We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Ranked #85 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

2,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,407
    579
    153
    43
    25
See reviews for
427
1,204
64
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed in this hotel several times over the last 10 years. The service, the view are excellent but the hotel has not been renovated and needs new bathrooms.
It is centrally located and is walking distance to the Via Veneto , the Pantheon, Villa Borghese and the Spanish steps.
Rooms are quite small .

Room Tip: Try to get a higher floor so you have the view of the city of Rome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lucillecarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, General Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very honored you chose the Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese for your stay in the “Eternal City” over the last 10 years.

I thank you for your loyalty and for pointing out our high standard of services in all areas of the hotel. This means a lot to us! We genuinely look after our guests. We work with passion.

Rest assured that we do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. Your satisfaction is our priority!

We then look forward to welcoming you back to our centrally located hotel during your next visit in the 'Eternal City'!

A très bientot!

Best regards.

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

What can we say, just a beautiful hotel. Great location only 5-10 minutes from the Spanish steps. My husband & I dined on the rooftop terrace. The food, view & service was amazing. Our room was amazing. We travelled with our 2 young teens & had adjoining rooms. They were quiet big rooms for Europe standard. Will definitely stay at the Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese when we return to Rome.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, General Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear guest,

I am extremely thankful to you for this marvellous feedback!

I am really glad to hear that you have enjoyed so much your stay.

I thank you for mentioning into details you very satisfactory experience throughout the different departments in the hotel.

Your lovely words will serve as an encouragement to keep on providing such high standard of services.

We all look forward to welcoming you and your family back at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese.

Au revoir,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

If you would like to know what your coffin will feel like when you die this your chance. They claim it's 80msq, obviously sofitel just lies. I'm in room 107 aside from a road running past it, and a size that meant the room service trolly could not even get in the door. When I called about the internet not working they said all rooms in my price catogary are like this. I thought this is a mausoleum not a hotel. I feel sorry for the chef as the food for room service was excellent. If you feel like paying up for a chance to find out what a dark tiny coffin feels like then this is for you.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
7 Thank Manydaysaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

We reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese.

Rest assured that we do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get to help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.

Our daily main concern is to look after our guests offering them our undivided attention. This is the reason why we are so sorry to hear your disappointment. We do sincerely apologize for the inconvenience.

If you would like to discuss your experience with me, please send an email to h1312-dm@accor.com so I may address it with you directly.

we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel.

We remain at your complete disposal.

Sincerely,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Great location. Walking distance from Spanish steps. Short cab rides to most of the great neighborhoods and touring spots in the city. Very friendly staff. In particular, we found Massimo and Luca to go beyond the call of duty in giving us advice on where to go and what to see. The concierge, Agostino, was not our favorite but the other staff made up for it and then some.
Rooftop bar/restaurant provides one of the city's great views.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, General Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear guest,

I thank you for your wonderful feedback!

Indeed we do our utmost to satisfy our guests and to anticipate their needs. I thank you for pointing out Massimo and Luca from reception. They are very dedicated.

Your satisfaction is our priority and we are very happy to know you spent a nice moment with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Let me say the service is really perfect. The location couldn't be better and the view from the terrace is terrific. We really enjoyed our stay and will surely choose the Sofitel again in Rome. A special memory goes to the restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elbert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, General Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear guest,

I was truly glad to hear about your great experience with us.

Indeed our central yet quiet location is one of our asset as well as the attentive and genuinely caring staff.

The La Terrasse Cuisine & Lounge team and I are very thankful to your excellent feedback. You have made their day! Indeed they have a true passion for their work and guests, as we all do at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese. Your words have served as an encouragement to keep on providing such high standard of services.

Once again thank you very much for your kind words!

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

Our room was nice and quiet! Which is a drastic difference from our hotel in the center of city. walking distance or a quick taxi away to everything! Staff was polite and efficient. We had dinner the first night on the roof top. It was kind of pricey but the view was amazing and the food was good.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasha_beachcomber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, General Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear guest,

We are very glad that you appreciated your stay among us and that you were very especially seduced by our services, as well as our location offering a breathtaking view on the Eternal City.

The Executive Chef felt really proud when hearing that you have had such an enjoyable dinner experience at our restaurant La Terrasse Cuisine & Lounge as he uses only the freshiest products on the market.

We are sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in near future.

Best regards,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#58 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#107 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#80 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese

Property: Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Address: Via Lombardia 47, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Rome
#52 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#59 Family Hotel in Rome
#77 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Bella Roma, overlooking the Villa Borghese gardens, Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese means an outstanding stay. French-style living and devoted personalized service a l’italienne. A haven of refinement celebrating a perpetually fascinating city. The Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese stands adjacent to its namesake, just a stone’s throw from the poetic Villa Medici and the famed Piazza di Spagna (Spanish Steps). 81 elegant guest rooms, including 3 penthouse suites with private terraces, overlook either the Villa Borghese gardens or the charming city streets. Flooded with light, decorated in Natural Chic style in warm jewel tones and accented with silken textiles. Relax in marble bathtub, awaken fully refreshed from a night in the Sofitel MyBed. Enjoy delightful drinks and divine Mediterranean cuisine at the splendorous rooftop restaurant La Terrasse Cuisine & Lounge. Start the day with an energizing selection of French and Italian specialties at the elegant restaurant La Litterature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Roma Villa Borghese Hotel Rome
Sofitel Hotel Rome
Sofitel Hotel Roma
Sofitel Rome
Rome Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing