We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Pace Helvezia
Ranked #386 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Just returned from a 4 day break at this hotel. The location couldn't be better and the roof top terrace is a must for an end of day glass of wine. The hotel is clean (our bed linen was changed every 2 days) and comfortable. The hotel staff are friendly and very helpful. The continental buffet style breakfast was fresh and plentiful. I had read some negative reviews before we went but I think these people must have stayed at a different hotel!!! Would not hesitate to recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in 95 and 96 which were both excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelblaizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (688)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 688 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012

Will start with the pros: located within walking distance to all major sites, shopping areas and good restaurants nearby, loved the roof-top seating at night, comfy bed, working A/C despite horrible heatwave, nice breakfast buffet.
The cons: very small room with one small wardrobe, shower hardware fell off wall, hairdryer fell apart in my hands, worn/stained bedspread, breakfast room extremely warm.
Elevator warning! Do not allow more than 3 people in the 3-person elevator as it will stop moving! Not a pleasant experience.
With so many hotel choices, would probably not stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank deeann7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The best two things about the Pace Helvezia Hotel are its and location and the view from the roof terrace. Otherwise, the rooms are dark, though air-conditioned with a window unit, and the staff not very friendly or helpful. If you get this hotel at a good rate, then it's acceptable. Most things you want to see in Rome are in easy walking distance. Being so central, it's surrounded by noisy traffic, and the air-conditioners help to eliminate the noise. If you can get a room on the roof terrace you will be very pleased, but they are not easy to book.

Room Tip: Book a room on the roof terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoeBaileyCole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Honestly, although the view is spectacular, this hotel needs a lot of work in order to be viewed as a "4 star" hotel: Our room (95) had a very old, uncomfortable bed (you could literally feel the springs in the mattress), the pillows were incredibly flat, I was bitten by something the first night I was there, the toilet seat was loose- it shifted anytime we sat on it, the shower doors didn't shut correctly because the rubber edge is missing on one door (therefore, the water went everywhere), the shower head came loose and didn't hold up, on our second day the light blocking shade got stuck- luckily the handyman was around and fixed it (he also fixed the wobbly toilet). In the evening, when Claudio is in the front desk chatting away on the phone, he just can't "be bothered," everytime I asked him a question about where something was he would just brush me away. The day staff were friendlier. Also, they need to stop serving instant coffee at breakfast, nobody was drinking it. I am not one to stay at fancy hotels, but the minimum I expect is for a curtious staff and things that work in our room! What a dissapointment! This is a crummy old hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lopezfam210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Although a little old fashioned, we enjoyed our stay, we had requested a high level room and were pleased to be in the 6th floor, as if lower the traffic to the front would have caused us issues. The location is excellent and a short walk to the Trevi fountian and others. The room was large and well equipped. Breakfast was OK, but the rolls were hard and the choice a little limiting. The roof top terrace is stunning and sitting in the evening looking across the the Coloseum and Vatican City makes this hotel very individual.

Room Tip: Dont miss out on the roof terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Stopped here 2-4 August and have to say that the location is perfect. It was an easy walk to all of the major tourist attractions. The free breakfast was very good, with a wide variety of cold meats, cheeses and pastries available. Yes, the roof terrace really does have great views!
My only grumble was that the bed was far too hard. It really was beyond firm and more like sleeping on stone, I woke up with back ache each morning. This is a real shame as the hotel was good other than this.

Room Tip: Not room 9!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wrightip61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed here as part of an organised tour in February 2012 for our first trip to Rome. I'd read some of the reviews and wondered just how small our room would be, but I've got to say that the hotel was fine. The bedroom was a good size and the bathroom was far larger than was necessary. The room was clean and well-furnished, although lots of things seemed to squeak: the wardrobe door, the floorboards, but I'd have to be very picky to complain about them!

The room had the bathroom window on the front of the hotel but the bedroom window faced a small courtyard at the side, so we didn't have much traffic noise. The breakfasts were buffet style continental and there was plenty of choice.

The public areas could do with a lick of paint and the bar was never open (our guide said that he'd never found the bar open in all the time he'd been going there!), but there are lots of nice places to go within a very short stroll of the hotel. Do search out the roof-top terrace because it's really sweet and the views are fantastic.

It's an excellent location for sight-seeing: Trajan's market is almost next door; the forums, Trajan's column, Capitoline hill, Vittorio Emanuele monument, Trevi Fountain a very short walk away. Buses stop close to the hotel too. There are some very good restaurants near by. We can't wait to go back to Rome and we would be very happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lazyferret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Cosmopolita Hotel
Cosmopolita Hotel
#310 of 1,273 in Rome
1,319 reviews
Trevi
Comfort Hotel Bolivar
Comfort Hotel Bolivar
#284 of 1,273 in Rome
813 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Genio
Hotel Genio
#423 of 1,273 in Rome
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Hotel Traiano
Hotel Traiano
#581 of 1,273 in Rome
551 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Hiberia
Hotel Hiberia
#187 of 1,273 in Rome
1,118 reviews
Trevi
Boutique Hotel Trevi
Boutique Hotel Trevi
#605 of 1,273 in Rome
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pace Helvezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pace Helvezia

Address: Via IV Novembre 104 | Piazza Venezia, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#211 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $94 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pace Helvezia 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pace Helvetia is located in a sober and elegant building set in the heart of Rome, a short walk from Piazza Venezia, the Coliseum and the Quirinale. Hotel Pace Helvetia features a rooftop terrace overlooking the monument of Vittorio Emanuele and the ancient Trajan markets. A continental buffet breakfast is served in the morning, which can be enjoyed on the terrace on fine days. The spacious rooms are embellished with classical furniture, soft carpets and upholstery or elegant parquet, combined with modern comforts. All rooms have air conditioning and a TV. A few steps from the hotel, there are several buses to Termini Station, the Vatican and the charming Trastevere district, full of bars and cafés. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. The Piazza Venezia area - Trevi Fountain is a great choice for travelers interested in city walks, sightseeing tours and food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Pace Helvezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pace Helvezia Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing