We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio
Ranked #310 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Stayed here in November 2013 for 4 days. The rooms were large, well equipped and clean. The food was nice but basic. Unfortunately as a Coeliac, Italy wasn't geared to cater for non-pasta and pizza eating people but there were enough salads and risottos to go around! The hotel was located really close to the Termini so it was easy to get to from the airport (the Leonardo shuttle goes directly to Fiumincino airport from the Termini every half an hour). From the hotel you could easily walk to fantastic attractions like the Trevi Fountains and the Spanish Steps and with the metro a short walk away it was perfect for travelling to larger attractions like the Vatican and the Colosseum. This hotel was a perfect base for a short trip. Just bear in mind that the hotel restaurant is slightly pricier than other eateries.

Room Tip: Try to get a room which isn't near the main road which seems to be really noisy at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dot_JMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (969)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

275 - 281 of 969 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed there because of conference we were taking part. The hotel is very conveniently located close to Termini train and metro station but if you wish to stay in the very city centre you should probably look elsewhere. Anyway it takes about 25 minutes to walk from hotel to Coloseum and Forum Romanum (or two stop metro ride).
Room was nice and clean but very basic and old-styled. I think that the room would be nice set up for some vintage looking glamour photo. However the hotel corridors seems quite shabby to me. We had an issue with room temperature (AC was working however it was not possible to set the temperature bellow 24°C which I found quite hot for good sleeping. My colleagues in other rooms had same issue so probably the temperature is centrally set?) and with toilet flush - it taked long time to fill the tank again.
Breakfast was rich and tasty but I would prefer more Italian food (salami, cheeses, olives etc) to be served when staying in hotel in Rome. The breakfast room was small and probably would get cramped when more people came inside but we do not have the problem as only few more people eat with us at the same time.

Room Tip: Ask for room not facing tram tracks as it could be quite noisy there (especially in lower floors)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inutihar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

We frequently visit Rome and I have stayed in various hotels in the city. Via Cavour in general is very convinient given its position to Roma Termini train station.
The room was clean, nothing to complaint about this. However the lobby and rooms are old looking and the breakfast is limited in options.
Check in and out happened reasonably fast and payment in US dollar was accepted as well.

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank Soully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Good hotel for a Mid price European hotel. Rooms are basic but comfortable. Rooms are clean. Staff is helpful. Restaurant and bar were just ok weak drinks, food not as good but still okay. When comparing food in Italy, it is hard to call any of it bad so it was good not Great! Breakfast buffet is decent especially given the fact Italians do not really eat breakfast like Americans. The buffet provided bacon eggs cereals and breads along with meats and cheeses. Overall I liked this hot

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4dakz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed here 3 nights as part of a tour. The hotel is convenient to the train station and other points of interest in the city center and although old, is still a very classy hotel. Our rooms were spacious, clean and quiet; what more could you want. The breakfast buffet was very complete, but the room was very crowded every morning. We treated ourselves to dinner in the hotel dining room one night and were not disappointed. I had the grilled squid, my wife and her sister each had the rack of lamb and our cousin had roast loin of pork. We sampled each others dishes and agreed that all of us would have been very happy with any of the choices. The waiter was very helpful with the wine selection and served our dishes expertly at our table.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prcipce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Over a 150 years old - the hotel is a landmark near the very accessible central train station of Rome - Termini. It's just a ten min walk so the location of the hotel is fantastic. Also it is located near the Santa Maria church and when in rome do as Romans do - walk... So the hotel is well located to the tourist sites. The hotel staff is very polite and always have a smile. The breakfast buffet is not one of those over the top offerings - but a very simple and yet filling one... Loved the interiors and the rooms are spacious...
Also request the staff to allow you to visit the ancient wine storage vaults located in the basement of the hotel. It's a treat... Bottles that are over a 100 years old are still stocked and there is a small table where the men of ancient times used to sit and drink their wine...

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
12  Thank anirbanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Stayed there in October 2013. Hotel staff were really courteous and unfailingly helpful. Our room was spacious and very clean, location excellent - close to the Termini for ease of excursions and taxis. We had prebooked some English-speaking tours which were well worth the effort. The hotel restaurant staff were lovely, the food excellent and we were disappointed when the restaurant was closed on Sunday evening so we had to visit another restaurant which wasn't up to the high standard of the hotel restaurant. If you visit the hotel restaurant do try the tuna main course dish, which was absolutely fabulous.
Jill M

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Bettoja Hotel Mediterraneo
Esquilino
Bettoja Atlantico Hotel
Bettoja Atlantico Hotel
#480 of 1,270 in Rome
545 reviews
Esquilino
Gioberti Art Hotel
Gioberti Art Hotel
#122 of 1,270 in Rome
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
UNA Hotel Roma
UNA Hotel Roma
#97 of 1,270 in Rome
3,149 reviews
Esquilino
Best Western Plus Hotel Universo
Esquilino
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma
#230 of 1,270 in Rome
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio

Address: Via Cavour 18, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#169 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $112 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1875 the Hotel Massimo d’Azeglio has provided traditional hospitality to its numerous Italian and Foreign guests. Although through the years it has been refurbished many times the hotel has maintained its “turn of the century” character. Its halls, bar and restaurant house an important collection of paintings and prints of the Italian “Risorgimento”. The wood paneled Restaurant, with its famous wine cellar, is one of the best known in the city. The Massimo d’Azeglio Restaurant and Hotel has been included amongst the historic hotels of Italy. The Massimo d'Azeglio Hotel has 185 Rooms,3 Conference Rooms, Garage, Bar & Restaurant, Air Conditioning, TV Satellite, Minibar, Free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bettoja Massimo d Azeglio Rome
Bettoja Massimo d Azeglio Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing