We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Gracious Hotel”
Review of Hotel Nazionale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Nazionale
Ranked #43 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We had one quick overnight stay over in Rome on the 31 May 2014 and were so delighted to land up at this beautiful hotel. Since it is located within a pedestrianized area our stay was very relaxing and felt quite exclusive. The hotel is beautifully appointed from the reception area, lounge, bar and dining room to our room on the 5th floor. Our room and bathroom was very comfortable and we were delighted with the view from our room which overlooked the dome of the Pantheon! We spent the evening walking though all the beautiful streets to the Trevi Fountain and Pantheon and had a lovely dinner at one of the numerous restaurants nearby. The breakfast was delicious with a wide choice to choose from. We especially appreciated the freshly pressed apple, carrot and orange juice and excellent coffee. Before we caught our taxi to the station we were able to spend some more time walking through this magical area before the crowds of day visitors arrived. We would highly recommend this gracious hotel with excellent service for a really magical stay in Rome.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reneeroyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,586)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

797 - 803 of 1,586 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2014

Great location within walking distance of all main tourist attractions. We had a pleasant room on the 5th floor - modern, clean with good air conditioning. Clean towels every day and friendly English speaking reception staff. Breakfast buffet was great - plentiful with good variety. Would definitely stay again. Can't improve on location! Would recommend to others.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view then request one. We weren't fussed as we planned to be out most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdinburghGinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

This is a great hotel with wonderful service, a fantastic buffet breakfast and attentive staff. It is very centrally located near Piazza Navone. Easy walks to all the major sights. What more can I say? You won't go wrong or be disappointed with this hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank cindywill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We recently stayed 4 nights in The Nazionale. On booking we upgraded to a delux room, on arrival we were given a Junior Suite, which was extremely comfortable and clean. The staff could not be more friendly and helpful. The hotel is situated centrally to all the main attractions on a pedestrian Piazza, the only traffic being the odd taxi and police cars.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bernadette e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel between 16-19th of May. Very good location and walking distance to almost every sight seeing spot. Very good restaurants around the neighbourhood. The rooms are clean and we have been upgraded to a very nice delux room with a beatiful view. The shower in the room was problematic but upon our request they tried to fix it as much as they can. The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. Breaksfast is delicious and open buffet. The only problem was the wifi connection. It did not work properly in the rooms. We bought the premium version but that was not functioning as well so they did not charge us.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BuRcHiN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We celebrated part of our Golden wedding trip in Rome. The Nazionale Hotel was well placed for all the major sites. The staff were very helpful and a good bottle of Asti helped us celebrate our Holiday . The room was well appointed and the Hotel had good old world charm. The best thing was it was set in a Piazza without traffic .

247 walker

Room Tip: The rooms are all quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 347walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

My husband and I travel extensively and tend to stay at 4-star hotels. This, in our opinion, did not rise to the quality of a 4-star hotel. We toured Italy for two weeks and chose to stay at Hotel Nazionale our last night before flying back to the U.S. We arrived at the hotel about 1 p.m. and were pleased that the room was ready. We were taken to room 111, which was on the first floor right across from an elevator. We were in the room about 20 minutes -- listening to the elevator open and close, people coming in and out, etc. when we decided that it was not acceptable to us. We wanted a relaxing experience before our long trip the next day. Plus, the room was extremely small and the bathroom was not clean. There was a bottle of hotel-provided "intimate cleanser" laying on the bathroom sink that was 3/4 used. We walked down to the front desk and spoke with Valencia, who was extremely courteous and professional. She told us that the hotel was 100 percent booked, but she eventually found us something on the same floor, farther from the elevator (103). Because the room had two beds instead of the one we had requested, she told us it was possible to push the beds together, which was appreciated. The second room was definitely larger, but the cleanliness issues continued. The inside of the bathroom door was filthy, there were marks on the walls, and the bathroom sink did not drain. Additonally, the trim on the lampshade next to the bed was falling off and the plastic card on the side table (that provided the phone information) was sticky when I picked it up. The whole room was just slightly unkempt. Obviously, this was not what we expected and we were very disappointed.Also, although robes and slippers were provided, there was no hair conditioner in the room nor any tissue (Kleenex). I found that very strange since these items would hardly be considered out of the ordinary. Since we were only staying one night, I did not make a special request (so perhaps both are available, but strange that these items were not automatically provided). I went down the front desk and showed the gentleman the pictures I had taken on my cell phone (I decided not to post those photos). He expressed his concern and asked that I fill out the commentary form, which I did. Important note: Although there were some signifcant negatives, it's only fair to also point out the positives. The hotel staff was excellent. Friendly and helpful in all ways. The hotel also provides a private car service to the airport for only a slightly higher fee than an uncomfortable cab, so that was a huge bonus. And today, I received a very nice email from the hotel's director, who had read the comment form. He apologized for an inconvenence we experienced. It's clear that he -- and most likely the entire staff -- care deeply about the comfort and quality of the hotel. I have a feeling that perhaps, based on the overwhelming number of positive comments, ours was an isolated incident.

Room Tip: Request a room not on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jhcharmcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#44 of 1,271 in Rome
1,023 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Argentina
Residenza Argentina
#27 of 1,271 in Rome
754 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Relais Trevi 95 Boutique Hotel
Colonna
9 Hotel Cesari
9 Hotel Cesari
#109 of 1,271 in Rome
1,592 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#31 of 1,271 in Rome
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nazionale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nazionale

Address: Piazza Montecitorio 131, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#31 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#34 Family Hotel in Rome
#69 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $138 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nazionale 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Splitty, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nazionale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nazionale a Montecitorio Rome
Hotel Nazionale a Montecitorio
Rome Hotel Nazionale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing