We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Pace Helvezia
Nearby Hotels
$294
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$356
$278
Capo d'Africa
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$178
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma(Rome)(Great Value!)
$192
$188
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$314
$288
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Yes Hotel(Rome)(Great Value!)
$252
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
$1,100
$1,066
Expedia.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Morgana(Rome)(Great Value!)
$236
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$1,029
$491
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$1,402
$770
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (699)
Filter reviews
699 results
Traveler rating
141
275
170
57
56
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
275
170
57
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroof terracetrevi fountaintrajan's marketpiazza veneziapastriescentrally located hotelwithin walking distancebit datedbusy roadstaff on receptionspanish stepsexcellent locationfacing the streetcold meatsciampino airportmini barroman forum
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
305 - 310 of 699 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2009

I stayed for 6 nights (week 38 of September), and had booked a single room. However, I got a double room without any extra cost. The room (number 44) was spacious, equipped with air-conditioning, and the bed sheets got changed every day. Not that it matters a great deal, but the TV channels were really poor – 4 channels to choose from. But hey, who travels to Rome to watch TV, right? The breakfast was reasonable with no complaints. I have been to Italy about 100+ times so I know breakfast in Italy isn´t something they are very good at, but it´s reasonable.

The main reason for choosing Pace Helvezia is the great location, which is close to everything within walking distance. 5 minutes stroll to Trevi Fountain, and 10 minutes to the Spanish Steps.

The roof top terrace is absolutely breathtaking and nearly empty all the time. 360 degrees view and one of the highest roof tops in the area. And excellent place to finish off a long days walk with a cold bottle of Prosecco, and watch the skyline in Rome.

Unfortunately, the bar was closed as it would have been nice to order something. September is high-season in Rome and therefore the bar should have been open for the guests. Yes, the two elevators might be small, which only fit 3 people. But they do have two elevators and not just one.

One should note that every single hotel in Rome is NOT to be compared with, say, hotels in Florida, California or even Scandinavia. Hotels in Rome are smaller due to the age of the city so it´s unjustifiable to complain about room size, facilities and super luxury. Hotel Helvezia is rated as a four star hotel, and judging by the hotel standard in Rome Hotel Helvezia is worth of its four stars – especially taking the room price into account (Euro 111.50 per night), as well as the location, and the outstanding roof top.

As Rome is an extremely busy city traffic wise there are noise coming into to the rooms adjacent to Via V Novembre. I´m sure more modern sound proof windows could solve this problem in the future. However, I didn´t encounter any significant issues with the noise as I live in a busy city already.

All in all, this is a great hotel I can highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2009

Just had a three night stay in rome. Stayed at the Pace Helvezia. The hotel is in a great location. The colosseum is literally just down the road (half a mile away). The other sights are within walking distance. From the rooftop terrace the view is brilliant. We had a twin room, While not large it was big enough for two people & their junk! & had air conditioning, a must in rome in August!, everything worked ok, the room was clean & very comfortable. Maid service every day. Breakfast was a buffet with lots to eat. The hotel is just like the pictures on their website. If I was going back to rome I would definitely stay at this hotel. Rome is a great place to visit but very expensive!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAKEM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

I travelled to Rome with my wife for my 50th birthday, a place I had always wanted to visit and wasn't dissappointed one bit! The Hotel is located pretty central, from the roof top terrace, which was nearly always deserted, you can see the Colloseum and St Peters and just about every major tourist site in between! I would recommend a taking a nice bottle of wine up to the terrace at the end of a hard days sight seeing and just relaxing as the city goes about its business in the streets below, a nice escape from the inevitable hordse of tourists that can make some parts of the city feel a little claustrophobic.

The staff are polite and helpful, even to the point of bringing drinks up to the terrace from reception if asked. The rooms are a little on the small side, but this is a city centre hotel, but very clean and well fitted, we even had English TV channels!

The nearst attraction is the Trevi fountain, about 5 minutes stroll, which seems to be packed at any time of the day or night, go there at night though for the atmosphere, its rather surreal!

The Colloseum is about 15 minutes walk and St Peters about 30 minutes, but on the way to St Peters you can visit the Pantheon and Piazza Nevona as they are both enroute.

The restaurants around the tourist areas are, as expected a little on the pricey side, but walk a couple of streets back and you will find some gems with very reasonable prices and better food, worth looking around for as you can save up to 50%!

On the whole I would go back to both this hotel and Rome any time.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris_Mayers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2009

Just got back from a long weekend in Rome with my teenage daughter. On arrival the Receptionist realised that he had reserved a double room for us instead of twin rooms as requested and was looking quite worried as to what he could do for us. However, we were in no hurry to get to the room as wanted to go site seeing immediately so he promised us a room with a view on our return. We left our luggage with him and rented a safe for our valuables. He kept his promise and at 6pm when we returned we were given room 102 on the 6th floor with a fabulous terrace giving wonderful views of the city - it was amazing! The breakfasts were continental style so don't expect bacon or eggs but you could make your own cheese/tomato toasted sandwiches along with cereals, fruit, croissants etc. The mini bar in the room was incredibly good value compared to any of the bars we stopped in and so we made good use of it. 2 Euros for a beer. The room was good size, air conditioned and the bathroom was marble top to toe with a good shower cubicle. The staff were very friendly and helpful and always happy to give you information on site seeing etc. It is brilliantly located, you can walk easily to any of the major sites and the nearest bus stop is only around the corner should you wish to go further. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and will definitely be staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladybrockett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2009

We stayed at Pace Helvezia Hotel for 3 nights. We had a double room (two twin beds combined) on the 3rd floor. They met our request for a room not facing the street. Due to this we did not have any noise issues. Overall the room was basic but clean. The shower stall in the bathroom was rather small (even for European standards). The hotel location was convenient and had a bus stop within one block. The hotel was within a reasonable walking distance to the Colosseum, Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps. Most staff members were very friendly and more than willing to help. The breakfast consisted of meats, pastries, cereal and fruit, etc. Pricey in my opinion but worth it if you value being closer to some of the more popular sites. WiFi was available for a fee, but there was a computer in the lobby. We booked the room through Venere.com and saved 4% by using code 9MCETU3. You can use the code for multiple reservations by using a different e-mail address.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jettafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews