We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay at Hotel Diplomatic”
Review of Hotel Diplomatic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Diplomatic
Ranked #204 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was our third trip to Rome and the second stay at Hotel Diplomatic. We were in Rome for over two weeks and stayed here the entire time. It's location is excellent, the staff are friendly and helpful, the room over the courtyard with a view of the Pantheon was lovely and you just can't ask for a better bathroom (with tub and shower). The staff remembered us from our trip two years previous which made us feel very welcome. I love this little hotel, it feels like home and when we go back to Rome, we'll be staying here again. By the way, the coffee is superb at breakfast. I can't wait to get back.

Room Tip: The rooms that front the main street are supposedly a little noisy, but it's Rome for Pete's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbussey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Diplomatic, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing hotel Diplomatic again and for your nice review.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. One of our main goal is to make our guest feel like they are at home and we are glad you appreciated our service.

We are looking forward to see you again very soon at Hotel Diplomatic and we wish you our best regards.

Flavia Guest Relations
Groupe Valadier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (810)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 810 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

stayed for 3 days in this hotel last week, hotel is in the middle of vatican city and the via del corso sights(spanish steps, trevi fountain etc). walking distance to all main attractions. our room was small and outdated but had good wifi and AC especially on the summer months when Rome weather can be extremely warm. the hotel staff are very nice and accommodating. :-) breakfast is okay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonaldMai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Diplomatic, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing hotel Diplomatic for your stay in Rome.

We are very happy you appreciated our service and facilities. As you said, Rome in summer time is very hot, but we hope that the location of our hotel has been helpfull.

We hope to see you again in Rome.

Best Regards

Flavia
Guest Relations
Groupe Valadier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just back from a week at diplomatic hotel.The staff were all friendly and helpful.The room was spacious well cleaned every day and the continental breakfast was fine.The hotels location enabled us to walk to all the sights,no need for taxis or public transport.The local area has several restaurants to suit all budgets.Found them to be great value for money. If returning to rome would stay at hotel diplomatic again.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel,so very quiet.The rooms at the front are on a very busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Very nice hotel, with a very kind staff. The location is perfect, as it's a bit far from the crowds yet very close to the city centre. The room was very nice and clean, perfect size for a single person. Sheets and towels were changed everyday and the bed very confortable. Breakfast is fine acording to the italian standards. I really recomend this hotel and would surely come back if I go back to Roma. :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank 605madalena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Evrithing was fine. Great hotel, with friendly staff. Nice location, nice price for this kind of hotels. The food was great, but the transaction from airoport and back was quite expencive. Thanks a lot for good weekends, we will come again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dmitriy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed in September 2012. Very good location for the vatican and a lot of the other sights. We didnt bother with the bus, just got a weekend pass for the metro and we used to walk the 8-10 mins to Lepanto metro station. A lovely Hotel. The room was fine. Plenty of space. Spotlessly clean. A perfect location for a weekend city break in Rome, (although you'd probably need a week to see eveything!).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank donomalley282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Diplomatic, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are glad to hear from you that you had a lovely time in Rome and that our staff and our sevice contributed to make it even more special.

Hoping to see you again

Best Regards

Flavia
Guest Relations
Hotel Valadier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Hotel Diplomatic was very nice. Had a room on the 5th floor near the street but it was very quiet. Room great size with shower that was somewhat strange...no curtain. Breakfast was good. Bus right outside hotel. Could walk to Vatican, Spanish Steps, Pantheon and Trivie Fountain. Definitely in a great neighborhood. Very close to nice restaurants. Highly recommend this hotel. If you are a party of four, the hotel can arrange for a van to take you to the airport that will fit in a-l-l your luggage for 50 euros.

Room Tip: The 5th floor has a balcony that you can walk out on...very nice. We went in early May so we didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank IreneG11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Hotel Sant'Angelo
Hotel Sant'Angelo
#361 of 1,271 in Rome
912 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Imperium Suite Navona
Imperium Suite Navona
#678 of 1,271 in Rome
493 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Anahi
Hotel Anahi
#110 of 1,271 in Rome
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Hotel Del Corso
Hotel Del Corso
#313 of 1,271 in Rome
731 reviews
Prati
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
#286 of 1,271 in Rome
601 reviews
Prati
Hotel Isa
Hotel Isa
#65 of 1,271 in Rome
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diplomatic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diplomatic

Address: Via Vittoria Colonna 28, 00193 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#234 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#307 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $72 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Diplomatic 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Diplomatic. A truly memorable holiday.With its gold and marble decor and high ceilings, in the Italian late 19th century style called Umbertino, the Hotel Diplomatic is considered a "classic" Roman hotel, thanks to its timeless elegance. The hotel is appreciated by both business and leisure guests, especially for its strategic location, between the world famous Vatican Museums and the fascinating boutiques in the environs of the Spanish Steps. A prestigious venue, it has been completely refurbished and offers 45 comfortable, spacious and airy rooms, equipped with top level amenities. The large patio on the first floor is truly unique, for relaxing and enjoying a huge array of tasty specialties at breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Splitty, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Diplomatic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomatic Hotel Rome
Hotel Diplomatic Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing