We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel in an excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Pace Helvezia
Ranked #421 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good hotel in an excellent location”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

While I agree that this hotel is probably more of a 3 star than a 4, it is a really nice old traditional european hotel, which has been adapted to fit in to a more modern era, with air conditioning - which was very efficient in our room - and brilliant for us as the temp was between 38 and 40oC during our stay!!! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and found it to be in a fantastic location - being about a 5 minute walk to the Trevi fountain! The main attraction for us was the roof terrace, with fabulous views of Rome - the Colosseum and St. Johns Basilica can both be seen in the distance! The breakfast was a typical, but average continental style cold buffet. We had a triple room, which was spacious, and on the first floor. This was really good as we could use the stairs - the lifts were very small and claustrophobic! Our bed (two singles pushed together) was spacious and firm, with the single bed being a sofa bed style and had seen better days! The bathroom was also quite large, but the shower was a hose attached to the bath taps, which you had to hold while showering! The hotel is on a busy main road and, as mentioned in other reviews, traffic noise can be heard at all times - but, with the windows closed, it is minimal and didn't bother us at all - although I must mention that the traffic started around 6 - 7am, and could still be heard late at night (although not as heavy). I would definitely recommend this hotel, as we had a great week - the staff on reception and during breakfast, we found to be very friendly and helpful also! Finally, Rome is a wonderful city, well worth a visit, but please bear in mind the temperature as, most of our stay, we found it hard walking around in such intense heat - even in the shade!!! Also, one small tip, there are fabulous views of Rome from the large white building which you can see on the left from the roof terrace!! :)

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are a good idea if you are claustrophobic as the lifts are very small and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    241
    155
    54
    54
See reviews for
124
255
33
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Read many reviews before arriving. The hotel is not 4 stars as far as amenities and rooms. It is an older building, which my husband and I appreciate. Our bed was not luxurious, the ac was temperamental, and the breakfast did not compare to many hotels I have visited. As mentioned by other reviewers, it is the location and the rooftop that make this hotel a find. We were with another couple staying in a trendy hotel that spent most of the time at our hotel. This is where you want to be when visiting Rome. One word of warning. We needed to call our airline and the receptionist offered us a house phone to do this. The next day we discovered our 2 minute call cost 29 euros!! We should have been advised of this before making the call.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 42NancyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

First, you have to take into account this is an old, European hotel. That means the rooms and elevators are small and the plumbing is .... interesting ... (the shower went from hot to cold on its own). In my travels, this is not an unusual experience in older buildings in Europe. Second, the service people, particularly the people at the front desk were fantastic. They were friendly and helpful.

The hotel itself was clean and well kept and the breakfast was good with the service being excellent. The rooftop garden view was amazing, you could see the Forum and the Coliseum which leads me to the best feature of this hotel - its location. It was a ten minute walk to the Trevi Fountain, maybe 15 minutes to the Forum and Coliseum and approximately twenty minutes walk to Piazza Novonna. The Vatican was about a 10 minute taxi ride. There were tons of restaurants and cafes within easy walking distance.

We really couldn't have asked for a better hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccinwa425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

we arrived early and the receptionist could see we were tired as we left home at 3am sunday, he is to be congratulated on his perception as he proceeded to try to allocate us two rooms that were ready to be occupied, I did not have to ask for this....fantastic service. the room had air con which we left on constantly and the room was lovely to come back to. The room was clean and tidied every day and more than ample for three nights as we were there for sightseeing. the roof terrace is brilliant and we used it every night and just took our own drinks up there every night to chill and look at the view. The mini bar fridge in the room is very handy and only 2 euros for most of the things in it therefore not overpriced in my opinion. The location is perfect and had planned a open top bus tour but we were so close to everything we did not have to bother as we had been able to walk to everything we had planned. breakfast was continental and had a good choice although one amongst us expected bacon and egg etc, I will go to this hotel again although traffic noise is an issue if you opened the window, however we did not keep the window open as the a\c was good. I cannot express enough how pleased I was with the location and the lovely terrace with views of the coliseum and other sights. If you read this review please also make sure you book your tickets for the coliseum and the Vatican online before you go, we walked straight in through a separate barrier and saved at least two hours queuing at the Vatican and the coliseum and we felt like VIP'S and no extra costs incurred. Get a map from reception (free) and it is all you need. I cannot say whether or not I got a good deal price wise as it is the main season but I feel I got value for money but remember there is now a tourist tax of three euros a night per person, payable when you check out but this is not the fault of the hotel but it has to be paid.

Room Tip: first floor, only because it is easier as you don't go to rome to sit in a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank berlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2013

When we arrived at Pace Helvezia, they pretend that air conditionned was out of order and the send us by taxi to another hotel supposedly same category. But, it looks not so nice... and the air conditionned was not working too and the room was realy small.
After complaining the day after, they change us to a superieur room very large and nice. The small garden on the roof was nice at night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Bruno J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Mum and I stayed at this hotel for 1 night so that we could see Rome and travel to the airport next day for an early flight. The hotel was brilliantly located and the highlight for me was the roof terrace and the views from the bedroom. The terrace had lovely furniture and flowers. There was no waiter service so you could take your own wine or drinks up and sit and watch the sunset over Rome. The room was nicely furnished and appointed and the air conditioning worked well. Downstairs lounge was lovely and cool and a nice place to sit and relax. Nice breakfast in a lovely airy room and lots of choice (as far as continental breakfasts go) with good service.The location was amazing, we could walk easily to Trevi, Pantheon, etc and it was a great place to watch the world go by. Even though it is situated on one of the main roads in Rome, the room was quiete because it faced into a back courtyard. There is a little place in front of the hotel to pull into to unload luggage and then there is a car park really close by. Book with the hotel first and then take the car and they will park it for you. Got a really good deal in April but have not managed to return yet as the price shot up in June.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing to the back if you want to be sure of a nice quiete room. I've not actuall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Suewilde1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We were a litle early for check in but our luggage as stored for us at reception while we explored the city. Staff were friendly and courteous. The room was on the 5th floor at the rear of the hotel . I had requested a room with a balcony and that's what we got, with a nice view over the rooftops.
The lifts are tiny with room for only 2 adults or 1 + luggage.The decor was a bit dated and the a/c was a little noisy but the room was adeqate size with all mod cons including free wi-fi and an in-room safe as well as a complementary bottle of prosecco!
The roof garden is a must see and sitting there with a relaxing drink overlooking the Rome skyline was terrific.The buffet breakfast was very good with ample choice of fruit,cheeses, cold meats, pastries and cereals.
The real bonus however is the location. 5-10mins walk to Trevi Fountain, 15-20mins walk to Pantheon or Colosseum or a short taxi ride to the Vatican.
This hotel may be a little dated but that's far outweighed by the other features mentioned. I'd happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear and with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaxDWaterford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Cosmopolita Hotel
Cosmopolita Hotel
#312 of 1,258 in Rome
1,255 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Traiano
Hotel Traiano
#535 of 1,258 in Rome
530 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Genio
Hotel Genio
#464 of 1,258 in Rome
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Comfort Hotel Bolivar
Comfort Hotel Bolivar
#221 of 1,258 in Rome
790 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Piazza Venezia
Hotel Piazza Venezia
#315 of 1,258 in Rome
200 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Sistina
Hotel Sistina
#679 of 1,258 in Rome
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pace Helvezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pace Helvezia

Property: Hotel Pace Helvezia
Address: Via IV Novembre 104 | Piazza Venezia, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#224 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pace Helvezia 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pace Helvetia is located in a sober and elegant building set in the heart of Rome, a short walk from Piazza Venezia, the Coliseum and the Quirinale. Hotel Pace Helvetia features a rooftop terrace overlooking the monument of Vittorio Emanuele and the ancient Trajan markets. A continental buffet breakfast is served in the morning, which can be enjoyed on the terrace on fine days. The spacious rooms are embellished with classical furniture, soft carpets and upholstery or elegant parquet, combined with modern comforts. All rooms have air conditioning and a TV. A few steps from the hotel, there are several buses to Termini Station, the Vatican and the charming Trastevere district, full of bars and cafés. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. The Piazza Venezia area - Trevi Fountain is a great choice for travelers interested in city walks, sightseeing tours and food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Pace Helvezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pace Helvezia Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing