We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place. Good value.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Splendide Royal
Ranked #57 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2014

We stayed at Splendide Royal for 2 nights. While we found most 5* hotels in Rome in August are overpriced, this place charged fair.

The location is not right in the center but a very close drive by taxi to all major attractions in Rome. Situated in a fairly small street overlooking a beautiful park.

The rooms are clean and spacious. The service was excellent. Perhaps the best feature of this hotel is it's Michelin starred restaurant. It has beautiful patio with a great view of the Vatican.

Breakfast was just ok like all hotels in Italy. WiFi is not included and expensive. You have a choice between a very slow 8 euro/24 hours or fast 17 euro/24 hours. There's a computer downstairs with free access to internet but it's very slow.

Overall we were happy with Splendide Royal and would definitely come back.

Room Tip: If you're walking into Speldide Royal to see the room before booking. Chances are you won't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kreytzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,399)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

411 - 417 of 1,399 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2014

Excellent hotel with a beautiful spacious decorated room. Great quiet location facing Vila Burgeze. 1st level breakfast and service. Free Internet workstations at the lobby. The reception personal were very polite and helpful.

Room Tip: Excellent deal via Booking - Luxury room for reasonable price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Meir D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Beautiful hotel in a great location. We enjoyed eating on the roof patio, food was great. The people there are very helpful and the room was terrific. Everything about this hotel we enjoyed and would go back in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Paying for the wifi was a little much for me and I told them so. I don't mind paying the big bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank staffordmaryjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This hotel was a last minute booking that worked out well. Room was very charming with opulent decor. Many TV channels in every language. Nicely appointed bathroom but bathtub was tiny and slippery. Great location near the Borghese Galleries and walking distance to high end shopping and Spanish Steps. Very friendly and helpful staff. Don't valet - there is a much cheaper parking garage just one block down the street.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank blueskyannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for our one year wedding anniversary.
The rooms are really big and spacious and the bathrooms are nice and big too.
The location is excellent.
The views on the terrace at breakfast time are amazing.
Staff are very friendly and helpful.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shab A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

This small boutique hotel was surely a sparking gem in the past. But it is immediately apparent that the present owner does not prioritize keeping it in the condition which earns 5 stars. The common area rugs, doors and furniture in the rooms are all tired and could use a good cleaning. The room size and appointments were very nice with one big exception, that the overwhelming odor had me convinced I was sleeping in a giant ash tray. The clothes which never left the suitcase had to be sent to the dry clearners to remove the odor and we had to "air out" our luggage.
The staff is first rate and always willing to help with any request. It had been 7 years since dining in their over the top beautifully romantic restaurant with breath taking sky terrace views, but the excessive prices drove us away...what more do I need to say than $48 for a bowl of soup!
You won't find a more charming three seater bar and attentive charming staff anywhere else. Kudos for that!
The hotel is in a great location but we won't recommend anyone return until capital improvements are made.

Room Tip: Only smokers should stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank JoAnne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

The hotel was in a perfect location - only a few blocks from the Spanish Steps. Very friendly and helpful staff. Concierge made some wonderful recommendations too. Breakfast buffet upstairs was clean, had a wide variety of items, and service was very good. Rooms were spacious, nicely decorated, and clean.

Definitly would recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PayItForward2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#103 of 1,269 in Rome
1,124 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#127 of 1,269 in Rome
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#110 of 1,269 in Rome
873 reviews
Parioli
Hotel Lord Byron
Hotel Lord Byron
#51 of 1,269 in Rome
654 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Hassler
Hotel Hassler
#33 of 1,269 in Rome
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendide Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendide Royal

Address: Via di Porta Pinciana 14, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#42 Business Hotel in Rome
#68 Family Hotel in Rome
#78 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $269 - $666 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Splendide Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel of elegance in the heart of the city, recently restored from a palace dating from 1890 and walking distance from the Spanish Steps and the Via Veneto area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Splendide Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendide Royal Hotel Rome
Splendide Royal Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing