We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Ranked #81 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Willemstad, Curacao
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fine stay”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Great to know that in spite of the European standards this one meets the Asian hospitality in a way. The hotel has a perfect location , a very friendly and English speaking staff and a superb breakfast. Our highlights were interesting tours that we have booked via the concierge. Andrea, the guide, has outstanding communication skills in perfect English and had an extensive knowledge of the history and culture of his city. And the lines in this mega tourism city were skipped as promised!. The only surprisingly negative side of our stay was the seemingly worn out condition of the mattresses of the beds (a hole in the center). A bit of a contradiction with the My-bed experience that the Accor hotels chain advertises and my experience with Sofitel , but the management apologized for the inconvenience and promised to put more effort to hold on to that standard. In spite of that , worthwhile in every sense of a nice stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sesua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, General Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am glad to hear that you have had an enjoyable experience at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese.

Thank you for pointing out the central quiet location, the marvellous concierge service as well as the lovely breakfast served to you in our restaurant Le Caravage. We proud ourselves in offering the freshiest seasonal products on the market.

We are very sorry however that the comfort of bed did not meet your full expectations; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies.

Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get to improve ourselves.

I am happy to see that the rest of your experience was satisfactory and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

A bientot!

Laurent Hudry
General Manager

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,465
    598
    159
    46
    25
See reviews for
445
1,252
64
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed here last week for 4 nights and were thoroughly impressed with the total hotel and experience. The rooms were beautifully decorated, the bathroom had a great shower and tub and included toiletries from Hermes. We had a room in the front of the building and had a view of the street and gardens across the way. The rooftop bar with terrace was beautiful, great view of St Peter's Basilica, although we didn't eat there. There are some nice restaurants within a few blocks and the Via Veneto is also a short walk away. The service was exceptional. We called housekeeping a few times, and they were there promptly. The best part of the whole experience was the wonderful bed, so comfortable it was hard to leave in the morning. Also, the Villa Borghese gardens are a few blocks away and a walk through them should not be missed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ggtravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, General Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed our central yet quiet location.

It was lovely to read such positive a feedback as yours.

Your satisfaction is our priority and we are very happy to know you spent a great experience with us.

I am glad to hear that once again Sofitel Luxury Hotels has achieved its goal in taking you to sleep like onto fluffy clouds. MyBed is truly unique!

We alI then look forward to welcoming you back soon to Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese.

As you know, 'All roads lead to Rome!'.

Au revoir,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Arrived after 24 hour flight from Australia via Hong Kong . The staff were all very helpful with checking in and looking after our luggage . Our room was lovely with a large bathroom . Dinner in the roof terrace was a highlight . Great views over the Vatican . From the moment we walked in to the time we left , the service was attentive making us feel completely relaxed . The meal was excellent with the Chef coming over to make sure all was as expected .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Snowgo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, General Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you sincerely for your lovely comment on TripAdvisor.

We are very glad that you appreciated your stay among us and that you were very especially seduced by our services, as well as our location offering a breathtaking view on the Eternal City.

Your satisfaction is our priority and we are very happy to know you spent a wonderful experience with us.

The Executive Chef felt really proud when hearing that you have had such an enjoyable dinner experience at our restaurant La Terrasse Cuisine & Lounge as he uses only the freshiest products on the market.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights in May, from the moment we arrived to leaving the staff where fantastic, from reception to doorman to waitresses and waiters. Our room was ready on arrival at 11.30am and after dropping off our luggage we went to the rooftop terrace where we had welcome non alcoholic drink, the view was amazing. We did not have breakfast included however we found a nice little place up the road (same side as hotel) on Via Lombardia for €25 for us both which included orange juice, tea or coffee, toast, fresh fruit and a croissant which set us up for our long day ahead sightseeing. We did not venture very far for an evening meal and just stayed on Via Lombardia as the side street restaurants offered good value for money.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Pagieslot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, General Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear guest,

I am really glad to hear that you have enjoyed so much your stay at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese.

Indeed our central yet quiet location is one of our asset as well as the attentive and genuinely caring staff.

Our daily main concern is to look after our guests offering them our undivided attention.

Your words have served as an encouragement to keep on providing such high standard of services.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We stayed in May 2014 for 4 nights to celebrate our 28th wedding anniversary. Everything was totally perfect...wonderful welcome, lovely room and delightful staff. Everyone made us so welcome. Great breakfast and fast, efficient room service ..tea arrived in less than 10 minutes .
Great location just minutes walk from the Spanish Steps. Could not recommend this hotel highly enough....we shall definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 709Gwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, General Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese on your visit to the “Eternal City”
in occasion of your 28th wedding anniversary!

Did you know that in 2012, Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese won the World Luxury Awards as “Best Luxury Romantic Hotel" in Italy?

We do our utmost to enchant our guests and I am glad to hear that we have achieved our aim.

It was great to read such positive a feedback like yours and I thank you for that.

We all look forward to your next visit, why not in occasion of your 29th wedding anniversary!

Best regards,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Hilltop location near the Spanish steps and Trevi fountain and close to main shopping areas if you are interested in fashion. We could easily walk to Roman Forum and other tourist areas though about 40 minute walk to The Vatican. Plenty of restaurants near by. Our room was large and modern with a good sized bathroom and good amenities. Great walk in dressing room. Food is top notch and expensive. We had a nice meal in La Terrace which has a great view to The Vatican City but came at a high price as did breakfast. There is only a breakfast restaurant and La Terrace bar and restaurant so limited choice as lobby bar not attended. Arriving the day after a double canonization meant the hotel was extremely busy but staff were still attentive and although our room was not ready did their best to ensure we were comfortable. Certainly a great luxury hotel in a quiet location.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane-Bruce-P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, General Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese on your visit to the “Eternal City”.

We are so happy to know that you enjoyed your time during your stay. We thank you for the positive review of our hotel.

As a matter of fact our daily main aim is to make our guests happy and we genuinely put a lot into it to provide the highest standard of services. I am most thankful to you for your kind words which are a true encouragement for the whole team.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Hidden behind the beautiful gardens off Via Venetto is this charming hotel that is a stone's throw away from the Spanish steps. It has the trademark of many of the Sofitel hotels in this part of Europe and while the French flair is found in a mainly Italian city, adds to the charm of this place. The breakfast is exceptional and the strawberry shortcake was a sparkling gem to the menú! Service is superb and while it may be a bit on the uppity side, you pay for what you get. The bath essentials are not scrimped - Hermés toiletries come in abundance, the bed is heavenly to sleep on, and the view...ahhhh...that's the story that the hotel will tell its guests. It won't have the spa or swimming pool you're looking for, but hey, you're in Rome not to swim but to appreciate the history of the city. And getting back at night to such peace and tranquility is the icing on the cake. Finally, it's in that part of the city where you won't need to be afraid of getting mugged or pickpocketed or robbed by some gypsy as the place itself is well secure.

Room Tip: pick a room where you can see the vatican...beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Benjamin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, General Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear guest,

I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed our central yet quiet location.

Indeed, for those who come to Rome in search of art and history but are also willing to be seduced by its elegant boutiques, the hotel has the perfect location. It's located within walking distance of Villa Borghese, the “Galleria Borghese”, the Spanish Steps, Pantheon, Trevi Fountain and the most exclusive boutiques in downtown Rome.

Our panoraqmic restaurant 'La Terrasse Cuisine & Lounge', overlooking the gardens of the Villa Borghese, the beautiful park of the Villa Medici, with the backdrop of the Dome of St. Peter's Basilica, offers a unique view of the "Eternal City.“

Thank you for pointing out the lovely breakfast served to you in our restaurant Le Caravage. We proud ourselves in offering the freshiest seasonal products on the market.

We were truly glad to provide you with our high level of services.

Thank you again for your kind words.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards.

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#62 of 1,263 in Rome
1,366 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#129 of 1,263 in Rome
929 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#105 of 1,263 in Rome
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#116 of 1,263 in Rome
857 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese

Property: Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Address: Via Lombardia 47, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Rome
#53 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#59 Family Hotel in Rome
#77 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Bella Roma, overlooking the Villa Borghese gardens, Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese means an outstanding stay. French-style living and devoted personalized service a l’italienne. A haven of refinement celebrating a perpetually fascinating city. The Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese stands adjacent to its namesake, just a stone’s throw from the poetic Villa Medici and the famed Piazza di Spagna (Spanish Steps). 81 elegant guest rooms, including 3 penthouse suites with private terraces, overlook either the Villa Borghese gardens or the charming city streets. Flooded with light, decorated in Natural Chic style in warm jewel tones and accented with silken textiles. Relax in marble bathtub, awaken fully refreshed from a night in the Sofitel MyBed. Enjoy delightful drinks and divine Mediterranean cuisine at the splendorous rooftop restaurant La Terrasse Cuisine & Lounge. Start the day with an energizing selection of French and Italian specialties at the elegant restaurant La Litterature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, ACCOR, Travelocity, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Roma Villa Borghese Hotel Rome
Sofitel Hotel Rome
Sofitel Hotel Roma
Sofitel Rome
Rome Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing