We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dandrea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Splendide Royal
Ranked #66 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Rome
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dandrea”
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Splendid in name splendid in all services especially breakfast and staff splendid perfect setting in the heart of Rome the most helpful staff we had in our trip the rooms are warm and welcoming and did I mention breakfast brilliant the door man full of information to all our day trips xxx

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Samcaddybellabaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    921
    270
    84
    43
    34
See reviews for
200
768
36
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grenoble, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I was sure to have reserved a Junior Suite, in fact I was attributed a Deluxe room. I know what I have done as I have spent many time on this and made multiple trials before validating. Nothing is impossible. But when they told me I have reserved a Deluxe Room instead of a Junior suite, surprise, on my confirmation e-mail, the kind of room was not indicated and I have missed this point before.
My main issue, is that despite I clearly told them this, they didn't tried to check with the reservation tool support that is holded by another company to clarify... Mistake was from me even if it is clearly not acceptable not to have the kind of room indicated on the reservation mail.
For a week-end gift to my wife, I didn't wanted to lose time here, neither create a bad atmosphere for my wife by complaining too much, she was already happy. But one can understand I can't provide a good rating here.
On the other side, the deluxe room was very nice, and I got one of the best one with garden view and terrasse.
The main issue of this hotel, viewing different review is the fact it is not clear what you'll get as it seems in the same category, you can't be sure to have view on the garden or not (from what I have understood on their site description). This is why I have tried to book a Junior suite. Even here I was not sure to get the terrasse... I have put it on the comments during reservation and they have taken this into account.
At the end, we ordered some food in the room to enjoy the terrasse, it was wonderful to eat with St Pierre's view at night... (weather was nice even if February).
Concerning the service, people are very nice, but for the room service, when I have asked if we could eat on the terrasse, they clearly stated that they bring the food, then we have to manage ourself to dress the table on the terrasse. With the photo on the site, I was surprised, maybe we need to order more plate?
For the restaurant, when we arrived, they suggested a nice restaurant for italian food, but I told them I wanted a nice view, not a panorama on Rome but a nice view on a place. They made me understood for a nice view, you have to pay too much. So I re-clarified only a 'plazza', not a 'panorama'. Priority on view, not on food. Then they advicied the 'Carbonara'. Was quite nice food, with mainly italian people. But for the view, not the best one... We have found better one after. They could have told us to order meal in the room as the view was the most beautiful, but they didn't suggested, we found this ourselves the next day ;).
The breakfast during this period was in the 'Mirabelle' Restaurant with the wonderful panorama, that was great.
As mentionned in another comment, king size beds are not real king size but twin beds grouped together, you can feel it and it can be disturbing when you move on the separation.
Decoration is wonderful if you like this kind of decoration, this was the case of my wife :)
We have not tried Piscine or Spa, so I put 3 stars to be neutral. Could be good tripadvisor add the N/A...
I would have stated 4 stars, but with this issue I can't.

Room Tip: Garden and terrasse this is the real added value of this hotel. Else it is too high cost I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review and your remarks.

We would like to take a little time to go through what your wrote and give a detailed reply for your and our trip advisor readers.

The reservation was made for a Deluxe room, our reservation department is investigating on why the type of room did not appear on your reservation but at check out we showed you the reservation paper that we had and it clearly stated that the room booked was a deluxe room. Anyway if you would have reported it to the front desk at check in we would have definitely done something about it. In fact you reported it at check out and on a Sunday, the reservation office is closed on Sunday but regardless reporting at check out excluded any possibility of trying to figure out anything from our side.

We allocated the best deluxe room in the hotel, with a terrace and a beautiful view. It is one of kind in the whole hotel, the junior suites don’t have a terrace or a balcony and view just of the garden. Also the price between a deluxe room and a junior suite with a terrace is different.

As far as the room service is concerned there must have been a misunderstanding of some sort, we had in the past guest dining in the room or in the terrace without any issues, our room service is always ready and prompt to help any kind of request.

As far as the restaurant recommendations go our concierge staff is ready to accommodate all the various requests from our guests. It is true that if you want a view over the city most likely you need to reserve a very upscale restaurant, you asked for a casual place with local food on a piazza and “la carbonara” it is exactly that type of restaurant. We are sorry you did not like the view on the piazza but that needs to be relied on the management of the restaurant not on our concierge services.

After reading your review we are still unsure if you enjoyed or not your stay with us because it seems that everything went well but still you were not pleased.

One recommendation that we would like to make for our tripadvisor readers is that if anything happens during your stay it is definitely better to report immediately so that we can try to help. Your stay in our hotel is our main focus and concern, we just need to be informed if there is something that you do not like in order to do something about it.


Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Ongar, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
437 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Super property just up from Hotel Eden ,but smaller and more intimate . Beautiful classical decor and spotlessly clean. Staff and warm friendly and very helpful,nothing was too much trouble , treated as a special guest !
My room on the 6 th had super views of Rome and the Vatican from the terrace - what a great spot this will be in the warmer months . Room was very comfortable with a fine bathroom . Pillows were a little too firm for me but found out later I could have requested soft ones !
Fine breakfast with stunning views in the top floor restaurant .
I only stayed one night for business but have booked a suite with my wife for three nights in March and really look forward to returning ,booking with SLH.

Room Tip: Go high and with views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldtraveller1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your wonderful words and the time taken to review our hotel.

There is really nothing we can add to your words, thank you very much again and looking forward to welcoming you back again in March.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in December.
Lovely room, overlooking park.
Great breakfasts
Drinks and canapes in the Michelin roof top restaurant are a bargain.
Friendly, helpful service.
Good location within an easy walk of many of the attractions.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to a higher room facing the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NeilIsgoingtosea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your nice comments and review. Sounds like you enjoyed everything about the Splendide Royal and the Eternal Cit therefore we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed for two nights. 12-14 december, the hotel is beautiful. feels like being in a castle of kings and queens. excelente service and a lot of good will to help and serve. good value for our money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tenesee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Sir,

thank you very much for the time taken in sharing your thoughts with our fellow trip advisor readers.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristianstad, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This is one of the best hotel that I have been to for many years, very nice rooms and the staff was helpful and kind. Well Worth our recommendation. Very nice view from the breakfast room.
A small and very friendly hotel at a good location.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoA5806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your amazing comment.

I think there is nothing else we can add to your words if not thank you from the bottom of our hearts.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Splendide Royal.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This was a beautiful hotel and the staff, rooms, service and location were all exceptional. I would definitely recommend! I would also like to thank the lovely man that carried all of our luggage up 5 large flights of stairs when my little sister panicked (she is claustrophobic) and couldn’t get into the lift.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank your for your nice comment and the time taken in writing.

We try to do our best to meet all of our guest requests. I would say that in your case we litterally worked hard to do so, haha.

Thank you again for your review, we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Eternal city in the new future.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#125 of 1,257 in Rome
923 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#110 of 1,257 in Rome
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#116 of 1,257 in Rome
850 reviews
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendide Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendide Royal

Property: Hotel Splendide Royal
Address: Via di Porta Pinciana 14, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Rome
#42 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#68 Family Hotel in Rome
#78 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Splendide Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel of elegance in the heart of the city, recently restored from a palace dating from 1890 and walking distance from the Spanish Steps and the Via Veneto area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Splendide Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendide Royal Hotel Rome
Splendide Royal Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing