We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location excellent service”
Review of Barberini Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Barberini Hotel
Ranked #340 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We loved hotel barberini! Luca and Marco were excellent hosts for our family and gave us perfect dinner recommendations (restaurant barberini and triton) the rooms were nice not fancy but clean and cool. Great value and excellent location walking to Trevi and spanish steps. Gratzie!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angelhalik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barberiniRome, Sales Ast at Barberini Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Guest,
We hope that Marco and Luca didn’t see your remark, so they are not able to ask any extra on their pay!!! It’s just a joke, but you mentioned in your review the most important skill that the staff of Hotel Barberini must have, it means be part of an unforgettable souvenir of Rome.
We thank you for being our guest and we are looking to see you soon.
Kind Regards
Emanuele Ricci
Sales Dpt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (680)
There are newer reviews for Barberini Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 680 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

We do not recommend this hotel if you can find another one in Rome. With the room rate of $300, we have no doubts you can easily find a better 4-star hotel in Room. The hotel is in a good location, not far from the Metro and some attractions (so we gave it 3-star), but the entire environment was cold and lack of hospitality. Our complaints are: (1) Service. There was basically no one sitting at the front desk to offer service. The staff lacked experience. (2) Breakfast. Comparing with other 3- or 4-star hotels in Italy, the breakfast was very basic and the food started running out soon; you take the leftovers if you do not go early enough. The people who serve the breakfast watched you, gave you an uncomfortable and unwelcomed feeling. (3) The "free" afternoon tea was a scam; they actually wanted you to buy drinks. The server wasn't polite when demanding for purchasing of drinks and made people to leave. Therefore, a few people ever attend the afternoon tea. (4) The hotel provided a map produced by a movie company. But don't trust the attraction of 3-D movies that were featured on the map; it was a total waste of money and a very uncomfortable experience if you go. (5) A side note other than the hotel: Watch out thieves in the nearby subway. They seemed to be an organized gang group. One afternoon when we were boarding on the train, all of a sudden a small group of young people came from nowhere and pushed us into the door. As soon as we got in, I found my purse, which I tightly held, was open and stuff stolen. My husband also found they took cash from his pocket. All were done very quickly and “skillfully”. Please be careful if a group of people all of a sudden approach you.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Goldage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Dear Customer,
we are sorry to learn of your unfortunate experience in Rome. Rome is a very big city and like all the cities in the world can have dark sides. Yet the whole historical center of the city is very safe for control of policemen and cameras. It can happen even in the best city that thieves are hidden in crowded places and we are sorry if we as Hotel Barberini can not avoid these sad episodes that happen to you.
Concerning our services and facilities, we apologize for not being able to answer all your needs. Our staff strives daily to offer the best in quality, hospitality and services.
Our building is very old (but well rennovated) as well as old is the Trevi district which is one of the oldest in Rome but the result is an intimate atmosphere. Certainly our hotel does not resemble the large hotel chains.
The appointment of "afternoon tea" called "Snack On" his an appointment with rules fully briefed to customers : from 4 pm to 6 pm one can eat buffet for free, those clients who want to drink, make their order to server without any obligation ! If one want to eat only, we are all safe.
Our front desk is made up of youth who work in hotels downtown since more than ten years, their experience makes our concierge service competent and complete. The maps of the City you found at the front desk are provided by the City of Rome. The hotel is not liable for the advertising of these maps. If you'd asked us a review on the 3D movie in Via S.S. Apostoli, surely we would have responded that it is suitable for an audience of children.
Hoping that you want to give our beautiful city and our hotel a second chance in the future,
we wish you a great summer. Mauro Laconi - Front Office manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

A charming hotel. Great location, very clean and modern rooms and just across the street from the Barberini Palace, a must see! Trevi fountain close by, a few blocks from the Spanish Steps and the Via Venito area, Metro close by as well and many good restaurants to choose from. Included is a Good breakfast served on the 6th floor with a beautiful View of Rome. Our only complaint was that it is very noisy even on the 5th floor and we were facing Via Rasella. It only really bothered us in the evening. Weather was warm and no AC was on and we tried to sleep with the window open to get some air but could not because the constant traffic that seems to flow through the wee hours along with the roar of scooters/motor cycles! We will take earplugs next time we go!

Room Tip: Room on 5th floor had a great view.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Dear Customer,
thank you for your positive review! Besides the noisy night, it seems to us you've enjoyed staying at our hotel. Yes, sometimes Trevi's area can be very noisy.. Scooters are everywhere also because it is not possible to drive private car into the Center. Fortunatelly windows are soundproof. Some days there are even more noise than other days because Romans were celebrating the European Soccer Champs... Italy won over all the european teams and got second place behind Spain...Great party around the City all night long..Are you sure those nights were not one of this special nights? AC not working...weirdo...in fact an allarm sounds in the case of malfunction..AC works only with windows is closed.
We look forward to welcoming you in the near future, we look forward to celebrate your return with a bottle of spumante ! Best regards Mauro Laconi - Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Hotel Barberini was exactly what we were looking for in Rome. We knew the rooms in Europe wouldn't be as big as we were used to, but we still wanted something comfortable and in a prime location. That's exactly what Hotel Barberini offered. The room was small, but plenty of room for two adults. The bathroom was larger than I expected and included a nice, stand up shower. The hotel offered free wi-fi and free breakfast. The breakfast room is on the 6th floor and has fabulous views of the city. The best part, though, is that we walked to almost every major attraction (other than the Vatican). Also, the Hotel is right around the corner from Barberini Square, which has a taxicab stand, plenty of shops/restaurants, and a pharmacy. I couldn't have been happier with this choice.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Leslie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you for your good review, I am happy to know that you have enjoyed our hospitality. You know, yesterday we opened a small (in proportion to the sizeof the hotel hi hi) business center: iPad and notebook available to customers with wifi printer machine! So customers can print the boarding pass or voucher for vatican tour, even connecting from personal smartphone .. and all free!
Hope to hearing from you soon and good summer!
Mauro Laconi -Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Stayed at this hotel in the fall of 2011. Had the misfortune of having a travel agent book my hotel room through email correspondence. The hotel provided a rate by email but when we checked in the rate was double that quoted. Hotel staff had taken the liberty of using the booking reservation system to enter the "higher" rate and use that as proof of the rate they charged. Of course when confronted they alluded to computer problems, the travel agent misunderstanding the rate, etc.

When looking at the dates and times of the emails and booking information after the fact, you could see how they conconcted their scam. Since we were in a rush to catch a train, we paid the fraudulent amount and would resolve through the credit card company. Eventually the credit card reimbursed but due to some banking rules between Italy and Canada could NOT retreive the money from the hotel. So the hotel managed to keep their scammed profit.

This was unfortunate as we spent 5 weeks in Italy and Greece and this was only the dishonest hotel we encountered. Everywhere else we stayed it was a pleasure.

Bottom line I would not believe ANYTHING this hotel tells you.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Glen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

My wife and I recently spent five nights at the Barberini. This place is charming, having the look and feel of old Rome. The location is excellent - a short walk to the Spanish Steps, the Trevi Fountain, the Villa Borghese via the Via Veneto. And nearby Via Condotti and the upscale shopping.

Our room was spacious (for Roman standards, at least), clean, with a very comfortable king bed. The bathroom was well appointed and had a very powerful shower. Much needed before dinner after a long day in Rome.

The breakfast room on the top floor affords a wonderful view of the city. The food was very good ---- a combination European/American style with meats, breads, cereals, pastries and, of course, scrambled eggs, bacon and sausages --- OK they were weiners, but who cares? Breakfast was included in the room rate.

Ask for a room on the Via Rasella with a view of the Barberini Palace and its grounds. (We had room # 406. # 405 next door is larger but most likely costs more.)

We didn't get a chance to interact much with the staff. But, when we did, they were helpful.

I would recommend this hotel to friends, family and business associates. Look forward to returning to Rome. Will stay at the Barberini again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fmbosnowatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barberiniRome, Responsabile reception at Barberini Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

Dear Customers,
grazie mille ! We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we trust you want to repeat your experience again at our hotel perhaps in the same double room 406 or junior suite 405 or even higher floor..
Greetings from the staff of the hotel !
Mauro Laconi, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

This was a horrible place to stay - one tiny window that didn't really open out - I felt sick. It was dated and really needs updating. The reception desk were unhelpful when we checked in and really off hand like we were doing them a favour staying there. Only plus was you could walk to the main locations from here but I barely slept all night in the room.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sharmalita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Hotel Stendhal
Hotel Stendhal
#123 of 1,267 in Rome
912 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Memphis
Hotel Memphis
#401 of 1,267 in Rome
468 reviews
Trevi
Hotel delle Nazioni
Hotel delle Nazioni
#252 of 1,267 in Rome
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Relais Trevi 95 Boutique Hotel
Trevi
Sina Bernini Bristol
Sina Bernini Bristol
#310 of 1,267 in Rome
902 reviews
Trevi
Roma Resort Barberini
Roma Resort Barberini
#417 of 1,267 in Rome
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barberini Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barberini Hotel

Address: Via Rasella 3, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#181 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#186 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#305 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $136 - $529 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barberini Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barberini Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barberini Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing