We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shopping and sightseeing in Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Diplomatic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Diplomatic
Ranked #225 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Goldbach, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Shopping and sightseeing in Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is our 5th trip to Rome and we stayed always in Hotel Diplomatic. This is the best recommendation we can give.

The venue is very nice, staff is very kind. Best Hotel to discover Rome City Center, which is very close by (same for Vatican).

We'll be back soon...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Isabel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Diplomatic, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review about Hotel Diplomatic.

We are very happy to hear the you always had a good time in Rome and at our hotel. We hope to see you again very soon.

Best Regards

Flavia
Guest Relations
Groupe Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    425
    108
    22
    13
See reviews for
130
373
27
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Biella, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

I booked a room here using booking.com website. I got a really good price.
The staff were all extremely friendly. Breakfast was good. Room clean and spacious. Air conditioning worked really well. Great location, plenty of buses right outside. 10 min walk to piazza Navona. Shuttle bus to airport 5 mins walk away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank P B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Diplomatic, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review about Hotel Dioplomatic. We are glad you had a good time with us and that you found the hotel location and service comfortable and efficient.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Best Regards

Flavia
Guest Relations
Groupe Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We came to this hotel after saying in Italy for 2 weeks already and my partner and I had been very happy with all previous hotels. On first arrival of Hotel diplomatic it was nothing interesting on the exterior. The staff were wonderfully nice and helpful however the lift can not fit more than 2 people and as we were on the 4th floor with a floor above us if we waited for a lift and someone was already in it we had to walk. We ended up walking the 4 floors for the 5 days we were at the hotel as it was easier then waiting for a lift. When we checked in we were asked if we wanted smoking or non smoking room. We opted for smoking thinking there may be a balcony however the room was really very small and there was a window that opened however no where to step out on to. This may have been my mistake for not knowing that Europeans would permit smoking in such a small enclosed area. We woke many times in the night as we believe the airconditioning was attached because someone else was smoking and it would come through our airconditioning.
The hotel was very central to everything and you only needed to walk to see all the sights. Next door was a lovely restaurant that served the most magnificant food.
All in all this was a average hotel but with fantastic stafff.

Room Tip: Unless you would be happy smoking in a lift dont choose a smoking room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Diplomatic, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We are pleased you found the location of Hotel diplomatic comfortable and practical and that our staff was helpfull. However, we wuold like to inform our guests that is not always possible to offer big rooms with facilities such as balcony, since the hotel is situated in the centre of Rome and this position doesn't allowed to have large spaces. We apologize for the issue you had to face for the air conditioner that, for sure, it won't happen again.

We hope to see you again in Rome.

Best Regards

Flavia
Groupe Valadier
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
121 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Hotel Diplomatic is an old-world hotel away from downtown Rome. It's got some big pluses and some big minuses.

First, this property is a good value during peak travel months. It's very close to Vatican City, and there's a bus stop across the street to connect you to Rome's transit system. The staff is very friendly, always accommodating.

But on the other hand, it's definitely as up-to-date as other hotels I've encountered in Europe. I think this was an Italian thing and not the hotel so much, but the light switches were all black, similar and unmarked...so turning things on and off was difficult. The room key is an old-style key attached to a key chain that must have weighed a pound or two (luckily, they offer to keep it while you leave the hotel). There was a bidet in the bathroom that didn't really work. The water flowed, but the nozzle pointed down the bidet drain, so it didn't really serve its purpose.

And the air conditioner never really cooled the room down as much as I wanted it to.

Breakfast was a little disappointing, with basically what you'd find in a Hampton Inn or LaQuinta.

Overall, the people are good, the location is great, and that's about it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texasbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Diplomatic, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear guest,

We are happy you enjoyed your stay in Rome. We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. We would definitely make some changes regarding the issues you listed us in order to make your next stay with us even better.

We hope to see you again in Rome

Best Regards

Flavia
Guest Relations
Groupe Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was our third trip to Rome and the second stay at Hotel Diplomatic. We were in Rome for over two weeks and stayed here the entire time. It's location is excellent, the staff are friendly and helpful, the room over the courtyard with a view of the Pantheon was lovely and you just can't ask for a better bathroom (with tub and shower). The staff remembered us from our trip two years previous which made us feel very welcome. I love this little hotel, it feels like home and when we go back to Rome, we'll be staying here again. By the way, the coffee is superb at breakfast. I can't wait to get back.

Room Tip: The rooms that front the main street are supposedly a little noisy, but it's Rome for Pete's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbussey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Diplomatic, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing hotel Diplomatic again and for your nice review.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. One of our main goal is to make our guest feel like they are at home and we are glad you appreciated our service.

We are looking forward to see you again very soon at Hotel Diplomatic and we wish you our best regards.

Flavia Guest Relations
Groupe Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

stayed for 3 days in this hotel last week, hotel is in the middle of vatican city and the via del corso sights(spanish steps, trevi fountain etc). walking distance to all main attractions. our room was small and outdated but had good wifi and AC especially on the summer months when Rome weather can be extremely warm. the hotel staff are very nice and accommodating. :-) breakfast is okay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonaldMai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Diplomatic, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing hotel Diplomatic for your stay in Rome.

We are very happy you appreciated our service and facilities. As you said, Rome in summer time is very hot, but we hope that the location of our hotel has been helpfull.

We hope to see you again in Rome.

Best Regards

Flavia
Guest Relations
Groupe Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just back from a week at diplomatic hotel.The staff were all friendly and helpful.The room was spacious well cleaned every day and the continental breakfast was fine.The hotels location enabled us to walk to all the sights,no need for taxis or public transport.The local area has several restaurants to suit all budgets.Found them to be great value for money. If returning to rome would stay at hotel diplomatic again.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel,so very quiet.The rooms at the front are on a very busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Hotel Sant'Angelo
Hotel Sant'Angelo
#332 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Prati
Hotel Relais dei Papi
Hotel Relais dei Papi
#222 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Prati
Roma dei Papi - Hotel de Charme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Hotel Isa
Hotel Isa
#76 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Prati
Le Meridien Visconti Rome
Prati
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
#190 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diplomatic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diplomatic

Property: Hotel Diplomatic
Address: Via Vittoria Colonna 28, 00193 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#234 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#307 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Diplomatic 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Diplomatic. A truly memorable holiday.With its gold and marble decor and high ceilings, in the Italian late 19th century style called Umbertino, the Hotel Diplomatic is considered a "classic" Roman hotel, thanks to its timeless elegance. The hotel is appreciated by both business and leisure guests, especially for its strategic location, between the world famous Vatican Museums and the fascinating boutiques in the environs of the Spanish Steps. A prestigious venue, it has been completely refurbished and offers 45 comfortable, spacious and airy rooms, equipped with top level amenities. The large patio on the first floor is truly unique, for relaxing and enjoying a huge array of tasty specialties at breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Diplomatic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomatic Hotel Rome
Hotel Diplomatic Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing