We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (848)
Filter reviews
848 results
Traveler rating
355
291
125
47
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
355
291
125
47
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroof terracevia cola di rienzovatican citywithin walking distancelovely little hotelpastriesan excellent hotelother attractionsaround the cornerbreakfast is servedpublic transportmetro stationtrip to romevarroneconciergesoundproofingeuro
Filter
Updating list...
269 - 274 of 848 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed for a few days in July 2012,its a very friendly hotel,very good location,next to the vatican. Close to shopping,and the subway.
Breakfast on the roof . We would go back any day.
Small but vary clean rooms.
Pia and Leif

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraHotelConsoli, Owner at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear Pia and Leif,
what a pleasure to read your review and your appreciation of your stay at Hotel dei Consoli.
Thank you so much for recommending it to other travelers.
I definetely look forward to having you again here at Hotel dei Consoli. Please next time contact us directly and it will be my pleausre to offer the best available offer and to share a welcome drink.
Kind regards,
Amalia Consoli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We spent 4 days at Rome Hotel dei Consoli. Great location, near Vatican city, close to the shopping area and metro station. Excellent and elegant service staff was helpfull and smiley. Small, but Roman polished room with marble bathroom was clean and quiet. The roof terrace with lemon trees was sunny and beautifull, where we enjoyed our breakfast every day. Although, a little bit slow Wi-Fi connection. We shall come again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vgojkovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraHotelConsoli, Owner at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Vladan and Irina,
thank you so much for having chosen Hotel dei Consoli for your vacation to Rome and for having recommended the hotel to other travellers.
We are proud that you enjoyed your 4 days stay and that you appreciated the "great location" (Vatican city, shopping area and metro station), the "excellent and elegant service staff was helpfull and smiley", the rooms "clean and quiet", "the roof terrace with lemon trees was sunny and beautifull" and that "we enjoyed our breakfast every day"...
We do look forward to having you again at the Hotel dei Consoli.
Please contact us for your reservation and it will be my pleasure to help with the planning of your trip.
Warm regards,
Amalia Consoli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel dei Consoli. The accomodations were great. We loved the roof top patio and ate breakfast there and enjoyed the view everyday of our stay. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. We felt very comfortable and welcome. The location was great, we could easily get to the subway and bus stations and we were so close to the Vatican and walking distance to all of our needs. We will definately stay here the next time we return to Rome.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goldiebearlaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraHotelConsoli, Owner at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Client,
we are so proud when we read our Clients declaring "we really enjoyed our stay at Hotel dei Consoli". That is the best compensation of our commitment and efforts to make our Clients stay the best possible.
Thank you for your recommendation of Hotel dei Consoli and particularly for putting in evidence that "we loved the roof top patio and the breakfast there and enjoyed the view everyday of our stay", that "the staff was extremely helpful and friendly" and that "we felt very comfortable and welcome".
We look forward to having you at Hotel dei Consoli the next time you return to Rome.
Please contact us directly and it will be our pleasure to offer the best rate.
Warm regards,
Amalia Consoli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

The hotel was very friendly, the staffs were more than helpful and made us very welcome, the room we had was more than we expected and spotlessly clean. Location wise we found we were in walking distance to the main attractions and if our feet felt weary the metro and busses were at close at hand. I would have no hesitation to recommend this hotel. Indeed we have and had to a colleague and they felt the same as us.

Room Tip: You have a choicre to stay at the main Hotel or Sister Hotel, we stayed at the sister hotel and were not disadvantaged in any way
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joyhorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraHotelConsoli, Owner at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Joy,
thank you so much for your genuine recommendation of Hotel dei Consoli.
We are very proud to read that we contributed to your positive vacation in Rome.
Looking forward to having you again onboard, please next time contact us directly and it will be my pleasure to meet you and to share a welcome drink.
Warm regards,
Amalia Consoli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

If you are looking for a four star hotel in Rome, Hotel "Dei Consoli" is defintely not the one to select. When you read the hotel information on the Dei Consoli website (and look at the great pictures) the hotel is portrayed as a premier, high quality family hotel with exceptional service. Well.... the truth is that the Dei Consoli overpromises on a grand scale, but underdeliver. The hotel is at best a three star property.
The great "service" is all about how the the poor receptionists try to solve problems and complaints as best as they can. Among the incidents we had to deal with during our one week stay at the Dei Consoli:
Had to change room once due to toilet malfunction. In our new room the TV had broken down. No new TV came in place for the duration of our stay! WiFi connection went dead almost daily. Lamp exploded in the bathroom with broken glass all over the place. No hot water in the mornings and so on. Every day a new problem....
Breakfast is portrayed as something out of the ordinary. As everything else with the Dei Consoli - it is not! The breakfast staff do their job, but has not learned to smile. In other words, the cozy, family atmosphere the hotel brags about never materialize.
Also good to know: The rooms are very small. One bed and only an office chair. The "lounge", or public area, offers only a small cramped space with a few chairs and a computer. No place to sit and relax and enjoy, and of course - no one sits there. Luckily there are lots of good restaurants and bars close by
The best we can say about the hotel is the location and the helpful receptionists. The hotel is situated just off the great shopping street of Via Cola di Rienzo and close to the Vatican. A less touristy, more genuine Italian part of Rome.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bathtub! Then you get an extra chair in the room.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BjOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraHotelConsoli, Owner at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Client,
with reference to your review we want to assure all travellers and customers that we put a lot of attention to all requests and we take care of experiences and comments before, during and after the stay at the Hotel dei Consoli.
I do always sincerely apologise when a client encounters some issues during the stay, and I do apologise sincerely with you.
In order other travelers to evaluate our hotel, I must say that, according to my verification , you have been offered a free upgrade in a deluxe room, being informed that the TV had a problem and having apparently assured that that was not a problem.
Additionally, to welcome you the best, you have been also offered a welcome drink, that you took advanteg of.
We are very proud of our customers who recognise and appreciate our family support and the cozy atmosphere. I am so sorry that the friendly support and warm welcome that is is usually recognised from hundreds customers did not work with you...
Concerning the lack "lounge" i must remember that we have a 100 squared meters Terrace available from noon to midnigh and also a living room...
Concerning Tv, wifi and lamp I must remind that, exactly during your stay, an energy blackout occurred in Rome and caused the break at Olimpic Stadium, stopping football game... Sorry for your inconvenience but the City was paralised. For wifi I understand that Mr Luigi offered our powerline wi-fi backup solution and also this makes me sincerely difficult to understand your frustation..
I am keeping your review in evidence in my folder for continous improvement stimulation. Also I hope that this review has delivered some genuine clarification.
Kind regards,
Amalia Consoli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews