We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Ideal for Short Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bettoja Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio
Ranked #304 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed September 18, 2012

While this is no boutique or design hotel, hotel massimo d'azeglio is very well located for the terminus leonardo train from FCO airport. This made my arrival
easy and hassle free. The lobby and interior is very traditional and harks back in places to the hotels '40s heyday. Old school phones, red velvet sofas and a penguin dressed bartender all add to the 'charm' of the hotel.

That being said the hotel is a little rough around the edges, it feels a little list lost between the traditional and a dated 90's hotel. But if like most visitors to Rome you're here for the sights, then you may consider this unimportant and little more than a base or pad for your trip, in which case the hotel ticks all the boxes.

Rooms are clean and comfortable if a little small. The bathroom was adequate but nothing to write home about. In room safe and Free wifi is available throughout the hotel and worked even in our room. So overall the stay was quite pleasant.

Would I reccomend it for short stay tourists and business travellers? yes. For a couple of days it was fine, but if you're on a romantic trip and this is your first visit to Rome you might want to shop around. Our first trip to Rome a few years back was to the Daphne Inn hotel near Barberini and this was probably better suited to a couples break in Rome.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rashdashio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (991)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

334 - 340 of 991 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

Good hotel. Stayed only 1 night as we came in by train and left for the airport the next day.
Great location - 5 minute walk from Central Train Station. Short and inexpensive cab ride to major historic sites. The front desk couldn't be more helpful and friendly. Located beside National Museum of Rome - a must see for ancient roman art and sculpture. Extremely large classic double room.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HolliSara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We truly loved this hotel. The rooms were large and charming and the bathrooms were also quite large and updated. It was in a superb location within walking distance to most of the main attractions. Was clean, updated and had a very nice staff. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Very nice hotel in good location. Free Wifi worked great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank llerickson3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio for a quick one-night stay after a three-week honeymoon throughout Italy. We wanted a full-service hotel near the train station, as we were arriving by train from Venice before catching our plane home the next day. This hotel was one of the higher rated rooms within a block or two from the train station. Rooms were comfortable and above-average size for Europe, and prices w)ere reasonable. The included breakfast was OK, but nothing special--your typical European breakfast. Having stayed in Rome on Via del Corso for the Roman part of our holiday several weeks previously, I can say that I would not choose this hotel if you want easy access to the typical attractions (Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, Colosseum), as there are much more picturesque, pedestrian-friendly neighborhoods. The best part of our stay was the unforgettable sunset dinner on the rooftop restaurant of the sister hotel across the street--FANTASTIC. We also arranged car service to the airport through our hotel, which was cheaper and more comfortable (Mercedes sedan) than taxis.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freefie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Perfect location, good staff.
Rooms are little old, but A/C is working and everything is clean. Small flat tv with lots of italian channels, BBC and CNN. Everything ok except one thing, third bed was at the foot of the double one.
I understand that it's Rome, so for this price is not so bad. Week before this we've been at Bettoja Nord, same price much less perfect then this one :D.
Staff called taxi, not a taxi actually, because there was no taximeter and no special colors at the car. It was brand new Mercedes E-class, trip from this hotel to the hotel in Fiumincino, at the seacoast was 50 euro. Not so expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank APECTAPX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Pro: fantastic location near metro an train station, friendly staff, reasonable rates, very good breakfast, o.k. room
Cons: sewer smell in bathroom coming up from grate, had to cover with towel during our stay, mattress very uncomfortable, behaved like waterbed, didn't get much sleep, dining room too small for number of guests eating breakfast, get there early

Room Tip: I would stay there again before of the excellent location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hawkeye-490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I prepaid for a week long stay in this hotel to save money. I was not totally disappointed I the hotel, but would check out other options before booking here again.

The hotel is about one to two blocks from the train station and easy to find. There were many restaurant options close by—from pastries to fast food to pizzerias and trattorias. The staff was attentive and helpful, giving directions, explaining how to get places using the metro and bus, providing maps. There were two large elevators to reach the guest rooms—not the one or two person sized elevators one finds in smaller hotels. The WIFI worked great in our room as did the air conditioning during out July stay. The room was clean. Breakfast was among the best we had while in Italy—scrambled eggs, hot and cold meats, cheese, bread, pastries, fresh and dried friuts, yogurt, cereals, etc.

The décor of the room was old fashioned and a bit “tired”. It could use updating. The bed was very low to the ground and a bit soft (for people with bad knees or a bad back). The bathroom was claustrophic—strickly for use by one person at a time.

Our room looked out on the side street and garbage trucks work us up in the wee hours.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Primascopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Bettoja Hotel Mediterraneo
Esquilino
Bettoja Atlantico Hotel
Bettoja Atlantico Hotel
#489 of 1,272 in Rome
551 reviews
Esquilino
UNA Hotel Roma
UNA Hotel Roma
#97 of 1,272 in Rome
3,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Best Western Plus Hotel Universo
Esquilino
Gioberti Art Hotel
Gioberti Art Hotel
#109 of 1,272 in Rome
371 reviews
Esquilino
Starhotels Metropole
Starhotels Metropole
#166 of 1,272 in Rome
2,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bettoja Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bettoja Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio

Address: Via Cavour 18, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#171 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $119 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bettoja Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1875 the Hotel Massimo d’Azeglio has provided traditional hospitality to its numerous Italian and Foreign guests. Although through the years it has been refurbished many times the hotel has maintained its “turn of the century” character. Its halls, bar and restaurant house an important collection of paintings and prints of the Italian “Risorgimento”. The wood paneled Restaurant, with its famous wine cellar, is one of the best known in the city. The Massimo d’Azeglio Restaurant and Hotel has been included amongst the historic hotels of Italy. The Massimo d'Azeglio Hotel has 185 Rooms,3 Conference Rooms, Garage, Bar & Restaurant, Air Conditioning, TV Satellite, Minibar, Free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bettoja Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bettoja Massimo d Azeglio Rome
Bettoja Massimo d Azeglio Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing