We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location ever and great accommodation to boot!”
Review of Hotel Nazionale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Nazionale
Ranked #44 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We spent three nights at the Nazionale in an Executive Room and enjoyed it very much. The staff were very welcoming and professional and always ready to answer questions and help with directions. The room was spacious and well decorated with a very comfortable bed and lovely marble bathroom. The room was equipped with a desk, separate sitting area, frig, and great blackout drapes. The pedestrian piazza location made it very quiet at night insuring a good night's rest. The cozy little bar on the ground level is very charming as well and the breakfast was very enjoyable with lovely service. The staff can also call a taxi in 3-4 min. time and arrange car service to and from the airport if needed. On previous trips to Rome, we have made the Regina Baglioni (another wonderful hotel) our home, but have to say that we enjoyed our stay at the Nazionale just as much at a more reasonable cost. And just like everyone says, the location is unquestionably one of the best in Rome. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. If you can, splurge to one of the Executive Rooms---you won't be sorry. Can't wait to return. Feel free to email me with any questions.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skygoddess46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,588)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

882 - 888 of 1,588 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

This hotel is so awesome, albeit a little pricey! But as so often in life, you get what you pay for & later realize THE BEST is worth a few extra $$. We could literally step out into the Italian Parliamentary Square, walk less than 5 minutes to Pantheon, Piazza Navona, Trevi Foutnain, Spanish Steps and Barberini Metro station. Via del Corso is right there for easy navigation anywhere, jump on buses, etc. The rooms were very nice, comfortable, well equipped, with very comfy bed & I'm a picky sleeper, quiet too! I loved the historical ambiance of the whole thing!!

Room Tip: Some rooms had in room coffee which is normally a BIG deal for us.. Our room here did not but it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mohave b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Our group of 5 Australian couples stayed at the hotel prior to our Greek Island cruise - in our case 7 days. Its location next to the Italian Parliament was excellent and within walking distance of all the main attractions and a plethora of good quality restaurants. It was like living in an old palace (which it was at one stage) with a quality décor to match. We had a large room with high ceilngs which gave it a great spatial feeling along with a huge bed that you can get lost in! The breakfast was good with cereals, fruit and pastries and you can cook your own boiled eggs - other cooked elements can be ordered at a cost. The staff were very friendly and professional with good command of English. Highly recommended ......

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Nazionale many years ago and have recommended it to friends over the years. We returned in April, 2013, and I still highly recommend this hotel. The rooms are large compared to a lot of European hotels and we had a very nice bathroom. We had a kingsize bed which was most comfortable and the room was decorated very nice as well. In addition to the bed, there was a sofa for relaxing as well as a desk and chair. The location is very quiet since the hotel is located on a plaza away from a main road. It is very close to the Pantheon and one of the best gelato shops in Rome. The staff is very helpful. They arranged for our pickup from the airport and transportation to the cruise terminal with a fantastic car service. We did not have an adapter for our cell phone charger and they assisted with that as well. This hotel has everything you would want in a home away from home.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chhtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We have just had the most amazing time in Italy starting at The Nazional Hotel in Rome. The location was ideal, close to the Trevvi Fountain, a stones throw from The Pantheon (breath taking) and pretty central to loads of amazing sights. We were able to walk to most places from there but would definitely advise flat shoes or definitely trainers as there are small uneven cobble stones everywhere.
The Hotel was very welcoming and greeted us in Italian and English. They were very helpful in advising us what we 'must see' while in Rome and provided us with the most useful map we found.
We stayed on the top floor with the most amazing view from our window. It was breath taking! Overlooking a typical Roman city, with orangey red roof tiles, a mish mash of homes and restaurants, beautiful tiled and floral terraces and a fantastic view of the Basilica in the Vatican City!. This was within walking distance too and we just followed the river along beautiful tree lined avenues.
The room had a super king sized bed, and plenty of space in the room. The bathroom was well equipped and toiletries were provided. There was a Jacuzzi bath with water jets - perfect after a long day sight seeing. The breakfast room was lovely and the food was gorgeous. Huge selection and choice of food. There was definitely something for everyone's taste.
I would definitely recommend this hotel, especially as its so handy.
Do some of the 'walking' trips organised too because they take you to some of the most secret of places and you end up at an amazing bar or restaurant.

Room Tip: we had the top floor (but it was our wedding anniversary) so that might be a special room i'm no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarahxxsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We loved our stay at the Hotel Nazionale. The Hotel itself is very clean, the staff all speak English, are very competent, friendly and helpful. Most of the major sites are within easy walking distance of the hotel and the bus stop for the hop-on-hop-off bus is a close walk (about 7min) near the Trevi Fountain.

Our room was on the top floor, and the view of Rome and the Vatican was breathtaking.The room itself is well furnished, the bathroom clean with enough towels to go round. The bed was just the right size and the air-conditioner wonderfully cold. Mini bar was well stocked and the prices were very reasonable, with everything clearly priced on the room information list. Wifi for the 1st hour is free, afterwards you buy timed access.

At breakfast there is a continental style breakfast, with a wide variety of cheese, cold meats, breads and (amazing!) pastries! The dining room itself is well lit, cheerful and the staff industrious and attentive. Breakfast is self service, unless you order a hot meal, which has an additional charge. We found the breakfast more than sufficient, with a 'do it yourself' boiled egg option and I didn't miss my bacon sarnie once during our stay.

We discovered a Gelateria just around the corner from the hotel for a naughty holiday treat. On our day of departure, our check-out was dealt with quickly and efficiently. The gentleman at reception arranged an airport shuttle for us with their company which was cheaper than the original price Internet quote I got and ready in 5 minutes from order!

Great place to stay, quiet rooms, central and very enjoyable. Well done to the Hotel Nazionale and thank you to all the staff for making our stay enjoyable!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacques B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This hotel is perfectly positioned so that guests can walk to all the major sites in Rome. The view from our window was spectacular, and the free breakfast was the best of all 9 hotels we stayed in while in Italy. In addition this hotel provided us with a hot pot and a hot tea/instant coffee selection in the room. I love having coffee in the morning, even if it is instant, and no other Italian hotel provided this service. Also, we felt safe walking around the area after dark, and the hotel staff was nice. The room was great too, as is to be expected...the Hotel Nazionale isn't cheap. One imperfection is that free wifi is only offered for an hour a day; but we couldn't get it to work on an Ipad, even with help from the front desk. I wavered between 4 and 5 stars for this reason only. Come to think of it, our room service order arrived quickly and was delicious. Five stars!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather3214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#45 of 1,271 in Rome
1,026 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Argentina
Residenza Argentina
#27 of 1,271 in Rome
754 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#30 of 1,271 in Rome
827 reviews
Colonna
9 Hotel Cesari
9 Hotel Cesari
#108 of 1,271 in Rome
1,594 reviews
Trevi
Relais Trevi 95 Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nazionale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nazionale

Address: Piazza Montecitorio 131, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#31 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#34 Family Hotel in Rome
#69 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $135 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nazionale 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Splitty, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nazionale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nazionale a Montecitorio Rome
Hotel Nazionale a Montecitorio
Rome Hotel Nazionale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing