We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Splendide Royal
Nearby Hotels
$625
$348
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$570
$467
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$271
$244
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Navona(Rome)(Great Value!)
$1,088
$872
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$363
$343
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$218
$179
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma(Rome)(Great Value!)
$186
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Diocleziano(Rome)
$321
$266
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
iQ Hotel Roma(Rome)
$391
$318
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Grifo(Rome)(Great Value!)
$357
$336
Cancelon
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,470)
Filter reviews
1,470 results
Traveler rating
1,014
288
92
43
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,014
288
92
43
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmirabelle restaurantvia venetoborghese gardensspanish stepsbeautiful hoteljunior suitebreakfast roomharry's bartop floorsister hotelmarble bathroomfive star hotelhighly recommend this hotelst peterstrevi fountainquiet locationaround the corner
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
520 - 525 of 1,470 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We spent a few nights here in October. The concierge was quite helpful with dinner recommendations. Breakfast was delicious. The hotel's location was perfect.
The room was large enough but the bath could have used a deep cleaning. There was moldy grout and caulk. I would have loved a bath, but didn't feel that the tub was clean enough.
The biggest problem was the air conditioning system. Our room never dipped below 75 degrees. Night time was not comfortable. We could not leave our windows open because there was housing adjacent to our room. They tried unsuccessfully to repair it three times. We were not offer other accommodations. We should have been taken care of considering the price we paid per night.

Room Tip: Check your room out thoroughly before unpacking.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review and remarks. Our rooms have been reviewed as spotless in many of the previous comments and it sounds a little difficult for us to believe that nobody from the front desk offered a room change if the air conditioning had any issues. Although we will take good note of your remarks and we will try work toward our service for the future.

Thank you again for your words.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel when visiting Rome in late summer. It really was a wonderful stay in a superb location. The staff was incredibly helpful and polite and I have to say that this hotel really allowed us the ideal base for exploring one of my favorite cities in Europe. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your flattering review. Nice words like yours are the reason why it is beautiful to work in the hotel industry.

Thank you again and please consider us your home away from home in Rome.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I spent three nights at this hotel. The continental breakfast was an abundance of food. The staff was wonderful and professional. We highly recommend this hotel. The only suggestion I would make is that internet should include as part of the room fee and not an additional charge.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doreen0919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your nice comment and the time taken in spreading the word of the Splendide Royal with our fellow tripadvisor readers. Thank you very much for your remarks as well, we will direct them to the management and we will try to work on that.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again to the Splendide Royal on your next visits ro Rome.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was our first hotel on a two week vacation with four more stops and hotels to stay at. It is small boutique hotel and lovely. The room was grande and luxurious. The bathroom also was very nice . We ate in the hotel restaurant on the top and the view was amazing and breathtaking.But it was VERY expensive.
Breakfast was probably the best of our whole trip.We returned on the last day of our trip to leave from Rome aiport. There was a mistake and they did not have us booked. We were three couples! Not only were they appologetic but they put us in their sister hotel. When we arrived they were expecting us and we were given suites!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mkrigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review of the Splendide Royal. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are sorry that there was some inconvenience on your second stay with us. We are impressed of your nice words and we are looking forward to welcoming you back for your future vacation time in the Eternal City.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We traveled with two couples and spent 5 nights at this hotel on our first visit to Rome. The hotel is very upscale with an opulent 'Romanesque' décor and spacious rooms. The staff were very friendly and helpful with directions and reservations. The rooftop restaurant offers 'fine' dining with decent views looking west towards the Vatican. The complimentary breakfast was also quite nice offering westerly views of the Roman skyline. The hotel is reasonably close to the Spanish Steps and Spagna Metro stop and just down the road from Villa Borghese Gardens. But if not using the Metro, anticipate long walks to the Forum and Vatican.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgmelv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your nice words and the time spent in sharing your thoughts with our fellow tripadvisor readers. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your experience with the Eternal City has been a good one. Please consider us as your home away from home every time you are coming to Rome.

Thank you very much again for your words and we are looking forward to welcoming you to Splendide Royal in the Future.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews