We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“過剰な期待は禁物。次は無いな。”
Review of Hotel Dei Consoli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Dei Consoli
Ranked #494 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“過剰な期待は禁物。次は無いな。”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

ジャグジー付のデラックスルームを予約。
しかしホテルの部屋に着いた瞬間、落胆、相当落ち込みました。立地は観光地ど真ん中って好きじゃない、落ち着いてる地区がいいって人には良いかもしれませんが、観光の合間に長い休憩を挟みながらでないとダメ(=町中のバルで休憩を取るのは苦手)とか超高級ブランド買って荷物置きに帰れないとダメとかいう方には絶対お勧めしません。特にホテルに注文の多い同行者がいる場合は避けた方が無難です。同行者に詰られて泣きました。
部屋も日本の古いラブホテルのよう。冷蔵庫もドリンクが中途半端に置いてあって、前の人が使ったものなのか補充したものかわからないくらい。
セキュリティボックスには1年前のローマパスのレシートが入ったまま。
ご自慢のはずのジャグジーも止まらなくなって、その対応も最悪。
シーツにはガムと髪の毛が付いてるし、アメニティの補充なし。
朝食も4つ星なんて信じられません。イタリアならではの甘いパンが美味しくないです。
カプチーノは美味しかったけど。次は無いです。

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank きれこ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-dei-Consoli, Manager at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Google Translation
Chere Laurence,
Je vous suis sincèrement reconnaissante de la recommandation de l'Hôtel dei Consoli que vous avez effectué pour les voyageurs de Trip Advisor.
Je suis heureuse que vous ayez été satisfait de votre séjour et que vous ayez apprécié et mis en valeur le très bon accueil, le très bon petit déjeuner, la réception affichage, la localisation les chambres bien entretenues e agréable, et enfin la possibilité d'un bon prix avec une négociation directe..
J'espère que vous serez à nouveau notre hôte prochainement.
Cordialement,
Luigi Pirrò
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    261
    115
    42
    23
See reviews for
109
384
38
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for four nights as part of a tour group. The location of the hotel is excellent. It is situated in the Prati area of Rome which is a very safe, high end neighborhood. It is also a five minute walk to to St. Peters square, which makes for an easy walk for viewing St. Peter's lit up at night. The staff went out of their way to be helpful.The rooms and bathrooms, while well appointed, are very small and sometimes difficult for two people to get around in. Breakfast is served on a very nice covered rooftop terrace however the breakfast itself was just so-so.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PGELONG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraHotelConsoli, Owner at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Sir,
I am truly thankful to You and your Wife for recommending the Hotel dei Consoli and for having appreciated my Hotel, the “great location”, the “friendly staff”, the “clean rooms/bathrooms”, and our Terrazza.
I am sorry that you were not impressed with our breakfast, since it is a focus area for us and after of our commitment we usually get multiple positive reviews on it.
Thank you for informing and for your kind patience.
Concerning the rooms, the European standard id definetely different than US standard and that makes sometimes difficult for travelers to get fit.
Hope to have you and your Wife again at my Hotel.
Kind regards,
Luigi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I had a memorable wonderful stay with wonderful service from all of the
staff and the hotel met my needs when I most needed it while on business
during the month of April 2012. It was my home away from home. All of my
best to you and to your whole staff including Mr. Samuel, Mr. Fabrigio, Mr.
Fausto, Mr. Bruno and my best regards to Mr. Luigi Pirro.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texsidguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraHotelConsoli, Owner at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Sir/Mr. David,
it was a pleasure to meet you and have you in my Hotel.
Thank you very much for your review and I look forward to having you again with us soon.
My best wishes for your everything and best wishes also from the staff and from Luigi.
Kind regards,
Amalia Consoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The Hotel was clean and the staff helpful and friendly. The bathroom was well appointed and the bed very comfortable. Free wi-fi in the rooms was greatly appreciated. The only criticism is the lack of refreshment facilities - no tea or coffee in the room, and the restaurant/terrace was only open for breakfast, and then from 6pm to 11.30pm, so no afternoon tea or late night brandy (brandy wasn't on the very restricted drinks menu anyway). If you are looking for a reasonably priced base to explore Rome this hotel will serve you well, but if you want anything more than decent bed and breakfast facilities you will need to look elsewhere. Good location, close to the Vatican, metro transport, and only a short walk from the heart of Rome.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lippy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraHotelConsoli, Owner at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Lippy,

first of all thank you for having chosen the Hotel dei Consoli for your stay in Rome.
Also thank you for having put in evidence that the Hotel is "clean", "the staff helpful and friendly", "the bathroom well appointed and the bed very comfortable". Also, I am happy you found Free Wi-Fi in the rooms "greatly appreciated".

I am sorry you are critising the lack of refreshment facilities in the rooms and the lack of Brandy in the drinks menu. Those are in fact usual standards for big hotels and particularly for international hotel "chains". Italian small boutique hotels as Hotel dei Consoli usually do not have that facility (for you to know, boilers or iron machines are not allowed in the rooms for security reasons according strict Italian regulation). Looking forward to having you again in my Hotel, please next time ask us for what you do not see/find of your preference and we will commit to serve you promptly.

Kind regards,
Amalia Consoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Hotel dei Consoli for 2 nights in August. The location couldn't have been better. Close to transportation, the Vatican and many wonderful local restaurants. The room was small, but comfortable. Breakfast was served on the outdoor terrace and was good to start the day. In terms of hotel management friendliness, my opinion is split - day staff were excellent, while evening staff lacked personality and were somewhat terse. Certainly not enough to deter me from staying at this location again.
The property itself was well maintained and very pleasant. Overall a nice experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizzy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraHotelConsoli, Owner at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Lizzy,
I am truly thankful to you and to your husband for having chosen the Hotel dei Consoli for your vacation to Rome.
Thank you very much also for the time you dedicated to your review and for your open and clear comments.
I am happy you have appreciated my Hotel, its central location, the staff friendliness, the breakfast and the Terrazza with view of Saint Peter’s dome.
I apologise for the lack in professionality you experienced with somebody of night staff. I have been acting in recovering the lower quality of service. Thank you for informing me.
Hope to have you and your husband again at my Hotel. Please, next time, contact me directly at aconsoli@hoteldeiconsoli.com in order to support personally your next stay. I would love to meet you again.
Kind regards,
Amalia Consoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

The Hotel was in a very nice location, just a 5-10 min walk to the vatican, and a 5 min walk to the bus station. The #81 bus takes you to most of the famous places.
The concierge were very helpful, and the breakfast buffet was delicious. The only thing I noticed was the taxi drivers usually had trouble finding the hotel.
The beds were a little hard but other than that the rooms were very nice!
We were on the first floor, with a balcony. I was very pleased that they had elevators as well.
When you arrive you can get 4 hrs of free Wifi, after which you pay for. We managed to make that last our whole 5 nights.
I also really liked that when you leave the hotel each time, the concierge takes the key so you dont lose it.
One recommendation, the doors to the rooms are a little hard to open. Turn the key clockwise. the handle doesnt work, but when u turn the key all the way it opens the door. From the inside, use the lock to open the door.
Overall it is a great hotel and I would recommend it to all.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on the first floor, and with a balcony. It had a lovely view and was not very fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelsey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraHotelConsoli, Owner at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Kelsey,
I am truly thankful to you for having chosen the Hotel dei Consoli for your vacation to Rome.
I am happy you have appreciated my Hotel, its nice location, the staff helpness, the breakfast buffet and your room.
Thank you very much also for the time you dedicated to your review, for your direct comments and for your recommendation of Hotel dei Consoli to travelers.
In these past days I have introduced free wi-fi into the Hotel. I am sorry that for the time of your visit there was still a charge for it.
Hope to have you again at my Hotel. Please, next time, contact me directly at aconsoli@hoteldeiconsoli.com in order to support personally your next stay. I would love to meet you.
Kind regards,
Amalia Consoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from Rome and we thoroughly enjoyed our 7 night stay at the Hotel Dei Consoli. The hotel is in a lovely, quiet and convenient location. It is a short walk away from the Vatican and close to transport links and we found it to be very clean. The staff were all very helpful and it was lovely to have the free breakfast (which was buffet style and always yummy) up on the rooftop terrase. My only (very) minor gripes are that the room was on the small side and there was no free WiFi. In saying that though the room was on the third floor and so there was no noise from the street below (the hotel is on a side street anyway with no noisy bars nearby) and the kind receptionist gave me some free Wifi time.

All-in-all I would strongly recommend this hotel as it is in a great location, is clean and the staff we akll very freidnyl and helpful.

John, Glasgow, Scotland

Room Tip: the basic rooms are on the small side and make sure that free Wifi is included in the package when y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnbarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraHotelConsoli, Owner at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear John,
I am truly thankful to you for having chosen the Hotel dei Consoli for your vacation to Rome.
I am happy you have appreciated my Hotel, its “lovely, nice and convenient location”, the kindness of the receptionist, the “always yummy” breakfast and the cleanliness your room.
Thank you very much also for the time you dedicated to your review, for your direct comments and for your recommendation of Hotel dei Consoli to travelers.
In these past days I have introduced free wi-fi into the Hotel. I am sorry that for the time of your visit there was still a charge for it.
Hope to have you again at my Hotel. Please, next time, contact me directly at aconsoli@hoteldeiconsoli.com in order to support personally your next stay. I would love to meet you.
Kind regards,
Amalia Consoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Atlante Garden Hotel
Atlante Garden Hotel
#379 of 1,256 in Rome
983 reviews
Prati
Orange Hotel
Orange Hotel
#648 of 1,256 in Rome
488 reviews
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#264 of 1,256 in Rome
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Hotel Prati
Hotel Prati
#549 of 1,256 in Rome
227 reviews
Prati
Hotel Giulio Cesare
Hotel Giulio Cesare
#222 of 1,256 in Rome
982 reviews
Prati
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
#239 of 1,256 in Rome
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dei Consoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dei Consoli

Property: Hotel Dei Consoli
Address: Via Varrone 2D | Angolo Via Cola di Rienzo, 00193 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#251 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#304 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dei Consoli 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk from the Vatican and the Sistine Chapel, Hotel dei Consoli opened in 2000 is a luxury hotel in rome, and offers guests excellent hospitality in an atmosphere of elegance and imperial splendor.Hotel dei Consoli is located in via Varrone, near the Vatican with its majestic piazza and church, in a sumptuous building fully refurbished in the Empire style. The interior stucco work is by the Neopolitan master craftsmen who were responsible for the decoration of the famous Reggia di Caserta near Naples. The Hotel occupies three storeys, respectively designated the storeys of the Mappamondi (maps of the world), Fiori (flowers) and Battaglie (battles). On the roof garden and terrace you can enjoy breakfast while admiring the famous dome of St Peter's. The peaceful atmosphere is especially welcomed by single guests looking for rest and comfort in total seclusion. Furnishings in warm colours and careful soundproofing make the hotel an oasis of refinement and peace right in the heart of the Eternal City. With its elegant atmosphere, fully-qualified staff and all the very latest technology, Hotel dei Consoli is sure to make your visit to Rome an unforgettable experience."Since 2006 the Hotel dei Consoli has the best customer reviews on Trip Advisor: friendliest and best staff, great location, very clean, home away from home" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dei Consoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Consoli Rome
Dei Consoli Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing