We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value; clean room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Bettoja Massimo D'Azeglio
Ranked #334 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Columbia, SC
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good value; clean room”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Found the hotel to be a good value. Though not overly spacious, the room was adequate and clean. We were on the fourth floor and there was no noise from the street. The air conditioning worked well which was a blessing since it was over 100 degrees F. every day we were there. The breakfast was OK, though nothing special. The breakfast room could get a little crowded. Still, the "free" breakfast allows one to save a little money on food. There are some good restaurants nearby. The hotel can make recommendations. The staff was accommodating. There are two computers near the front desk where one can have access to the internet. The sister hotel, directly across the street, has a wonderful roof-top bar where one can go in the evening, and from a tenth-floor vantage point, look out over the city. Some evenings there is a piano player and singer. Be sure to check this out. It's open at least until midnight, maybe later. On our last day there, we asked the front desk to order a taxi to take us to the airport. I don't know if this was a special deal, but what arrived was a shiny black Mercedes that cost about five euros more than the standard posted taxi rate. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pawleyslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    420
    202
    67
    22
See reviews for
197
270
69
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portimao, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Pros:
. location, near the Termini station
. AC was good
. rooms were clean
. wi-fi all over the hotel (although low speed connection)
. staff was generally nice

Cons:
. breakfast: avoid the juices, the round breads and the cakes, they are horrible; fruit, toasts and croissants are a better choice.
. rooms could be bigger and have a better decoration (too old fashioned and overused furniture)
. twin room's beds were very narrow
. refrigerator barely working

Overall, it's a relatively cheap but decent hotel in a central location in Rome. Breakfast was the main weakness of the hotel. I would rate is as a 3 star, not 4.

PS: if you're going to Rome, beware of the taxi drivers in the aiport connections: almost every white taxi has a sign on the door stating that there's a fixed rate to and from the airports to Rome, including all charges (luggage, etc) but the drivers tend to ignore this and try to overcharge you. A better option would be the Terravision buses: much cheaper and fast (there are 2 every hour).

Room Tip: Choose a room with street view (Via Cavour)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank migk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

It's just around the corner of the railway station - so if you're arriving and leaving there it's an ideal location. All main sights are within walking distance - even some non-touristy restaurants.

The hotel itself has a very old-fashioned, old-style "puffy" lobby, which has a certain charm. The staff behind the reception was very efficient and there was nothing to complain about.

The hotel itself offers free wi-fi - although it's very slow, so checking email and reading the news is the maximum you can do - remote file access via VPN or watching movies wont work.

I had a single room, which was clean (even the mirrors didn't have anything on them - only when you looked in more detail on spots where cleaning is hard - e.g. certain parts of the bathroom ceiling, you could see some dirt) but very small. There was no street noise as the window looked into the yard, although when my "neighbours" took a shower it felt like they were showering in my room - meaning: the walls are very thin, you can hear everything that is going on in the next room.

In terms of TV channels they only have Italian channels + CNN and France24.

The hotel is

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank koberecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed at the Massimo for five nights in July. For a European hotel, the room we had (305) was fairly large (caution: this is small by North American standards).

We loved:
1) Having free wi-fi and breakfast. This will help cut down on your travel costs.
2) It's central location. You'll be two minutes (by walking) from Termini (the main rail station and a metro stop).
3) You'll also be about 20-30 minutes from some of Rome's best sights (i.e. Trevi fountain, Colosseum etc)
4) The staff are quite helpful. We had to leave at 4am on our last day - they ensured we were up for our shuttle and even made us a boxed breakfast to take on the road!
5) Access to an in-room safe - Rome has a reputation for pick pockets, so we found it helpful to lock up whatever Euro and cards we wouldn't need.

We hated:
1) The shower. The water pressure is good but the temperature started going wonky by the fourth day - I actually have a small burn on my foot because I couldn't jump out quick enough!
2) The beds were pretty uncomfortable - however from what I hear, this is what Italian beds are like!
3) The air conditioning started to crap out on the fourth day. The room did get quite warm (but be forewarned, most places in Rome will not be air conditioned to the same extent that North American rooms/restos are)

I would 100% recommend it if:
1) You'll be staying for about 3 days. I was quite anxious to leave by the last night.
2) You'll be travelling by train and need/want quick access to Termini
3) You don't mind walking because you will still be a decent walk from some sights...in the July heat, some people may find that to be a bit much :)

If you do choose to stay here:
1) They have a printer you can use - you can print any tour tickets if you forget.
2) Bring your own conditioner and moisturizer if you can't live without it. Most European hotels don't provide it.
3) There is a small drug store in Termini where you can pick up anything you may happen to forget.
4) Be weary of many of the restaurants on Via Cavour. We found both we tried were awful, but our best meals were within blocks of the restaurant...and recommended by the staff!

Room Tip: You do catch quite a bit of noise from hall traffic (i.e. people coming in later at night, leaving e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ottawa_mjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Good hotel, rooms strike you as old but were actually nice... They have to get rid of the bed covers since it makes it seem odd. Service was helpful and always greeted you with a smile, nice breakfast too.
Location is good right next to Termini so you can get everywhere really fast.
The only real bad thing was our bathroom which you had to pump several times in order to flush.
I'd defintely recommend! Had a nice time!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlesMuntz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Basically a nice place with a good location and price, however our room definitely had bedbugs! I got bit twice the first night and then Googled bed bugs to see if that's what bit me and sure enough it matched - three small bites in a row breakfast, lunch and dinner just as the internet describe the bites to look like. I then complained, but because they were booked up and had no extra rooms they could not change our room. So they ended up just giving me extra sheets and I slept the next three nights with long sleeve pants and shirt. I also agree with the previous comments that this hotel could use some updating (and new mattresses).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yssej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

The Massimo is well located for a short stay in Rome - very close to the central railway station, the metro and bus routes. As well as the hotel's own restaurant, there is a wide range of restaurants nearby. The breakfast provides a good variety of choices. The main drawback is that the basic rooms are on the small side, with not much space for a travelling couple. The airconditioning also had to work very hard to cope with the afternoon summer sun in our room facing Via Cavour.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank John720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Bettoja Hotel Mediterraneo
Esquilino
Bettoja Atlantico Hotel
Bettoja Atlantico Hotel
#545 of 1,257 in Rome
509 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma
#250 of 1,257 in Rome
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Augusta Lucilla Palace
Augusta Lucilla Palace
#187 of 1,257 in Rome
1,687 reviews
Esquilino
UNA Hotel Roma
UNA Hotel Roma
#106 of 1,257 in Rome
3,031 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Genova
Hotel Genova
#449 of 1,257 in Rome
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bettoja Massimo D'Azeglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bettoja Massimo D'Azeglio

Property: Bettoja Massimo D'Azeglio
Address: Via Cavour 18, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#180 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bettoja Massimo D'Azeglio 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1875 the Hotel Massimo d’Azeglio has provided traditional hospitality to its numerous Italian and Foreign guests. Although through the years it has been refurbished many times the hotel has maintained its “turn of the century” character. Its halls, bar and restaurant house an important collection of paintings and prints of the Italian “Risorgimento”. The wood paneled Restaurant, with its famous wine cellar, is one of the best known in the city. The Massimo d’Azeglio Restaurant and Hotel has been included amongst the historic hotels of Italy. The Massimo d'Azeglio Hotel has 185 Rooms,3 Conference Rooms, Garage, Bar & Restaurant, Air Conditioning, TV Satellite, Minibar, Free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bettoja Massimo D'Azeglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bettoja Massimo d Azeglio Rome
Bettoja Massimo d Azeglio Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing