We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pace Helvezia Hotel
Ranked #412 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay”
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

The building is beautiful, fitted out with lovely artwork.
The hotel staff went beyond their duties to ensure I had a pleasant stay (I was visibly upset due to exhaustion) and they even went above their duties to make me feel relaxed.
I had one issue with the shower but they were quick to move my room which was perfect.
The rooms are a but larger than those compared to other European hotels I've stayed at.
The location is close to all the sites but is located on a quieter street (which I much prefer)
I will stay here again on my next visit to Rome.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Aidanrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    236
    150
    53
    53
See reviews for
120
247
33
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melrose, WI, USA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed here in two separate rooms one week apart. Both rooms had Issues. Room 1....terrible air conditioner, fridge didn't work, and the poorly designed glass wing on the tub did not stop flooding the floor when taking a shower. Room 2....one week later before taking our flight out of Rome was located at the front of the hotel on a busy street...very noisy. The air conditioning was bad in this room as we'll and after one toilet flush, the toilet continued to run for several hours. While the hotel is in a convenient location and has a nice rooftop porch, I'll go elsewhere the next time I'm in Rome.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank DanandKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

La Roche-Clermault, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

This hotel was very well placed for sightseeing as it was situated near many of the ancient ruins. However we had a room at the front which was VERY noisy with traffic dying down very late at night and starting up very early in the morning. Even with the shutters closed it did not inhibit the sound of Rome's traffic noise. Such an easy thing to resolve these days. The hotel itself needed tidying up as modernising would destroy it's lovely character. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. The en suite shower room was fine but could also do with a make-over. Attention to minor details such as providing extra shower gel after the complimentary offer needs addressing. The reception staff were always helpful and spoke English. There was a good selection for breakfast unless you preferred a "fry-up". The saving grace was the wonderful roof terrace where you could take your own drinks to watch Rome by day or night. Unusually, there was no functioning bar in the hotel but you were encouraged to buy from outside or from the mini-bar in the room..

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1JK92014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartselle, Alabama
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Nice hotel centrally located to Ancient Rome. It is a 10 min cab ride from train station and 30 min to FCO airport. This hotel is a block away from Trajan's Market and a 10 min walk to the Colosseum. It is 2 miles to the Vatican. We walked there, but took a cab back. Many restaurants nearby.
Friendly staff that speaks English. Nice breakfast. Our room was on the front corner. Loud traffic noise so we wore earplugs at night to sleep. I would suggest a back room. The room was large and clean with a large bathroom. We did have issues with the toilet that they had trouble resolving, but we were able to make do our last night. Overall, a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nmashburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

We've previously stayed in various hotels across Rome and have chosen them primarily on the basis of their location. If you intend making a few visits (and even then,you'll never see it all),best concentrate on an area. In 2013,for example,it was The Vatican and surrounding district,so The Cardinal Cesi (very good too) was the choice.
If however,you're on a once only hit,then I would suggest making the area around Piazza Venezia/Forum,your base. Everything is walkable from there and The Metro is also handy (Cavour or Colosseo).I also happen to think it's the best area to sample the 'Imperial Roman Experience'.
So,that said,I was looking for something around there again,something with a roof terrace to sip a glass of wine and watch the sun go down,a place like the Hotel Forum and it's marvellous (but pricey) roof bar (another recommended hotel).

Hotel Pace Helvezia: I had some reservations about this one based on reviews,but went with it because the views from that split level terrace looked spectacular. It's also just a ten minute walk from Piazza Venezia,Trevi Fountain,Quirinale,Piazza Colonna and five minutes from the entrance to The Trajan Markets Museum (not to be missed).

We were given room 86,floor five,so the room description is on that one alone: Decent sized room,large bathroom with classy but well used fittings. Nice shower with slow draining shower tray (but fine) plus a good extractor fan (unusual).Noisy but efficient AC. Old CRT TV (but fine),balcony with two seats,overlooking the EU Commission (noisy). It also had an external electric roller shutter blind,which,when lowered reduced noise levels and any extraneous light.The free Wifi worked fine on the fifth floor and just about ok on the terrace.
The hotel is pretty big and has a welcoming reception area,best described as old Victorian in style,with an adjacent large cool sitting/reading lounge.The decor throughout is one of slightly faded grandeur but quite homely. It had no bar.

Now,regrettably,'no bar' would be a bit of a problem for me,but at The Helvezia,it was compensated for by a very reasonably priced room mini bar and also by the fact that you could happily bring in your own refreshments and take them up to the excellent roof terrace which,in late June '14,was usually empty! Incidentally,just around the corner from the hotel,a little lower down than The Nag's Head (not a mistake!) was a mini market selling a large selection of chilled wines.Found 'Est Est Est' at 7€ (2014) to be very drinkable.They also do large bags of crisps and other snacks.
We went up on the terrace every evening (on one,listening to The Stones at Circus Maximus).This facility alone makes the hotel a gem,but do note,it is essentially a warm weather spot,as there's no adverse weather protection.

Lastly,the breakfasts were fine,lots of coffee and tea,cold meats,cheeses,tomatoes,boiled eggs,toast machine,good cake selection,fresh fruit and juices.No bacon or sausage. Nice breakfast lounge but sometimes very busy.
Nearby: Lots of reasonably priced restaurants just around the corner.Tried Pastarito. Large,open plan seating,frequented by local families,decent food and wine. Take-away pizza/pasta outlets are just below the Wax Museum (used the middle one of three,Antico Caffe Castellino,it also sells cod in batter,but not chips). One minute's walk away is Chiesa Evangelica,which hosts regular operas (sounds expensive at 20€/person but is great entertainment and worth the money).
Finally,Angelino ai Fori 1947,on Via Cavour opposite the Forum entrance,is only a 15 minute walk away (always a pleasure and reasonably priced).

In conclusion,Hotel Pace Helvezia...a firm 4.5/5 recommendation (based on a floor five room)

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank PPAinsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Just checked out after a three night stay with our family. We had two rooms and both were clean and tidy but desperately in need of a face lift. One of the rooms was sandwiched between the elevators and we had virtually no WiFi. The beds were TERRIBLE actually and may have been WW2 army cots and the pillows not much better. Air conditioning was sufficient but rattled all the time. TV was old model propped up on desk (no big deal as we didn't watch TV). Breakfast was laid out nicely but extremely heavy on the Carbs and no eggs or bacon. Elevator was so small only three people could fit and only one with luggage. One of the lifts wouldn't stop on our floor.. Lobby was completely outdated and super dusty as were the stairs to all floors, lobby toilet was out of commission the entire stay. Great water pressure in the shower, but small stalls. BEST part, not to be missed, the rooftop seating was amazing. Take a cocktail and enjoy the wonderful city views! The terrace and location are absolutely the only redeeming qualities of this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay away from elevators.... corner rooms appear to be larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank urj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2014

My mum and I stayed here on the weekend of 20th June for 3 days. It was clean and tidy, although in need of some tlc but a great place to use as a base. They only serve breakfast but there are so many places to eat nearby that this is not a problem. The Public House Inn, up a little street opposite the hotel is lovely, staff very friendly and great reasonably priced food. Also if you come out of the hotel and turn left go through the arches and on the left is another lovely little restauant le lanterne, we had bruschetta, lasagne and a soft drink for 10 euros, they also spray a fine mist of cool water if you are sitting outside in the heat, which is very refreshing. The Theatre Cafe just up the hill from the hotel serves lovely food reasonably priced too.

We had to borrow a 3 prong plug from reception as our two prong one didnt fit in the wall. The mini bar is very reasonable too.

We ordered a taxi from the hotel to Fiumicino Airport, which should of been 48 euros, when we arrived he asked us for 60!! when we said the hotel said 48 and we would get i touch with them, he changed it to 50!! helping himself to tip!! I have to say we found the locals very unhelpful when it came to asking for help, even though we tried our best with our italian !

The roof terrace is just beautiful, you can buy a bottle of wine at the shop round the corner and some nibbles and have a lovely relaxed evening without having to pay extortionate prices some of the other local hotels charge that have a bar on the roof terrace.

Be careful when you get to the termini of young girls trying to scam you! two young girls offered to help us get the bus, took us to the wrong bus stop and wanted 10 euros for the pleasure, they re are lots of people looking to pounce on the vulnerable! the bus ticket was 1.50 euros and was the 40 express to the Piazza Venezia about 3 stops from the termini, then its a few minutes walk to the hotel.

We found the Tambus was the most reliable and helpful, running every 5 mins to the termini from the airport for 10 euros. Be aware no one forms an orderly queue! be prepared to push and shove like everyone else or you ll never get on the bus! its every man or himself, its at this point you realise how polite the english are!

Your better off getting a skip the line ticket for the colouseum and be aware you have to leave you rucksacks and handbags at the desk before you go in.

Room Tip: We were on floor 4 at the side of the hotel which wasnt to bad, its a buzzing city after all so dont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Cosmopolita Hotel
Cosmopolita Hotel
#329 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Traiano
Hotel Traiano
#522 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Genio Hotel
Genio Hotel
#493 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Hotel Piazza Venezia
Hotel Piazza Venezia
#284 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Colonna
Leonardi Sistina Hotel
Leonardi Sistina Hotel
#698 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Trevi
Comfort Hotel Bolivar
Comfort Hotel Bolivar
#201 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pace Helvezia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pace Helvezia Hotel

Property: Pace Helvezia Hotel
Address: Via IV Novembre 104 | Piazza Venezia, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
#220 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pace Helvezia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palatial mansion in the heart of the historical city - Near Venice Square, the Colosseum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Pace Helvezia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pace Helvezia
Pace Helvezia Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing