We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another perfect stay (our 4th trip )”
Review of Barberini Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barberini Hotel
Ranked #357 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

My group of 17 had an amazing 3 day stay at this hotel. The rooms were clean & comfortable. Breakfast on the 6th floor over looking Rome was breathtaking & delicious. All the service provided by the hotel was very attentive & professional
Mallamaci Tours can't wait to come back in 2013 !
Grazie Barberini Albergo !

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MallamaciTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barberiniRome, Sales Dpt at Barberini Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Mallamaci Tours,
We thank you for your earlier review and we are proud to have you and your clients as our guests. We are also proud to learn that all our efforts gave to you and to your group a special stay in Rome.
We look forward for your next trip in 2013.
All the best
Emanuele Ricci
Sales Dpt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (704)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

245 - 251 of 704 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2012

More of a 3.5 review due to room and bed size but I am being generous as it was peak tourist season. As I got a 'deal' we probably had the worst room in a rather nice hotel.
The room itself was one the smallest bar one we have stayed in in Europe. The cliched jokes about the room being not much bigger than the bed were true. To get around my side of the bed i had to turn sideways to get around the luggage rack. There was a chair but to pull it out from the small desk would have meant blocking the path to the bathroom.
The bed itself was a small double and while it did say double on the booking form, it has been a while since we got something so small. No bigger bed would have fit in the room though.

You get the idea.

That said, positives:
Good air conditioning
Decent if small range of breakfast. Staff willing to make more of things on request.
Nice view from breakfast room.
Friendly helpful staff at desk
Good location- we walked the 10 mins from Termini due to long taxi queue
Free wifi in room for multiple devices
4 star decor

Minor negatives
There was some muted noise from the corridor as the bed was so close to the door!
A spa type area is advertised in the lift but no further info is readily provided and it looked closed both times I went by (I wasn't interested though, to be fair)
No place for a nightcap but many places nearby.

Would I stay again? As I said, undecided! Would upgrade my room though!

Good hotel nearby: it had a sign out the front called Pretty Pasta and is a wine bar/restaurant with great food. Modern, so no checked tablecloths. I can't find it to review but the address on the receipt is via Vicenzo Tomassini 30.
120 euros for 2 delicious courses and great wine. Excellent service.

Room Tip: A 'deal' may mean a tiny room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spring_Chick_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barberiniRome, Sales Assistant at Barberini Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Dear Guest,
We thank you for your review and for all your advices.
We are perfectly aware of room size, but having our property its premises in a building of 19th century, we are bound under historical and artistic restrictive clauses, so it’s no so easy to restore or built new spaces. In any case, we are not afraid of “our feature” because somehow we are known as a boutique hotel and, sometimes, our guests look for a more intimate atmosphere, far from the big hotel standards.
We really hope that you will be so kind to grant to us another chance and we are sure that our small hotel will be able to give to you a special stay in Rome. In Rome we usually say, “ In tiny wine casks, you’ll find the best wine”.
We work very hard day by day to give to our guests the best service available and to provide to them all the information they need to enjoy the city and the hotel. We understand that you could not find info about our Spa and you tried to have a look of the area with no success.
The admission to the Spa is only for residents and for security reason we set the room key to get into the Spa upon guests request. In the room, on the desk inside a folder, the guest will find all the information about the hotel amenities, included beauty treatments and massages: for any further assistance the reception staff stay at your disposal.
Our management pays a particular attention to the breakfast selection and, thanks to the suggestions of our guests; we increase and change the range of food and drinks. Our breakfast room staffs are trained to be as closer as possible to the guest and we really think that, even if we arrange an American buffet breakfast, provide things on request could be our special “detail”.
We wish only to remind you that we are looking to have you as one of our guests once again.
Kind regards
Emanuele Ricci
Sales Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and had a twin room. The actual sleeping area wasn't large but the bathroom was a good size and we enjoyed the bath robes. Breakfast was reasonable and the view from the terrace was gorgeous. We enjoyed the hotel's location - the only downside being that the hill you had to go up to get to it seemed much steeper after a busy day of sightseeing. The wifi was unpredictable. Our room was on the first floor overlooking via Rasella but noise wasn't an issue. The staff were generally helpful but a bit " distant".

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barberiniRome, Sales Ast at Barberini Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thanking your for your review, we regret to answer you so late.
Rome is called the City of 7 hills and due to one of this, Quirinale; we have the chance to enjoy one of the most beautiful view all around the wall, straight to St. Peter’s Basilica, but on the other site, the 7 hills give you the opportunity to work out.
Concerning your remark about our staff, we hired new receptionist and we are working to turn them into “ part of guest’s experience” and it will take time to do that in the correct way.
The Hotel Barberini is looking for you for you next trip to Rome, so we can prove to you that we are more than a good location.
Kind Regards
Emanuele Ricci
Sales Dpt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Hotel Barberini is a 4 star hotel not far fro the Trevi Fountain and Via Veneto.
Beautifully presented and very helpful staff. The rooms are small, very stylish and well presented. The dining/breakfast room, on the top floor has a beautiful view over Rome and you can spend some down time overlooking the Eternal City.
The hotel provides a perfect base, with most of the sights in walking distance.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molly0902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barberiniRome, Sales Dpt at Barberini Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Guest,
We thank you for your kind review and we are glad to know that our hotel met you needs in terms of distance from the main highlights of Rome and taste.
We are looking to have you as one of our guests once again, so you will be able to discover all our facilities provided to our guests, thus you will be able to look to the hotel a different way.
Kind regards
Emanuele Ricci
Sales Dpt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We loved hotel barberini! Luca and Marco were excellent hosts for our family and gave us perfect dinner recommendations (restaurant barberini and triton) the rooms were nice not fancy but clean and cool. Great value and excellent location walking to Trevi and spanish steps. Gratzie!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angelhalik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barberiniRome, Sales Ast at Barberini Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Guest,
We hope that Marco and Luca didn’t see your remark, so they are not able to ask any extra on their pay!!! It’s just a joke, but you mentioned in your review the most important skill that the staff of Hotel Barberini must have, it means be part of an unforgettable souvenir of Rome.
We thank you for being our guest and we are looking to see you soon.
Kind Regards
Emanuele Ricci
Sales Dpt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We do not recommend this hotel if you can find another one in Rome. With the room rate of $300, we have no doubts you can easily find a better 4-star hotel in Room. The hotel is in a good location, not far from the Metro and some attractions (so we gave it 3-star), but the entire environment was cold and lack of hospitality. Our complaints are: (1) Service. There was basically no one sitting at the front desk to offer service. The staff lacked experience. (2) Breakfast. Comparing with other 3- or 4-star hotels in Italy, the breakfast was very basic and the food started running out soon; you take the leftovers if you do not go early enough. The people who serve the breakfast watched you, gave you an uncomfortable and unwelcomed feeling. (3) The "free" afternoon tea was a scam; they actually wanted you to buy drinks. The server wasn't polite when demanding for purchasing of drinks and made people to leave. Therefore, a few people ever attend the afternoon tea. (4) The hotel provided a map produced by a movie company. But don't trust the attraction of 3-D movies that were featured on the map; it was a total waste of money and a very uncomfortable experience if you go. (5) A side note other than the hotel: Watch out thieves in the nearby subway. They seemed to be an organized gang group. One afternoon when we were boarding on the train, all of a sudden a small group of young people came from nowhere and pushed us into the door. As soon as we got in, I found my purse, which I tightly held, was open and stuff stolen. My husband also found they took cash from his pocket. All were done very quickly and “skillfully”. Please be careful if a group of people all of a sudden approach you.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Goldage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Dear Customer,
we are sorry to learn of your unfortunate experience in Rome. Rome is a very big city and like all the cities in the world can have dark sides. Yet the whole historical center of the city is very safe for control of policemen and cameras. It can happen even in the best city that thieves are hidden in crowded places and we are sorry if we as Hotel Barberini can not avoid these sad episodes that happen to you.
Concerning our services and facilities, we apologize for not being able to answer all your needs. Our staff strives daily to offer the best in quality, hospitality and services.
Our building is very old (but well rennovated) as well as old is the Trevi district which is one of the oldest in Rome but the result is an intimate atmosphere. Certainly our hotel does not resemble the large hotel chains.
The appointment of "afternoon tea" called "Snack On" his an appointment with rules fully briefed to customers : from 4 pm to 6 pm one can eat buffet for free, those clients who want to drink, make their order to server without any obligation ! If one want to eat only, we are all safe.
Our front desk is made up of youth who work in hotels downtown since more than ten years, their experience makes our concierge service competent and complete. The maps of the City you found at the front desk are provided by the City of Rome. The hotel is not liable for the advertising of these maps. If you'd asked us a review on the 3D movie in Via S.S. Apostoli, surely we would have responded that it is suitable for an audience of children.
Hoping that you want to give our beautiful city and our hotel a second chance in the future,
we wish you a great summer. Mauro Laconi - Front Office manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

A charming hotel. Great location, very clean and modern rooms and just across the street from the Barberini Palace, a must see! Trevi fountain close by, a few blocks from the Spanish Steps and the Via Venito area, Metro close by as well and many good restaurants to choose from. Included is a Good breakfast served on the 6th floor with a beautiful View of Rome. Our only complaint was that it is very noisy even on the 5th floor and we were facing Via Rasella. It only really bothered us in the evening. Weather was warm and no AC was on and we tried to sleep with the window open to get some air but could not because the constant traffic that seems to flow through the wee hours along with the roar of scooters/motor cycles! We will take earplugs next time we go!

Room Tip: Room on 5th floor had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Dear Customer,
thank you for your positive review! Besides the noisy night, it seems to us you've enjoyed staying at our hotel. Yes, sometimes Trevi's area can be very noisy.. Scooters are everywhere also because it is not possible to drive private car into the Center. Fortunatelly windows are soundproof. Some days there are even more noise than other days because Romans were celebrating the European Soccer Champs... Italy won over all the european teams and got second place behind Spain...Great party around the City all night long..Are you sure those nights were not one of this special nights? AC not working...weirdo...in fact an allarm sounds in the case of malfunction..AC works only with windows is closed.
We look forward to welcoming you in the near future, we look forward to celebrate your return with a bottle of spumante ! Best regards Mauro Laconi - Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Comfort Hotel Bolivar
Comfort Hotel Bolivar
#248 of 1,270 in Rome
810 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Stendhal
Hotel Stendhal
#99 of 1,270 in Rome
961 reviews
Trevi
White Hotel
White Hotel
#144 of 1,270 in Rome
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Relais Trevi 95 Boutique Hotel
Trevi
Hotel Memphis
Hotel Memphis
#428 of 1,270 in Rome
480 reviews
Trevi
Roma Resort Barberini
Roma Resort Barberini
#450 of 1,270 in Rome
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barberini Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barberini Hotel

Address: Via Rasella 3, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#181 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#194 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $99 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barberini Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barberini Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barberini Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing