We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst Hotel I've Stayed In” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Priscilla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Priscilla Hotel
Ranked #1,054 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst Hotel I've Stayed In”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

The room was filthy with caked grime and what looked like crusted blood stains on the carpet. The mattress was thin and hard, as were the pillows, and I ended up with a very stiff sore neck after 2 nights of sleeping there. The air conditioning seemed to turn on but didn't make much difference to the temperature in the room, so also sweated through the same two nights. The showers are cramped too. Oh, the Wifi is only available in the lobby and is very slow and unstable, and the lobby smelled like sweaty socks in the morning.

And then there was the 'service'. I asked staff member #1 about arranging a transfer to airport. I was told that if I found the number of a transfer shuttle service they could call. I asked #2 and he said it was up to me to do these things, but they could call a taxi in the morning. I asked #3 in the morning who seemed shocked that I needed one within the hour, but arranged it anyway. Not a good way to treat guests unfamiliar with local arrangements or processes.

I will add photos to substantiate these claims.

I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Na_Gee77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    128
    152
    84
    60
See reviews for
82
213
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

When we checked into hotel Priscilla we were given a handicap room on the first floor (we did not request nor need a handicap room). The room reaked of smoke and looked like I imagine a prison cell to be like. The bed was very uncomfortable with a very thin blanket. They did provide an extra blanket in the dresser but after the first night housekeeping took that and did not provide anyone one. Breakfast consisted of a croissant and cereal. The staff speaks poor English and because of the language barrier it is very hard to get anything accomplished. Whenever we asked for soemthing we were told to come back later. It is locating in the banking section so it is a walk to everything. Also the windows provide no sound proofing and being on the first floor you hear every car and person that walks by. We were woken at 6 am by someone playing the flute. This continued for hours. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cgray05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed here four days. Taxied it from train station, unfortunately didn't contact hotel before hand, as would have found out they have hotel car. We used this on departure, only €10 to station in a very comfortable car. Staff were friendly and helpful. We actually had an issue with a laundromat around the corner, that didn't deliver our clothes back to us before we had to leave.( had already paid the laundromat and were assured they'd deliver to hotel) .We left our forwarding address with the hotel to pass onto laundromat, in the faint hope they'd do the right thing & send it on. We received our clothing today, sent on by the hotel. A huge thanks goes to them! Back to the hotel, yes it is a bit old & tired but our room and linen was spotless. Breakfast was average. There is a lift and wifi ( although drops out a bit in rooms) and nice restaurant. Bar across road was good as was pizza restaurant around corner.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We were a group of 7 traveling together, including my elderly grandmother and non-Italian and English speaking family members, so we can be a challenge for hotel staff. Priscilla Hotel was arranged for us by a travel agent and while it wasn't a luxury hotel, it was quite lovely and a great value for the price. The rooms are a little dated and could use a fresh coat of paint, but everything was neat and clean. The staff, from front-desk to the bartender, were WONDERFUL!! They were patient, kind, understanding, and, most importantly, accommodating. They did everything they could to make our stay pleasant and enjoyable.

I would be amiss if I didn't mention the restaurant. Each of the 7 of us ordered a different dish, and everything was absolutely delicious. Quite possibly some of the best food I've had. Interesting combinations of flavors and cooked to perfection. We're a hard to please bunch, but everyone at our table was very happy. And the waiter/bartender was very nice and joked with us making us feel as if we were in our own home. This is especially important because we had arrived just about 10 minutes before their closing time, and frequently restaurants won't seat such a large party so late or will rush them through the meal. Not here. We were given first-rate service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Do yourself a favour and don't even consider this hotel. It was dirty and very dated, the walls where filthy, I would'nt know what century the linen was from. I was travelling with my daughters and on arrival we had to make our way up about 10 steps with suitcases which the not so delightful staff member watched us do, they then asked for all our passports and said we could come back in 5 minutes to get them, he then got angry when we declined to leave them. The room was so unkept there is no safe the walls and carpets where dirty. This place is a disgrace. Rome is a beautiful city but this place definitely ruined it for us...

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Pretty basic but good sized rooms and bathroom. Pretty good location. Directly over the road there is a little hole in the wall which turned out to be a cozy little pub. Turned out to have heaps of atmosphere and was a great place to have a beer. Staff were very helpful and friendly. I would recommend this place for a place to stay for a couple or a few nights.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was clean and tidy and the staff were lovely. BUT our room was reeeeeeally noisy. And the air con was preset to a really high temperature which was uncomfortable :( the windows weren't very thick so we heard a lot of the street noise (2 ambulances a night, a bus every half hour) which didn't make for a good sleep unfortunately. But the hotel was very well priced and clean and otherwise comfortable.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Katesquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Laura
#616 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
San Lorenzo
Athena Hotel
Athena Hotel
#971 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
MF Hotel
#597 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Kennedy Hotel
Kennedy Hotel
#957 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Parker
Hotel Parker
#544 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Hotel Baltic
#1,084 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Priscilla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Priscilla Hotel

Property: Priscilla Hotel
Address: Via Calabria 17, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,054 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Priscilla Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Priscilla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priscilla Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing