We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Splendide Royal
Ranked #58 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2013

A friend and I stayed at the hotel for two nights before sailing on a Crystal Cruise. I picked the hotel after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor and we were very happy with our choice. The hotel decor was opulent, not normally my style but beautifully done and very comfortable. We had a nice sized room with lots of nice touches and a big soaking tub. The staff was friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was great and the setting lovely. The only complaint I have is that the Mirabelle restaurant was downright awful and extremely expensive. We also had a terrible problem with the Green Line tour that the hotel recommended but the front desk was apologetic and offered us a box of chocolates to compensate. All in all a lovely hotel in a great location, I would definitely come back.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for the kind words of your review. We are glad to understand that despite some inconveniences everything went smooth and you managed to enjoy your stay with us anyway.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we are looking forward to having you stay with us in the near future.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,422)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

482 - 488 of 1,422 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

Me and my wife spent three nights in Mid-October here. When I was choosing the hotel to stay, I was looking for a good combination of location and quality. Amex Travel Services proposed this Splendide and since there was not much availability, we decided to go for it.
Location of the hotel is great on the hilltop next to Villa Borghese park, not so busy, but still close to everything. We had a Superior Room on highest available level, 5th, with a balcony overlooking the city and with Vatican in sight. Both the room and and bath had windows and access to the balcony, which was very nice.
The view from the room and especially the balcony was really nice, in evening I would say even stunning. The room in itself was modest in size and quality being a 5-star hotel.
We had breakfast included in the room price and it was good, but would I pay 45 euros for it if it was not included; probably not. At least not every day, since it was pretty much the same each morning.
Service was good as it should be, and the staff helpfull.
Overall a good experience. Make sure you ask for a room in the highest floor, only those have a balcony. And try to get breakfast included in the rate, otherwise you will feel ripped off.
And check out the Michelin-restaurant Mirabelle on top floor!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony, you get to the highest available floor and get great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MARKUS A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review. Our rooms are actually on the big size compared to the average european and roman size and usually our superior standard rooms have not view or balconies therefore i believe your accomodation was an upgrade.

thank you very much anyway for your comments, we really appreciate that.

We are looking forwar to welcoming you to the Splendide Royal In the near future.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We spent 4 days here for our anniversary. The staff was wonderful! The room was very clean and quite comfortable, just a little on the small size. The breakfast was very good. The location is great. Not too far from Spanish steps and metro. Would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

what else can we add to your review if not thank you?

thank so much really and looking forward to welcoming you to the Splendide Royal in the future.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations deparment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We spent a few nights here in October. The concierge was quite helpful with dinner recommendations. Breakfast was delicious. The hotel's location was perfect.
The room was large enough but the bath could have used a deep cleaning. There was moldy grout and caulk. I would have loved a bath, but didn't feel that the tub was clean enough.
The biggest problem was the air conditioning system. Our room never dipped below 75 degrees. Night time was not comfortable. We could not leave our windows open because there was housing adjacent to our room. They tried unsuccessfully to repair it three times. We were not offer other accommodations. We should have been taken care of considering the price we paid per night.

Room Tip: Check your room out thoroughly before unpacking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review and remarks. Our rooms have been reviewed as spotless in many of the previous comments and it sounds a little difficult for us to believe that nobody from the front desk offered a room change if the air conditioning had any issues. Although we will take good note of your remarks and we will try work toward our service for the future.

Thank you again for your words.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel when visiting Rome in late summer. It really was a wonderful stay in a superb location. The staff was incredibly helpful and polite and I have to say that this hotel really allowed us the ideal base for exploring one of my favorite cities in Europe. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your flattering review. Nice words like yours are the reason why it is beautiful to work in the hotel industry.

Thank you again and please consider us your home away from home in Rome.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I spent three nights at this hotel. The continental breakfast was an abundance of food. The staff was wonderful and professional. We highly recommend this hotel. The only suggestion I would make is that internet should include as part of the room fee and not an additional charge.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doreen0919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your nice comment and the time taken in spreading the word of the Splendide Royal with our fellow tripadvisor readers. Thank you very much for your remarks as well, we will direct them to the management and we will try to work on that.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again to the Splendide Royal on your next visits ro Rome.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was our first hotel on a two week vacation with four more stops and hotels to stay at. It is small boutique hotel and lovely. The room was grande and luxurious. The bathroom also was very nice . We ate in the hotel restaurant on the top and the view was amazing and breathtaking.But it was VERY expensive.
Breakfast was probably the best of our whole trip.We returned on the last day of our trip to leave from Rome aiport. There was a mistake and they did not have us booked. We were three couples! Not only were they appologetic but they put us in their sister hotel. When we arrived they were expecting us and we were given suites!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mkrigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review of the Splendide Royal. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are sorry that there was some inconvenience on your second stay with us. We are impressed of your nice words and we are looking forward to welcoming you back for your future vacation time in the Eternal City.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#101 of 1,271 in Rome
1,139 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#130 of 1,271 in Rome
966 reviews
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
Hotel Lord Byron
Hotel Lord Byron
#53 of 1,271 in Rome
661 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#110 of 1,271 in Rome
880 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendide Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendide Royal

Address: Via di Porta Pinciana 14, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#42 Business Hotel in Rome
#68 Family Hotel in Rome
#78 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $257 - $562 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Splendide Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel of elegance in the heart of the city, recently restored from a palace dating from 1890 and walking distance from the Spanish Steps and the Via Veneto area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Splendide Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendide Royal Hotel Rome
Splendide Royal Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing