We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service / beautiful, elegant room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Splendide Royal
Ranked #59 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Westchester, NY
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent service / beautiful, elegant room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

We, too, spent our 25th wedding anniversary at the Splendide Royal. The service was excellent and our room was beautifully designed, elegant, comfortable and a real haven after a busy day touring Rome. Wonderful amenities included bed turn-down each night, with slippers placed on linen mats bedside. It was just a wonderful and most memorable stay. We are thrilled to have discovered Splendide Royal.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BKB217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    891
    265
    81
    40
    33
See reviews for
194
742
35
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

My husband and I wanted to stay somewhere extra special for our 25th wedding anniversary - and the Splendide Royal did not disappoint us. We spent 5 nights at the hotel. The staff were most attentive - nothing was too much trouble for them and they went out of their way to make our stay memorable. The hotel is in an excellent location - in a central part of Rome, but off of the main busy street. Next time we go to Rome we would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jude J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loriandrussvezzola
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

I highly recommend this hotel. The location is great, rooms are big and gorgeous. The staff is extremely helpful and willing to go out of their way. They booked us a tour to Tuscany complete with wine tasting. They arranged everything including the train transportation. This hotel is very close to the hop on and off bus stop. Try the coffee cafe on the next st across from hotel Eden and a very short distance from the bus stop. FIrst class all the way!

The Jewells

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loriandrussvezzola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

me and my fiance went to rome for a romantic birthday trip. the staff at the splendide royal are the nicest hotel staff we have ever dealt with. they were helpful, polite, friendly and they went out of their way to please you. we had a problem with payment for our stay but they dealt with it in a pleasant manner and didn't change their attitude towards us. we had a problem with the jacuzzi in our room, within less than half an hour it was fixed. room service is out of this world, their food was luxurious. the rooms are faultless decorated beautifully and tastefully. the hotel itself is spectacular and on a great location. definately recommend it to anyone !

Room Tip: we were originally put in a standard room which was out of this world decorated beautifully, but we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucky13AP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hotel on transit from Venice to Tokyo as we did not wish to leave Venice so early to go back straight. In so doing I chose this hotel having read many favourable reviews on Tripadvisor and also because, having been disappointed with our stay at Hassler last summer, we wanted to explore a better hotel. We booked a junior suite with a Borgehse Park view but without balcony. The room allocated to us was quite spacious and furnished well having a large balcony with a couple of reclining chairs. They sort of leveled up to a better room very kindly without mentioning it. The lounges are gorgeously decorated and furnished in a Baroque style. Lifts and corridors are rather small and narrow but sufficient for a small number of guests they accommodate. Staff at reception were efficient and kind appearing to be always sincerely ready to help guests. As my wife’s suitcase had been missed at the airport a concierge kindly searched for it earnestly through Alitalia’s lost property desk which had appeared to us very inefficient and untrustworthy ( we got it back two days after we returned home ) We had booked a table at Mirabelle, a Michelin starred restaurant in this hotel for dinner for which she thought she had no appropriate dress and shoes. The concierge talked to Restaurant Manager describing what she wore and persuaded him to accept her as she appeared. However she felt so sad and miserable that we even thought of cancelling the dinner. Good gracious me, when I opened my suitcase I found a shopping bag in which a new dress she bought at Villa D’Este was contained and further found her pair of dress shoes, too! So we could have cheerfully a good dinner. Mirabelle was a very good restaurant beautifully decorated looking out nicely to the city and Borgehse Park. Hassler had a similar or even better location ( Michelin starred also ) but Mirabelle provided much better ambience and cuisine. First a manager like man greeted us and asked which table we would like inside or outside. My wife asked for an inside table and then he said, “We would give you a table very close to the balcony still with a good view”. Quite a few waiters served us very smartly creating good atmosphere for us. The dishes were, like Japanese summer style, all made of decorated glasses. As one of them was so beautifully designed that its surface was uneven and dressing flowed over the plate and then the table on to my trousers. Several waiters came and offered to change the plate but, as it could spoil the food, I asked a folded napkin to insert between the corner of the plate and the table. A lot of applaud came from them, saying how clever I was. It did not damage our cheerful mind at all but back home I discovered that my trousers had uselessly carried a couple of big stains even after cleaning. However overall it was a good stay and dining for the last stop before going back home.

Room Tip: As commented
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomoyuki-i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

We booked the "Orange Blossom package" online that included private transfer to/from the airport, fresh flowers,bottle of champagne, breakfast daily, and dinner for 2 at Mirabelle.
We arrived at the hotel via private transfer (Mercedes E class with a driver that had HORRIBLE B.O.) at noon and our suite was not ready. While waiting we consulted the front desk re: tours and booked for that afternoon and the next morning followed by lunch at the hotel restaurant. Soup, Caprese salad, and two desserts with begrudgingly good service $160. After lunch we returned to the looby and were told that our suite would be ready in 15-20 more minutes. I waited the 20 minutes and was told it would be another 20 minutes. After informing the desk attendant that we had a tour in 30 minutes she was kind enough to let us leave our bags and change in another room that was ready and move our luggage to our suite when it was availabe . Very NICE!
We returned to find a very spacious suite (lare terrace as well) with a bouquet of long stemmed roses and a good bottle of champagne (Mumm).
The next morning the tour company was to pick us up at the hotel at 07.45 and we decided to have room service since the restaurant does not open untill 7ish. You may also have the included breakfast in your room(guest pays serve fees... 30 Euro).
Our final night dinner was to be at Mirabelle (terrace reservations suggested + first seating 19.30 ish) at 20.00. We were greeted and seated promptly and over the coarse of two hours we were served only two of the four coarses we ordered. By 22.00 we queried our server about the remainder of dinner and said he woud check...20 minuted later he returned to tell us it is on the way...10 more minutes no entree. It is now 22.30 and we had a very early flight the next day so we informed the staff that we could wait no more and left for bed. No credit was offered but our first round of cocktails was comped and profuse and sincere apologies offered and were accepted.
The next morning came all too quickly and the drvier was there at the appointed time and the check-out process was smooth.

Overall the staff offered good service and the suite was large and well kept by any measure. Would I reccomend or stay at this hotel again? Probably not. There are other hotels in the same price range in the same area (Marriott, Westin, ETC...) that I would try.

Room Tip: Ask for room on side street. While waiting in the lobby over heard two separate guest complain of no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paris_Junkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totti5, Direttore generale at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Dear Guest,
We have seen your review on Tripadvisor with the critics on the service of the restaurant in the last night of your stay booked with an Orange Blossom package for which we regret to learn that it was not obviously of your satisfaction due to the delay of serving the courses.
First of all, from myself as well as from the Restaurant Manager, who was not on duty that Sunday night, please accept our sincere apologize for this regrettable episode, that was not due to the service and maitre d’ fault but it was due to a bad mistake in the kitchen where they lost the order of your main course.
Again please accept our excuse and we are pleased to inform that we have given instruction to our account department to refund you the cost of the dinner provided by your Orange Blossom package.
We hope that this gesture of goodwill will testimony our attention to meet guest satisfaction and since you have appreciated almost everything (except the driver define with a terribile B.O. for which we will investigate) about the rest of your stay that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future at the Splendide and our restaurant.
Sincerely Yours,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

We were very warmly welcomed to the Splendide Royal by the bellman/doorman, and the warm reception continued upon check-in at the front desk with Jonathan - very nice first impression! The hotel is very elegant, and our room was luxurious. One thing that I loved about the marble bathroom - a large section of the mirror never got foggy from shower steam! Overall, we were pleased with our choice of hotel in Rome, especially the staff and the service. However, one afternoon around 5 we went up to Mirabelle for a glass of prosecco. We were enjoying the view and the drink, but almost fell over when we got the bill for 35 euros! We mentioned it to the front desk because we thought that it was an error, but were told it was correct. We are used to cocktails being more expensive at hotels and resorts, but for prosecco, it seemed extreme. The only other negative was the fee for wi-fi - unnecessary.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank member63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#104 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Hassler
Hotel Hassler
#36 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#135 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#110 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendide Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendide Royal

Property: Hotel Splendide Royal
Address: Via di Porta Pinciana 14, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#42 Business Hotel in Rome
#68 Family Hotel in Rome
#78 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Splendide Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel of elegance in the heart of the city, recently restored from a palace dating from 1890 and walking distance from the Spanish Steps and the Via Veneto area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Splendide Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendide Royal Hotel Rome
Splendide Royal Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing