We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Old world charm..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Splendide Royal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Splendide Royal
Ranked #65 of 1,287 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old world charm..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This hotel was a last minute booking that worked out well. Room was very charming with opulent decor. Many TV channels in every language. Nicely appointed bathroom but bathtub was tiny and slippery. Great location near the Borghese Galleries and walking distance to high end shopping and Spanish Steps. Very friendly and helpful staff. Don't valet - there is a much cheaper parking garage just one block down the street.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blueskyannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    820
    250
    77
    40
    32
See reviews for
180
680
33
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for our one year wedding anniversary.
The rooms are really big and spacious and the bathrooms are nice and big too.
The location is excellent.
The views on the terrace at breakfast time are amazing.
Staff are very friendly and helpful.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shab A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This small boutique hotel was surely a sparking gem in the past. But it is immediately apparent that the present owner does not prioritize keeping it in the condition which earns 5 stars. The common area rugs, doors and furniture in the rooms are all tired and could use a good cleaning. The room size and appointments were very nice with one big exception, that the overwhelming odor had me convinced I was sleeping in a giant ash tray. The clothes which never left the suitcase had to be sent to the dry clearners to remove the odor and we had to "air out" our luggage.
The staff is first rate and always willing to help with any request. It had been 7 years since dining in their over the top beautifully romantic restaurant with breath taking sky terrace views, but the excessive prices drove us away...what more do I need to say than $48 for a bowl of soup!
You won't find a more charming three seater bar and attentive charming staff anywhere else. Kudos for that!
The hotel is in a great location but we won't recommend anyone return until capital improvements are made.

Room Tip: Only smokers should stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JoAnne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The hotel was in a perfect location - only a few blocks from the Spanish Steps. Very friendly and helpful staff. Concierge made some wonderful recommendations too. Breakfast buffet upstairs was clean, had a wide variety of items, and service was very good. Rooms were spacious, nicely decorated, and clean.

Definitly would recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PayItForward2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This is in fact my fourth trip back to this hotel Rome. Beautiful rooms friendly service close to all the historical sites and in walking distance to shops etc. Simply a stunning hotel with impeccable service.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mad101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villefranche-sur-Mer, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

our stay in rome for the rolling stones concert in june was very pleasant. the hotel was clean and the rooms well appointed. unfortunately the breakfast experience elect a very bad taste in my mouth. 2 continental breakfast for 50.00 euro i can live with but the fresh orange juice at 10.00 euro's each not included in the continental breakfast was unheard of. I complained to the front desk and they brushed it off as not their responsibility but the restaurant which is under separate management. Upon my return i wrote to the hotel management and they never had the courtesy to respond. I wonder whether the hotel management cares about what their customers think or just think they can live off their location near via veneto. I would expect more from a SLH property and i would expect at least acknowledgement from the management. I speak Italian fluently so they cannot pull off the dumb american tourist on me

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pbr69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Feels like you are in an old castle room. Very majestic and royal. Beautiful rooms. Good location, about a 7 minute walk to the top of the spanish steps and the shopping area. A luxurious splurge in a great city

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meepak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Campo Marzio
Hotel Hassler
Hotel Hassler
#35 of 1,287 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 897 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#100 of 1,287 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#109 of 1,287 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendide Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendide Royal

Property: Hotel Splendide Royal
Address: Via di Porta Pinciana 14, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#42 Business Hotel in Rome
#69 Family Hotel in Rome
#78 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Splendide Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel of elegance in the heart of the city, recently restored from a palace dating from 1890 and walking distance from the Spanish Steps and the Via Veneto area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Splendide Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendide Royal Hotel Rome
Splendide Royal Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing