We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barberini Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$649
$374
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$249
$208
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$231
$203
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Grifo(Rome)(Great Value!)
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
$138
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Diocleziano(Rome)
$283
$234
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Italia(Rome)(Great Value!)
$117
$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$199
$178
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$321
$303
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (742)
Filter reviews
742 results
Traveler rating
300
291
88
36
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
300
291
88
36
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrevi fountainbreakfast roomspanish stepstop floorrooftop breakfasthot breakfastrecommend this hotelwalking distancesmall balconylovely hotelhotel roomthe hotel staffexcellent locationpastriesjunior suitetravel agentrome hotels
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
222 - 227 of 742 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2013

First impression when entering our hotel was that it was small but perfectly formed and the aircom worked superbly, you enter reception down some stairs, we were greeted very politely by the reception staff.
Our rooms were on different floors, which was a shame, but not a big issue.
Lovely room, on the small side but all rome hotel rooms are not that big!, very clean and decorated in period style, but very well done and with contempory modern bathroom, plenty of hot water and towels.
Good mirrors, wardrobe space and mini bar.
We hired the spa room for an hour and that was good fun and very relaxing after a day on the cobbles.
Service at the hotel was excellent, the stff were all friendly and helpful, especially the young man that worked nights, we wanted tea, so he got us a kettle then found us milk, etc etc...
I would recommend this hotel both for its service and location, which was great, very close to Barberini metro, trevi fountain and most places of interest in the old town were very close.
Breakfast was a very pleasent experience, right at the top of the hotel with rooftop views over the city.
A very well stocked breakfast buffet table, with cereals, fruit, cakes, eggs, rolls, cheeses cold meats and some hot bacon, sausage and eggs. Fresh rolls and yummy cake and pastries.. You certainly left breakfast totally full and satisfied and ready to start the day.

2  Thank Devonbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Barberini with my husband in late July 2013, and we were very satisfied with the hotel.

We have travelled around Italy for a few times, and our stay at Hotel Barberini was one of the most pleasant ones. Our hotel room with twin beds was maybe slightly smaller than the average hotel rooms in Northern Europe, the bathroom was average size. Our room was facing Via Rasella, but due to high temperature (over +30C) the wood blinds outside the window were kept closed. The air conditioning worked perfectly.

The breakfast was served at the roof terrace, with stunning view! The breakfast included the normal Italian items (croissants, cappuccino/tea) but also yoghurt, cereals, cheeses, pastry, eggs, omelett, sausages. It is also possible to order dinner from a limited menu to be served at the terrace.

We also tested the hotel spa (approx. 18 euros incl. taxes), it was very refreshing to hop in a cool jacuzzi water after a warm day and a few kilometres walk. (Hotel staff kindly warned about the water temperature.) The sauna was small, and temperature relatively low, but hey ... we are from Finland, and do not expect that other customers could bear as high temperatures.

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. There is a internet corner and a printer next to the reception, very valuable for us, because we checked in for our flight the night before to avoid queueing at the Fiumicino airport.

The only slightly negative thing was the noise insulation of hotel room, we did hear one night when Russian guests returned...

The hotel is located 5 mins walk from the Barberini metropolitan station, opposite to the Palazzo Barberini (art gallery), on the corner of Via delle Quattro Fontane. Reasonably priced groceries store SPAR is 5 mins walk away; just down the road Via Rasella and cross the street. Self-service laundry is located the next street at Via degli Avignonesi. It may be difficult to find a reasonable price-quality ratio nearby, but we enjoyed having a lunch at White Cafe Restaurant at Via del Tritone, 210.

I would NOT recommend the hotel for persons with reduced mobility partly due to the location, partly because there are a few stairs from the front door to the elevator and from the 6th floor elevator to the breakfast room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mariia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Barberini, Sales Dpt at Barberini Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and we are glad to learn that you appreciated our amenities and facilities.

We are looking for your next stay in our property, so you will be able to test our new services , such us our “chef on call” and booking service for “Unconventional Rome’s Highlights”.
Kind Regards

Emanuele Ricci
Sales Dpt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We just returned from a 10 day trip to Italy and stayed at the Barberini for our Rome portion. The hotel is located within walking distance of all the sights! 5 minutes from Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps. About 30 minutes walking from Colosseum. We even walked back from the Vatican. Getting lost in the tiny streets of Rome as we made our way back from the Vatican was one of our favorite parts of our trip! Our room was small but immaculate and well furnished, with fabric on the walls. The hotel is on a corner, with a beautiful museum right across the street. Breakfast, which is included, was plentiful, and the coffee was delicious. The view from the rooftop terrace breakfast room was stunning. My only minor criticism was that the front desk staff were not friendly, nor helpful. Just quiet. Otherwise, perfect stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juliejyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Barberini, Sales Dpt at Barberini Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Guest,
We thank you for your review and we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We are going to pay attention to the issue about reception desk staff, because we have always considered the customers-care our flagship, it means that our guests have to feel at home.

Kind Regards
Emanuele Ricci
Sales Dpt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The hotel is centrally situated close to all the touristy sites. Staff were very helpful and welcoming.The rooms( we had 3 rooms) were small but nicely done with good bathrooms which some had a bath and some only a shower.Breakfast was good with a great view pity we could not have dinner there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 164rivonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Barberini, Sales Dpt at Barberini Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Guests,

We thank you for your review and we are pleased to know that our property and our staff had part in the good outcome of your stay Rome.

We understand that you have missed the chance to have dinner on our roof-top, so this will be enough to come back to our hotel in your next trip to Italy and enjoy a very special dinner with tasty specialties in a breathtaking atmosphere.

Kind Regards
Emanuele Ricci
Sales Dpt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Everything was well kept, clean, and fresh. Breakfast staff was welcoming, food was good but the eggs and bacon were almost raw every morning. Centrally located, I walked to the colleseum and Trevi fountin from here which was nice. I wasn't happy that they advertised a restaurant but its not available daily. My hubby and I were waiting and waiting at the dinner room. We got tired of waiting called the front desk to find out you are suppose to order the food in the morning :/ could't even get a coffee. Next, I called to ask for an iron, the guy says they don't have any but housekeeping offers a service for 8 dollars and they started at 8am. So I couldnt wear what I wanted. Also, they have a laptop in the lobby and when we went to use it at 10pm the guy says a guest had it in their room :/ they should not allow that. There was one guy at the front desk who wasnt really helpful, my hubby and I were trying to book a tour and we asked.him for options and he could not help at all. We ended up booking something online and when we went to get the voucher at the printer there where a BUNCH of brochures, maps, and flyers for tours. He could have just pointed them out or something, but he didn't.
Staff needs to be trained and services provided need to be communicated.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gomonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Barberini, Sales Dpt at Barberini Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Guest,
We thank you for your review and to have chosen our hotel for your stay in Rome.

Even if we are a small hotel, our breakfast room staff works very hard day by day to meet all the guests’ needs, so if something on the buffet doesn’t match guest’s taste, they are at your disposal for any special request.

We have been testing a service of “chef on call” for few months, but only on Thursday, Friday and Saturday.
This unconventional choice has been taken to give the opportunity to our guests to taste daily fresh Italian specialties: we cook only what you wish to eat. No waste of food is allowed!

Concerning your request of iron in the room, our receptionist has acted according to our security policy: Many times in the past we had power system overcharges or bed linen burnt with fire alarm release.

We bear in mind all your suggestions concerning our lack of customer satisfaction.
Please don’t hesitate to come back to our hotel, so you will realize in person how we are going to improve our services.

Kind Regards
Emanuele Ricci
Sales Dpt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews