We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good hotel, terrific staff, but odd room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Splendide Royal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Splendide Royal
Ranked #54 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good hotel, terrific staff, but odd room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

I stood at this hotel in July of 2013. The location is good - not exactly right in the heart of things, but at the same time within very walkable distance of the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, and other attractions. If you're not really a walker, you may have to take cabs or other transport to some attractions.

The staff was very, very good. Very friendly and helpful. The lobby of the hotel is immaculate.

My one gripe with this hotel is the room. It appeared a bit old. The oddest part was that the room was quite narrow, and the two single beds in the room extended quite literally for the whole length of the room, leaving very little space between the end of the bed and the wall. This made it very difficult to walk to the bathroom, or to move around the room generally.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniele983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review and your words. We thank you very much for your appreciation of the staff at the hotel, we really try to provide the best service ever. We understand that the baroque style of the hotel might not please all of our guest's tastes, sorry to hear that.

We hope that you might want to visit us again on your next trip to the Eternal city.

Kindest regards

Jonathan

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    859
    255
    78
    40
    33
See reviews for
186
714
34
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burr Ridge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

This was an expensive mistake. Rooms were tired and in need of updating as was the rest of the common areas. Worse, the beds and pillows were ridiculously uncomfortable. But for the fact that I had prepaid the room to reduce my overall cost of the visit I would have left early to find another hotel. Staff did their best to improve what is a tired uncomfortable hotel but there was little the could do.

Room Tip: Don't go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mccarthyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Since I was paying top dollar for this hotel, I did not expect to have any complaints. Our room was small and the view was of windows to other rooms. We left a daily tip which disappeared before the room was cleaned (we forgot something and went back 5 min. later, tip-gone-room -not touched). A continental breakfast-27 euros, want eggs, make it 35. I don't go on vacation to skimp, but really! Papers that fell under the desk stayed. Hotel said it was sound-proof, until housekeeping starts slamming doors! Location was good, AC worked that's it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your comments and remarks. We will take good note of your comments but we believe that five minutes to clean a room are not enough and our rooms are cleaned everyday as per other guests like you comments.

Thank you again for staying with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you to Rome in the near future.

Kindest regard

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana, USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We are still here at this wonderful hotel! From the moment we checked in, this has been a great stay. Public areas are beautiful. Reception was friendly and helpful, arranged a table for us at the amazing Mirabelle restaurant even though it was after 10 p.m. when we got here. Room is beautiful, fresh fruit waiting for us in the room. Front desk has arranged tours for us, offered restaurant advice, they have just been generally anxious to help us in any way while we are here. Location is perfect for touring Rome. Our room overlooks the Borghese and it is like being in a quiet place in the middle of this huge city, just perfect.

The restaurant Mirabelle is beyond good, truly excellent but with friendly and unpretentious staff.

Room Tip: Our room faces the Borghese, ask for that if you appreciate a quiet view from your Jacuzzi tub! =)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GulchFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

What can we say about your incredible review if not thank you so much? So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! thank you again.

Best regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Our family of 4 stayed here for a week. The staff was very helpful and nice giving us lots of restaurant and shopping recommendations. Location was excellent. Breakfast each morning at the rooftop restaurant was lovely.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank indiana1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review. We are very proud of our staff and we always try to accomodate guest's requests as they were family. Glad that you shared your thoughts with us and our other future guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again to the Eternal City.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

My husband and I spent three nights at this lovely hotel and had a wonderful stay. The room was spacious and spotless. The location, right by the Spanish Steps could not be better! Lots of good restaurants nearby.
The terrace at the Mirabelle restaurant has a great view of Rome by night.
The only downside is that Wifi is not included and you have to pay for Wifi per device.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank azmyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your email and kind words. Unfortunately wi fi is not usually free in Italy but we are working on that. We are glad to understand that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you again for staying at the Splendide Royal.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations deparment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

A bit shabby but looks like historically old. Sufficient buffet breakfast. Jacuzzi en suite and sun beds in the terrace overlooking Borghese adds a nice touch. 3 minutes down the hill to Spagna.
Returning to the hotel - very tiring.
Mirabelle restaurant with a great view over Rome, one of the best views in the city. The food is very stylish but the size is poor.
Concierge is helpful but forgot to deduct a limo transfer added by mistake at the check-out. Maybe on purpose, maybe not.
The stay definetely gives a touch of luxury to casual life.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dariya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your comments and remarks. Sometimes it happens to make mistakes, we are humans after all. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay anyway and that your shared your thoughts with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Splendide Royal on your next visits.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Campo Marzio
Hotel Hassler
Hotel Hassler
#31 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#98 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum - Small Luxury Hotel
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection - Temporarily Closed
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendide Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendide Royal

Property: Hotel Splendide Royal
Address: Via di Porta Pinciana 14, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#42 Business Hotel in Rome
#69 Family Hotel in Rome
#78 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Splendide Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel of elegance in the heart of the city, recently restored from a palace dating from 1890 and walking distance from the Spanish Steps and the Via Veneto area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Splendide Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendide Royal Hotel Rome
Splendide Royal Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing