We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Diplomatic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Diplomatic
Ranked #229 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is the second time we have chosen to stay at Hotel Diplomatic when in Rome and we were not disappointed this time either.
Great location, thought the breakfast was great compared to most Continental breakfasts offered, the cappuccino was excellent and the waitress that served us was awesome...
The standard rooms are small (typical of Rome hotels) but if you upgraded to a superior room they were spacious with very comfortable beds.
Would recommend to any of our personal friends or family looking for affordable accommodation in central Rome.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 405 and it was great, clean, quiet and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Diplomatic, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice words about Hotel Diplomatic!

We are very happy to hear from you that our service exceed again your expectations and that you had a good time in Rome.
We hope to see you again very soon in Rome!

Best Regards

Flavia
Guest Relations
Groupe Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    425
    108
    22
    13
See reviews for
130
372
27
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane Oz
Level Contributor
116 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

The front entry to the hotel is very small only having a frontage of about 4 metres, the lobby is also quite small. We arrived at midday and were able to go straight to our room, check in was smooth, front desk staff polite and helpful, we had to leave our room key when going out but that doesn't worry us...(don't forget the cleaner has a key) that way you can't lose it either. There was a small slow lift between floors.
Our room window looked out to the rear of other buildings and our room was a bit dark, good for sleeping. The bed was quite firm and the bathroom compact but lovely, all decked out in marble. We had a small minibar fridge and a room safe. There were no tea/coffee making facilities which is common in European countries. The room was clean and had a small lounge in an alcove between the main room and the bathroom which you couldn't sit on to watch TV but was handy to put our suitcases on.
Breakfast comprised of cereal, fruit, toast, some gorgeous custard filled croissants, ham and cheese but no hot food. It is served in a lovely light and airy room with an outdoor courtyard as another option.
The location of the hotel was quite good. Armed with a map of Rome given to us when we arrived we set out that afternoon for a walk, crossing the river we headed for the Spanish Steps which is a 13 minute walk, it wasn't too far then to the Trevi Fountain, about 11 minutes and once there then the Colosseum is a 20 minute walk. Of course there is lots to see along the way and you could catch a cab or the metro back...we walked taking in the Pantheon and the Piazza Navona on the way back. It is a 6.5klm round trip but it indicates just how close the attractions are and how walkable this city is.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oztripperz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Diplomatic, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for leaving a nice review about Hotel Diplomatic!

We are glad to hear from you that you had a pleasent stay and that you found the hotel services good and the location comfortable enough to reach easily many attractions!

We hope to see you again very soon in Rome
Best Regards

Flavia
Guest Relations
Groupe Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Great location and room. The TV was too smal and old, though. The breakfast is good, but there could be a little more variety. Maybe the worst part is the elevator, since there is only one and it´s too small. I had to use the stairs sometimes. The service is great. The front desk attendants are really nice. In short, it´s great value for money: comfortable and clean.

Room Tip: As the elevator is small and slow, prefer the first or second floor, and use the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergio303631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Diplomatic, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving a review about Hotel Diplomatic!

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Rome and that you had a good time with us.

We hope to see you again

Best Regards

Flavia
Guest Relations
Groupe Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

picked this hotel after reading all the positive reviews and i am glad i did. Situated in a wonderful area only a short walk to the vatican city, and near all the other attractions. Nice clean rooms and a great breakfast to set you up for the day. Staff are polite and helpful. Nice restaurants nearby and not to pricey. Have already booked up for next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JACQUELINE866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Diplomatic, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review about Hotel Diplomatic.

We are very happy to hear that you found the location comfortable and that you appreciated the service provided by our staff.

Best Regards

Flavia
Guest Relations
Groupe Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We just came back from spending 7 wonderful nights at Hotel Diplomatic.
All the reviews are accurate... this hotel is the best for your stay in Rome!! The staff, the cleanliness, the yummy breakfast, the perfect location, the price....you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank argus619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Diplomatic, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice words about hotel Diplomatic!

We are glad to hear from you that you had a great time in Rome and that you enjoyed our hotel.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Best Regards

Flavia
Guest Relations
Groupe Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Diplomatic. It was a wonderful hotel very clean comfortable rooms. The staff were helpful arranging site seeing trips and recommending restaurants. The breakfast room was lovely, the food good. We would definitely stay there again. It exceeded our expectations for everything, location, value and service. Ellie Armstrong. Canada

Room Tip: We asked for a view and had a room that on opening the drapes and window looked down the street oppo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Webbie32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Diplomatic, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice words about Hotel DIplomatic!

We are pleased to hear from you that you appreciated the service provided by our staff and that you had a great time in Rome.
We hope to see you again very soon in Rome.

Best Regards

Flavia
Guest Relations
Groupe Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Excellent service, clean and spacious room, perfect location. There are couple of nice restaurants near the hotel where locals dine, so we enjoyed nice Italian food at a reasonable price. Hotel Diplomatic offers real value for money. We will definitelly stay at Hotel Diplomatic next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Vojkan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Diplomatic, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review about Hotel Diplomatic!

We are glad to know that you spent a good time in Rome and that you found the hotel location comfortable and useful.
We hope to see you again very soon!

Best regards

Flavia
Guest Relations
Groupe Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Hotel Sant'Angelo
Hotel Sant'Angelo
#339 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Prati
Hotel Relais dei Papi
Hotel Relais dei Papi
#228 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Prati
Roma dei Papi - Hotel de Charme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Hotel Isa
Hotel Isa
#76 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Prati
Le Meridien Visconti Rome
Prati
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
#188 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diplomatic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diplomatic

Property: Hotel Diplomatic
Address: Via Vittoria Colonna 28, 00193 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#234 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#307 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Diplomatic 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Diplomatic. A truly memorable holiday.With its gold and marble decor and high ceilings, in the Italian late 19th century style called Umbertino, the Hotel Diplomatic is considered a "classic" Roman hotel, thanks to its timeless elegance. The hotel is appreciated by both business and leisure guests, especially for its strategic location, between the world famous Vatican Museums and the fascinating boutiques in the environs of the Spanish Steps. A prestigious venue, it has been completely refurbished and offers 45 comfortable, spacious and airy rooms, equipped with top level amenities. The large patio on the first floor is truly unique, for relaxing and enjoying a huge array of tasty specialties at breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Diplomatic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomatic Hotel Rome
Hotel Diplomatic Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing