We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret in Rome”
Review of Hotel Nazionale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Nazionale
Ranked #44 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best kept secret in Rome”
Reviewed July 10, 2004

After two weeks tour around Italy with my senior mother, we made our final stop at Hotel Nazionale and were pleasantly surprised by how convinence, quiet and safe the location is. (Indeed, it is the center of rome and there is 24 hours police security) Room is big, clean with great view. One great ice cream shop and several good restaurants are just around the corner. Every staff of the hotel was extremely friendly and helpful which really make it a home away from home for us. An italian hollywood movie star was one floor above us (Penthouse of couse). Highly recommand and think you might like us find it better than those extremely expensive hotels near the spanish steps. At lease, we did.

Helpful?
6 Thank bird888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    975
    468
    63
    17
    13
See reviews for
349
801
40
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2004

If you are looking for 1 star quality at 4 star pricing the Hotel Nazionale is for you. I booked this hotel for a five night stay in June 2004 based on the recommendation of a trusted travel guide and the reviews listed here. I suppose the decor is being sold as ramshacked charm, but basically all it is rundown and dirty. The mattresses, curtains, carpeting and bathrooms appear as though they haven't been replaced since the early 1970s and in some instances probably haven't been cleaned since then either. The shower curtain and tiles were moldy and human hairs (other than my own) were visible in various corners of the room. I booked this hotel on a 'stay three pay for two night special' but checked-out after the second night thereby giving up a free night stay in Rome. I just could not handle anymore bed bug bites. I found a wonderful hotel around the corner next to the Pantheon that provided the cleanliness and service you expect when paying 4 star rates. Aside from my brief stay at the Hotel Nazionale, I found Rome to be a beautiful, friendly and obviously an historically fascinating city. I am looking forward to returning to Rome soon.

Helpful?
6 Thank TRVLR06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex UK
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2004

The Hotel Nazionale provides a tranquil retreat in this busy, noisy city. It is situated in a traffic free zone, adjacent to the Parliament with a permanent police presence and hence no trouble, and very central for walking to all the major attractions. The Pantheon is just around the corner, and there are literally dozens of restaurants within a few minutes walk - the staff were able to recommend some good ones, and make reservations. We stayed in May 2004, in a deluxe room overlooking the main piazza and parliament buildings. The room and bathroom were both large, traditionally furnished, comfortable and with double glazing and air conditioning. (There is no traffic noise, but the square can still be a bit noisy at night, so this was useful). Rooms do vary in size, some are huge, but there are smaller ones on the back. Breakfast is a cold buffet, with cereals, fruit, yoghurts, breads & cheeses etc. We got a great rate by booking direct over the hotel's web site - a third night free when booking two, and cheaper than any agent's price. We enjoyed our stay here, and would certainly use the hotel again.

Helpful?
2 Thank Sunman239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2004

We stayed here in May 2004 and we would stay there again. Our room overlooked the piazza and was quite spacious as was the bathroom...especially considering we were in Europe! The breakfast was adequate and all the staff we came in contact with were very courteous. The location is truly outstanding. We walked everywhere. The quiet and the security of the piazza should be counted as a big plus.

Helpful?
2 Thank TexasSooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 7, 2004

We stayed at this dump, I mean hotel, in July 2003 and absolutely hated it. It's location is mediocre. The rooms are just awful -- wallpaper peeling, outdated decor, etc. The staff were not the least bit helpful and the cleaning staff were VERY loud from the moment they started cleaning at 7:30 am! We had just stayed at the Bauer in Venice so our arrival at this hotel was a shock. We were so disappointed with our room we almost checked out to find a better place to stay...

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2004

We stayed here for the first 4 nights of our honeymoon in Sept. 2001. Awesome location. Centrally located to everything. You can walk everywhere, even the Vatican (this is the secret to not gaining weight while in Italy eating all that gelato and other great food). The Pantheon is right around the corner (it was my favorite place in all of Rome--it's absolutely magical at night). Even though it is in a central location, the hotel is very QUIET in this bustling city. It is located off of the road right next to a piazza where the Parliament is. So, there is no car traffic that goes by the hotel. There are a lot of police around Parliament, so it keeps the noise down from any rowdy people walking by. Our room was large and so was the bathroom (in comparison to some other hotels we stayed at in Italy). We would definitely return to this hotel.

Helpful?
5 Thank lawahoo2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 31, 2004

We stayed at this hotel for six nights at the beginning of March 2004.
The hotel is great, large rooms, large bathroom, very clean, and the staff were helpful and friendly. Hotet is in great location; within walking distance of all tourist attractions, and has great resturants nearby. I highly recommend this hotel.

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#52 of 1,263 in Rome
981 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#29 of 1,263 in Rome
775 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Argentina
Residenza Argentina
#24 of 1,263 in Rome
723 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Mancino 12
Hotel Mancino 12
#45 of 1,263 in Rome
439 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#6 of 1,263 in Rome
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nazionale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nazionale

Property: Hotel Nazionale
Address: Piazza Montecitorio 131, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#31 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#34 Family Hotel in Rome
#69 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nazionale 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nazionale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nazionale a Montecitorio Rome
Hotel Nazionale a Montecitorio
Rome Hotel Nazionale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing