We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel in Rome!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Globus Hotel
Ranked #257 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
toronto
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel in Rome!”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

One of the best hotels I have stayed in. Free breakfast was amazing. Rosella, Andrea and the rest of the front desk staff were so helpful and gave us everything that we asked for. Including a kettle for the room for us to have coffee in the morning.

They also made us Boxed breakfasts to take with is every morning b/c we left early to see the tourist sites. We had the buffet breakfast one day- which was excellent - lots of fresh food!

Only complaint is that sometimes the free WIFI signal was not that strong - we stayed on the 4th floor. Do ask for a higher floor with a balcony for a nice view of the city. Hotel is close to Termini station - but I wouldn't walk there. Take the 310 bus outside of the hotel and take Tram 319 straight to the Vatican (was 45 min long but nice view of the city)

I would definitely stay in this hotel next time in Rome!

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor with balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    679
    236
    61
    24
See reviews for
468
356
44
269
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The Best Western Globus Hotel is top notch. I stayed with my girlfriend for 3 nights and we were amazed at how charming and helpful the personnel of the hotel was. We got a room in the 3rd floor with a balcony and a huge bathroom. The neighbourhood is not the best but the subway is nearby so you can get to central rome in 20 minutes.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, ON Canada
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed a week in this hotel as I had some business to attend to that was nearby. It is in a very nice, clean neighbourhood that feels very safe when walking at night. My wife went out during the day when I had business, and she found it very easy to walk about.

The location is not city centre but on the edge of the University. A 20 minute walk gets you to the Forum and the Collosseum, and a 20 minute walk in the other direction gets you to the Villa Borghese. A bus stop is 50 metres away, and the subway is a 5 minute walk.

The staff are friendly and courteous.

There is an excellent breakfast.

The restaurant in the hotel is not worth it for dinner but on Sunday most of the local restaurants are closed so it was better than finding a pizzeria. There a quite a few excellent restaurants nearby.

They never could get the WiFi working. Frustrating to be told every morning that the technician was coming that day only to get back in the evening and have no internet service in the room. WiFi worked, barely, in the lobby.

Lots of hot water but be careful when taking a shower as the taps are not pressure balancing and temperature changes are frequent.

Renovations were being done during our stay. The hotel did not mention this when we made our reservations. This was annoying but the workers were good enough to not start making any noise before 0830 and were finished by 1700.

Also, the hotel is nearby to a Polyclinico (a teaching hospital) and the sound of ambulance sirens can be distracting sometimes.

Room Tip: Get a room in the back. The rooms on Vialle Ippolitto are noisy, but the windows do a very good job...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Fiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I'm quite a fan of the concept of the Best Western chain. Only franchise-hotels, owned by real hands on entrepreneurs.

When I went to Best Western Globus Hotel it was a bit of a dissapointment. The hotel is far away from the city centre. Fortunately my partner & I rent bicycles (Bice & Baci, defo a great company!) for the entire week, so that's something you can adapt to. However, I can imagine when you have a respectable age or young children, it's a real mission to go to all the hotspots. The friendly staff from the front desk were always willing to call a taxi or information of the city.

The room was small and the beds were extremely hard. AC is working very good, so a plus for that! I missed ambiance in the room. The bathroom is dying for some renovation! The shower head busted during my first shower and the shower curtain could also use some deep cleaning.

You can really tell this hotel is a real children-friendly hotel. Breakfast was packed and many families. Breakfast was ok, but very basic.

For me it was just a place to sleep when I was in Rome. No extraordinary service, special rooms or items. The free wifi compensates a lot!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lielalau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was great!! Other than it being far away from the city center, it was a nice hotel. The breakfast selection was awesome; saved a ton of time and money in the morning. The rooms were spotless and beds were super comfortable and clean. Free wifi was also a plus, even though you had to get a code from the Front Desk. Very helpful staff too. Overall, awesome hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdavis210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

a great hotel for the price. the most impressive thing is how clean it is. the rooms are spacious enough with balcony, it is not in the centre of town, but that makes it nice and quiet at night. it is only a few minutes from the subway/tramway and minutes to downtown. the buffet breakfast that comes with the room is excellent. i would recommend this hotel and stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maniwaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Level 6 Contributor
687 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 400 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is a hotel part of the Best Western chain in the hospital and university district of Rome. I had a Best Western Gold card which in theory gives you an upgrade to the next best room but I would be surprised if this actually happened.
The room was average for a capital city hotel. The bathroom/toilet room was very small indeed and the temperature of the shower water inconsistent. The room was clean with a large flat screen TV but all the channels are Italian. There is free WiFi but this is inconsistent in terms of accessibility and speed.
The room had a balcony but was overlooking an abandoned falling down building. If you have the window or door open it is very noisy, just like walking around in central Rome in a street where cars are allowed. At night the double curtains reduce the noise significantly and the road is less busy.
For a hotel in a European capital the cost was very reasonable indeed and this is what would bring me back even with the inconsistent shower temperature and WiFi access.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank md1mm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Flaminio
Best Western Hotel Astrid
Best Western Hotel Astrid
#246 of 1,263 in Rome
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Best Western Hotel President
San Lorenzo
Dock Suites Hotel
Dock Suites Hotel
#203 of 1,263 in Rome
262 reviews
Esquilino
Best Western Hotel Artdeco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Globus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Globus Hotel

Property: Best Western Globus Hotel
Address: Viale Ippocrate 119, 00161 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#171 Business Hotel in Rome
#196 Family Hotel in Rome
#284 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Globus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he BEST WESTERN Globus Hotel is in the immediate vicinity of the Policlinico Umberto Primo hospital and "La Sapienza" University of Rome.Well connected by underground and public transport to Rome Termini central railway station, and therefore with the city's airports and other areas, the hotel is close to the city centre. Many of the city's tourist attractions, including the Baths of Diocletian and Piazza della Repubblica are within walking distance of the BEST WESTERN Globus Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Globus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rome
Rome Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing