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Client,
it was our pleasure having you and your wife here at Hotel dei Consoli while you were celebrating her 40th birthday!!
We are proud you had a very happy stay and that you enjoyed room ("nice and clean"), the staff ("all of the staff were very helpfull"), the location ("only a short walk to the Metro but as we like walking everywhere") and finally the "lovely rooftop restaurant where we had breakfast every morning with a varied choice".
We look forward to having you again here at the Hotel dei Consoli.
Kind regars,
Amalia Consoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We spent Eastern 2012 this small nice hotel. Nice little stores are nearby and a few lovely restaurants. We ate Good breakfast every morning in lovely roof terrace of hotel. Metro is in short distance by walk.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jussi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraHotelConsoli, Owner at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Client,
thank you so much for your very genuine review, while putting in evidence the location, the good breakfast and lovely roof top...
We really hope to have you again at Hotel dei Consoli,
Kind regards,
Amalia Consoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Atlante Garden Hotel
Atlante Garden Hotel
#415 of 1,285 in Rome
3.5 of 5 stars 913 reviews
Prati
Orange Hotel
Orange Hotel
#600 of 1,285 in Rome
3.5 of 5 stars 422 reviews
Prati
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
#140 of 1,285 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Hotel Giulio Cesare
Hotel Giulio Cesare
#174 of 1,285 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 839 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi
#286 of 1,285 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 349 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel Atlante Star
Hotel Atlante Star
#436 of 1,285 in Rome
3.5 of 5 stars 1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dei Consoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dei Consoli

Property: Hotel Dei Consoli
Address: Via Varrone 2D | Angolo Via Cola di Rienzo, 00193 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#234 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#306 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dei Consoli 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk from the Vatican and the Sistine Chapel, Hotel dei Consoli opened in 2000 is a luxury hotel in rome, and offers guests excellent hospitality in an atmosphere of elegance and imperial splendor.Hotel dei Consoli is located in via Varrone, near the Vatican with its majestic piazza and church, in a sumptuous building fully refurbished in the Empire style. The interior stucco work is by the Neopolitan master craftsmen who were responsible for the decoration of the famous Reggia di Caserta near Naples. The Hotel occupies three storeys, respectively designated the storeys of the Mappamondi (maps of the world), Fiori (flowers) and Battaglie (battles). On the roof garden and terrace you can enjoy breakfast while admiring the famous dome of St Peter's. The peaceful atmosphere is especially welcomed by single guests looking for rest and comfort in total seclusion. Furnishings in warm colours and careful soundproofing make the hotel an oasis of refinement and peace right in the heart of the Eternal City. With its elegant atmosphere, fully-qualified staff and all the very latest technology, Hotel dei Consoli is sure to make your visit to Rome an unforgettable experience."Since 2006 the Hotel dei Consoli has the best customer reviews on Trip Advisor: friendliest and best staff, great location, very clean, home away from home" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Fastbooking, Agoda, Priceline, Otel and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Dei Consoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Consoli Rome
Dei Consoli Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing