We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Dei Consoli
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Vatican(Rome)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    View Hotel
    Reviews (824)
    Filter reviews
    824 results
    Traveler rating
    350
    282
    119
    45
    28
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    350
    282
    119
    45
    28
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsroof terracevia cola di rienzovatican citywithin walking distancelovely little hotelminute walkpastriesan excellent hotelhotel is situatedaround the cornerbreakfast is servedvisit to romecity breakmetro stationbreakfast roomwalked everywheretrevi fountain
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    253 - 258 of 824 reviews
    Reviewed December 9, 2012

    Pros:
    - Location: Very close to the Vatican but also a good distance from all other areas so that walking or metro-ing is possible.
    - Clean rooms
    - Comfortable bed, great wardrobe space, good wardrobe space - the safe however is TINY. To visualise - you cannot fit an ipad in there.
    - Friendly and helpful staff
    - Excellent rooftop which has a marquee in the winter so you're not freezing up there
    - Free Wifi; see con below...temperamental
    - Great heating especially when it was so cold

    Cons:
    - Rooms are a little on the small side (but note: as above, they are comfortable)
    - Wifi cut out for the last two days of our stay which was incredibly annoying. It meant that we couldn't look up places to go / restaurants etc. in advance. To be fair, I didn't expect it to take that long.
    - The breakfast. This is my only real con of the trip - the breakfast is pretty basic. I'm not expecting Michelin star but the quality of the breakfast could be drastically improved. The juices, the quality of the bread rolls, the joghurts etc. didn't live up to the overall standard of the place.

    They also give out a great detailed travel map of the city and the reception man who was there when we arrived was very accomodating in letting us choose a room that we were happy with. Super service and would be more than happy to stay again.

    • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank hula-girl12
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    LauraHotelConsoli, Owner at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

    Dear Client,
    thank you for your review of Hotel dei Consoli. It is an advantage and an opportunity to us to have such an experienced reviewers like you are.
    Thank you for recommending the Hotel dei Consoli while putting in evidence the great location, the clean rooms, the comfortable bed, the great and good wardrobe space, the safe, friendly and helpful staff, the excellent rooftop, the free wifi and finally the great heating…
    Please apologise for wifi cut out during your stay. Unfortunately, our maintenance supplier did not have the requested component to promptly repear our system and (you are right) it took in effect a too long time to be fixed.
    While I have to say that our rooms are the typical European standard for boutique hotels positioned in city center, it is very sad for me to read that you are not fully satisfied with breakfast, because this is usually an area where clients recognise great commitment and very good results...I have been acting after your review to understand what happened in the past.
    Looking forward to have you again as our welcome guest, please next time contact me directly and it will be my pleasure to share a welcome drink with you.
    With warm regards,
    Amalia Consoli

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed December 7, 2012

    My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Dei Consoli as part of our Honeymoon. We were only in Rome for a few days and wanted to be close to the Vatican and other tourist locations, while staying in a clean, reasonably priced hotel -- the Consoli accomplished all of those things. The rooms were clean and quiet and the roof top terrace was great -- a beautiful place for an evening glass of wine before dinner. We would stay there again.

    • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Kevin C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    LauraHotelConsoli, Owner at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

    Dear Kevin,
    having honeymooners at Hotel dei Consoli is always a great and special pleasure, since they bring happiness, smiles and a very positive atmophere.
    We are proud of having contributed to your honeymoon in Rome. Thank you so much for your recommendation of the Hotel dei Consoli.
    We look forward to having you here again. Congratulations and have a wonderfull life.
    Warm regards,
    Amalia Consoli

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed December 5, 2012

    Could not have been more pleased. A wonderful little hotel within easy walk of Vatican City. All the staff and owners were supurbly courteous, friendly and helpful making our three day visit a most comfortable and relaxing stay. Especially nice is the rooftop dining area. Very quiet, with plenty of plants and fruit trees; like being in an elevated garden. Great views of the city from there as well. The hotel itself is excellently appointed, with plenty of period art and very well appointed rooms. We were treated like family. And after checking out and on our way to the airport, Samuel, the desk manager on duty, called our driver (hotel limo transport to airport) to inform me that we had left a Kindle (mine) in our room and it would be secured and held until we could make arrangements to have it picked up and shipped to our home. Speaks volumes for the integrity of the staff. The hotel was exceptionally clean, quiet and comfortable. A wonderful stay.

    Mike and Mary

    • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Mike M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    LauraHotelConsoli, Owner at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

    Dear Mike,
    thank you for your genuine review of our Hotel dei Consoli. I am so proud you had a "wonderful stay" here. Thank you for recommending the hotel, particularly for staff integrity and our terrace that you depict as "an elevating garden"... that in fact was my vision of our terrace..
    I hope you will visit again. Please next time contact us directly and it will be my pleausre to meet you in person and offer you the best welcome.
    Warm regards,
    Amalia Consoli

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed December 5, 2012

    We have just returned from our ninth visit to the Consoli in the last decade, and every time has been lovely. The rooms are comfortable and immaculately clean, the breakfast (on the beautiful roof terrace) is excellent, and the staff is always helpful and friendly. It's in a great location -- transportation, food, shopping are all nearby. Now with free wi-fi in the rooms, so it's really the perfect hotel for us and we will return again.

    • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank thosetwo
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    LauraHotelConsoli, Owner at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

    Dear Client,
    we are so proud to read your review...thank you so much for your continuous choice of Hotel dei Consoli for nine times. I think you are one of our best testimonial of our company!!
    Thank you for putting in evidence that "the rooms are comfortable and immaculately clean", "the breakfast (on the beautiful roof terrace) excellent, and the staff is always helpful and friendly".
    I definetely look forward to having you again here at Hotel dei Consoli. Please next time contact us directly and it will be my pleausre to meet you in person and offer you the best welcome.
    Warm regards,
    Amalia Consoli

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed December 1, 2012

    We stayed for a few days in July 2012,its a very friendly hotel,very good location,next to the vatican. Close to shopping,and the subway.
    Breakfast on the roof . We would go back any day.
    Small but vary clean rooms.
    Pia and Leif

    • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Pia G
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    LauraHotelConsoli, Owner at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

    Dear Pia and Leif,
    what a pleasure to read your review and your appreciation of your stay at Hotel dei Consoli.
    Thank you so much for recommending it to other travelers.
    I definetely look forward to having you again here at Hotel dei Consoli. Please next time contact us directly and it will be my pleausre to offer the best available offer and to share a welcome drink.
    Kind regards,
    Amalia Consoli

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews