We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and clean, not a great location for tourists”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Globus Hotel
Ranked #248 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Overall this is a great 3-star hotel property - no complaints there. They were able to graciously accommodate our family of 5 (young kids) in a relatively large double bed room. Not many views but you're never in the hotel room long enough.
The hotel is located near the University section and there are a couple of bus lines that come close to the hotel. The closest metro stop (Policlinico) is a good 1km walk (5-7 brisk walk). Not too far from the Termini station (5 mins by bus or taxi).
The lobby is spacious and inviting for a small hotel like this. Reception staff is helpful with tourist ideas and finding out about things for your from the internet. Daily coffee, water, pineapple juice and light biscuits complimentary in the lobby - nice touch. Two elevators (although one seemed to only go down :) which is good because they are NOT that big in Europe (we are very spoilt in the U.S.).
Rooms are spacious and comfortable and the bathrooms well-appointed. Shower is large enough compared to others I used in my 10-day vacation in Italy and France. Complimentary breakfast is run-of-the-mill continental with two hot items (usually scrambled eggs and breakfast meat) - but the pastries, dessert and bread choices are plentiful. I wish one could pay a bit more and order made-to-order omelettes or waffles because you can sick of the continental. Not that many choices right outside the hotel for food either, but there's a LOT in Rome.
Enjoyed our stay here but would probably choose a hotel closer to tourist attractions or the metro next time.

Room Tip: Higher floor better just for noise levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy King
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,390)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 1,390 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

Best Western Globus lies along University Avenue - "university" referring to La Sapienza, Rome's largest higher learning institution with 65,000 students. The hotel is just a block away or a 5 minute walk and if you had business with the university, the location cannot be topped. We did - the European conference on operations research that my wife attended was held at La Sapienza. It's on the very east side of the city and a 15 minute walk to Termini, Rome's Grand Central station. From there, at least, most of the sights become walkable.

Globus is an old hotel, taken over by Best Western. There’s no doorman to help and you had to climb sone 10 steps and you had to lug your luggage up the stairs – that was a pain. But the front desk staff were helpful, quick to help out with all our taxi needs. And there was a bar at the end of the lobby that had coffee, juice, water, sweet breads which you could get at any time. There were enough sofas to lounge around before leaving the hotel or after coming back from a tiring Rome tour.

The night tables had three legs - very designery with glass and steel and wood (but not too practical since it could easily fall if too much weight was put on one corner). The toilet had a bidet which the wife appreciated. We had a balcony (only a few rooms had one) which was cute. The clothes cabinet were finely designed and the electronic safe was a nice touch. But the free wifi was fast – and appreciated.

Some negatives - the room was very basic with laminate floor, LCD TV (but virtually no english channels). I didn’t appreciate that there was only one chair and no other place to sit on. The desk, which also had the same design theme as the night tables, would have been nicer with a lamp – there were only wall bed lamps and a central ceiling light. There was no graphic or painting at all on the walls – which I thought was strange. The toilet sink bowl didn't have enough space to put both our cosmetic bags. And no complimentary water. And housekeeping wasn't too thorough - there was an empty pack of cigarettes in the balcony when we arrived and it was never cleaned up so obviously housekeeping never cleaned the balcony.

Breakfast was decent though not fancy. The waitresses didn't seem very service oriented and never smiled. Coffee was self-serve, via a coffee machine. Plus the usual cheeses, hams, cocktail frankfurters, scrambled eggs, cereals, yoghurt, sliced bread, sweet breads, juices.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank JGR001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed as a family of 4 in June for 3 nights (the "fantasy" package). The hotel is nicely situated, a 5 min walk to the Metro station. There is a tram close to the Metro station also that goes directly to the Vatican, a 45 min ride (the tram ride is a shorter walk to the Vatican than taking the Metro). The room is big, with a cute bunk bed for the kids. The washroom can get some upgrade, but at least is clean. We love the buffet breakfast and there is free Wifi in the room. Our only complain is that we arrived at noon and were told the room is not ready until 2 pm. They stored the luggages for us while we had lunch. When it was 2 pm, our room was still not ready and there were a few people waiting for their rooms also. We waited for another 15 minutes and the room was finally ready. Other than this little upset, we were happy with the overall value and the location of the hotel. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FEMLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

As you have imaginedfrom the title I was very dissapointed about family hotel options in central Rome . In the past we booked quadrable rooms in Termini hotels which were too expensive (and with terrible breakfast). This time we booked this hotel which is 2 metro stops away from Termini and we did liked it a lot. The room was spacious,clean with 2 double beds. We even find in the room slippers and bath robes for everyone!!! The breakfast was good and variable. Also nearby there are tram stops to the centre (including Vatican) and a bus stop to Termini station. In the reception were two computers but only one was online. We will be back...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank georgios123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed here in May 2013, lovely hotel, clean friendly staff. Clean towels every day and good breakfast,

Good to have the Termini Station as point for coming and going to various places around the city.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Hotel is very close to the university (La Sapienza) and walking distance from Metro and to some extend also from Termini (took me a little over 15 mins). Rooms are fine, but definitely not big. There is a balcony which is nice. Breakfast is typical tourist style nothing really fancy there. I had huge problems with the free internet they have - it comes and goes on an irregular basis, which was also the case with the hot water in the shower! In addition, if you live too far up you will experience the slowest elevators I have ever had to cope with.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JesperL651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

It was the best hotel that we stayed at in our tour of Europe. We were misguided at termini station about the route so had to walk a lot from the metro station. But when we had it all figured out, it's just so approachable. Just take bus no 310 from termini and you are there in few minutes. The bus stop is right across the street. The location is a delight. It's bang in the university area, with so much trees around. The place had small eating joints and icecream parlours around. A fun and vibrant place.

The rooms are large, with two double beds, they also cater to the kids by renting out play stations etc. the bathroom is nice and large. The shower area is separate. Toiletories supplied are nice and adequate. The hygiene of the place is very good. Excellent staff.
The breakfast was also a great experience, with wide choices for kids and adults. They also have buffet lunch and dinner options at the restaurant.

Overall a nice and delightful experience.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pushpad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Flaminio
Best Western Hotel Astrid
Best Western Hotel Astrid
#196 of 1,271 in Rome
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Capannelle
#751 of 1,271 in Rome
1,399 reviews
Hotel La Genziana
#499 of 1,271 in Rome
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Globus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Globus Hotel

Address: Viale Ippocrate 119, 00161 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#171 Business Hotel in Rome
#196 Family Hotel in Rome
#283 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $58 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Globus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Globus Hotel is in the immediate vicinity of the Policlinico Umberto Primo hospital and "La Sapienza" University of Rome.Well connected by underground and public transport to Rome Termini central railway station, and therefore with the city's airports and other areas, the hotel is close to the city centre. Many of the city's tourist attractions, including the Baths of Diocletian and Piazza della Repubblica are within walking distance of the BEST WESTERN Globus Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splitty, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Globus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rome
Rome Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing