We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Ranked #88 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Room size was average, nicely appointed. Location was very convenient to our business location. The staff was very friendly and professional. Breakfast great, but included in our room price. Paying for it separately would have been way too expensive. Awesome views from hotel rooftop restaurant. Within walking distance of metro. The bed was a little on the soft side. There was a down matress cover on the matress, I asked the staff to remove it and they immediately complied, but matress still a little too soft for me.

Room Tip: If you need a super-quiet room, ask for one facing the court yard, not the front of the hotel, while...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karlsruhe_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

I am most glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

I thank for your pointing out many of our assets here at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese. The central yet quiet location is one of them but the one we are the most proud of is our high standard of services.

Indeed we pay special attention into details which are not as a matter of fact. Everything is important when you are away from home.

I am sorry however to hear that the comfort of bed was not to your full satisfaction. Again, thank you for your constructive comments which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon, next time with your family!

Best regards,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

667 - 673 of 2,364 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014

time after time i am amazed of how good this chain is.it is a real five star chain and this sofitel in rome is no exception .
its an old building very impressive .the rooms are nicely decorated and the sofitel my bed policy makes the sleep feel like heaven .
the customer service is one of a kind truly for the books.special thanks to ivan he was very helpful.
what can i say ,pure joy.

Room Tip: ask for quiet room on high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank israeliontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese.

We do our utmost to enchant our guests and I am glad to hear that we have achieved our aim.

We thank you for mentioning our receptionist Ivan in your feedback. It is extremely rewarding for the team to get such gratitude from our guests.

We were delighted to provide you with our undivided attention and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

A bientot!

Best regards.

Laurent Hudry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We booked a four night break in Rome at this hotel and had the misfortune to be at the hotel when it was hosting a Business Conference and a High Profile Reception which resulted in the hotel and its staff being in complete disarray with constant movement of restaurant furniture between the ground floor and the rooftop terrace on the 7th floor. We were not advised of the situation, either before we travelled or on arrival at the hotel. Instead, the manager chose to leave a letter in our room each day advising of areas we were denied access to the following day i.e. restaurant, lounges, public areas and the bar
The last straw for us was when we were advised that on Thursday 21st November access to all areas was denied and the manager thought it perfectly acceptable for us to stay in our room where they would provide room service 24/24! We booked and paid for a break in a 5*luxury hotel with all the facilities it had to offer but sadly were denied them. We fully understand that out of the main tourist season hotels need to boost their income by hosting this sort of event but it should never be to the detriment of all other guests staying in the hotel.
The location of this hotel is a little out of town and up a hill which some may find difficult. However, it takes less than 10 minutes to walk to the Spanish Steps and a little longer to the Trevi Fountain. You might want to take a taxi back from town after a hard day.
We found all the staff to be friendly and willing but sadly lacking any direction or communication from the management of this establishment.
The roof top terrace has stunning views and is probably ideal in the summer. However, the bar area lacked any ambience in the winter and would have been better located on the ground floor. We do not recommend the restaurant.
On a high note the room was lovely: quiet, spacious, beautifully furnished and facing the Borghese gardens. We were told by the manager just before we left that we had received an upgrade to what we believe was a superior room but the other person who travelled with us received no such upgrade and was allocated a twin room when a double had been booked with the hotels response being to push the two beds together and make it up as a double!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorsetDarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking time to post your comments and for your constructive feedback.

We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get.

We do apologize sincerely for the miscommunication with the private function before your arrival and for any inconvenience that may have caused during your stay.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We are pleased to hear however that you enjoyed the friendliness of our staff, the elegance of your room and the breathtaking view over the 'Eternal City' from our panoramic terrace.

Again, thank you for the comments which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

We remain at your complete disposal for any assistance you may have.

Best regards.

Laurent Hudry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed in 4 hotels while in Italy in October 2013. The Sofitel was far and away the most comfortable and enjoyable. From check in to check out (4 nights) service, amenities, and the overall location offered us ease with respect to sights, cafés, restaurants, shopping, and lovely strolls in the gardens; comfort edging over into a luxurious feel. Our room was in the front and had a little balcony that we could step out on and take in the view. The room was very comfortable and well appointed. Imagine comfort edging into a luxurious feel from good reading lights,
to great pillows and linens. The staff was superb- the concierge was attentive, taxis arrived as needed and the trip was logged so we never experienced any round about routes etc-- there was a welcoming lack of "snootiness" and the nights were quiet.
Our only "eh" experience at the hotel and advice would be not to eat in the roof top restaurant--just go up and have a drink, enjoy the incredible view of Rome at night, and then go eat somewhere else. The menu was meh while the prices were very high.There are some great little restaurants nearby and the front desk will point you in the right direction.

Room Tip: We loved our room - it was in the front and over the entrance. Those rooms have little balconies and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Guest,

I am extremely thankful to you for pointing Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese out as one of the best hotels you have ever been to.

It is such a praise to our high standards of service. Thank you so much for mentioning it. This means a lot to the team and I!

We genuinely look after our guests and love to indulge them.

I am sorry however to hear that prices at restaurant was not to your full satisfaction. Kindly allow me to mention that our Executive Chef uses only the freshiest products on the market. Moreover, we have aligned our offering to other outlets with such a unique panoramic view in the area. Nevertheless please rest assured that I have taken note of your comments and will review these with the F&B Director.

I am glad to see that the rest of your experience was wonderful and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards.

Laurent Hudry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I'm surprised by this hotel's stellar ratings on Tripadvisor.

I found the decor of the hotel to be a bit dated. The lobby is clearly renovated and glamorous, but not the upper floors or the rooms, which gives you the strange feeling of being transported to a mediocre 4 star hotel from another century after the elevator ride. Why don't hotels invest more in parts of the hotel where guests actually spend most of their time?

The location is OK... but not if you're a keen tourist who enjoys walking everywhere. The hotel is, as other reviewers noted, located near Villa Borghese/Via Veneto, which is a terrific neighborhood for sightseeing... but the Hotel is in a quiet corner uphill. In terms of physical distance on a map it is very close to the Spanish steps, but there is a hill that separates the two, so you have to walk around it, making the trip a much longer one. Every single time I walk to and from the hotel, I wish it were 4-5 streets closer to everything else and not on top of a slope.

Redeeming points: For the most part, friendly and competent staff who never forget to say "bonjour" whether you are French or not. The beds are very comfortable, which in the end is one of the most important things.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank asiapproach8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking time to post your comments and for your nice words about our staff kindness and helpfulness. We were truly glad to provide you with our high level of services.

Moreover, we are glad to hear that once again Sofitel Luxury Hotels has achieved its goal in taking you to sleep like onto fluffy clouds. MyBed™ is indeed a unique bedding concept created exclusively for Sofitel, offering highly discerning guests bespoke mattress, base and featherbed combinations.

We are very sorry however to hear that you were disappointed by your room. Rest assured that we do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get.

Again, thank you for the comments which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.

Sincerely,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The hotel is in a nice quiet corner of Rome, between the Via Veneto and the Villa Borghese Park.

The room was the usual excellent Sofitel standards: comfortable, spotless throughout and very quiet. Staff were very gracious and helpful, check-in and check-out was quick and efficient.

The hotel is a 10 mins walk from dozen's of excellent eateries, we used Gargani down the road to provision an excellent picnic for the park.

Almost all of the sites of Rome are a quick €10 taxi ride away.

I'd like to thank the hotel staff for all there hard work, it was much appreciated.

Room Tip: Make sure to have a drink on the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hareward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, General Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

It was lovely to read such positive a feedback as yours. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese and thank you very much for the positive review of our hotel.

We try and provide an excellent service to all of our guests and I thank you for pointing this out in your lines above.

We then look forward to welcoming you back very soon in the "Eternal City".

Best Regards

Laurent Hudry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed in the Sofitel in Dec. The location is peaceful and safe with a couple of cafes/bars close by for breakfast. It took less than 10 mins walk to get to the Spanish Steps and there are numerous shops and restaurants on the way.
The room was clean and spacious and the bathroom was large and well equipped with toiletries etc. We found the staff friendly and helpful. I'd definitely book again, perfect for week-end break.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wmv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, General Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

I thank for your pointing out many of our assets here at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese. The central yet quiet location is one of them but the one we are the most proud of is our high standard of services.

The whole staff was also grateful to your praise regarding their friendliness and helpfulness.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Best regards,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#55 of 1,270 in Rome
1,430 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#135 of 1,270 in Rome
971 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#106 of 1,270 in Rome
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Trastevere
Gran Melia Rome
Gran Melia Rome
#89 of 1,270 in Rome
1,483 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#110 of 1,270 in Rome
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese

Address: Via Lombardia 47, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Rome
#46 Family Hotel in Rome
#58 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#77 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $260 - $538 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Bella Roma, overlooking the Villa Borghese gardens, Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese means an outstanding stay. French-style living and devoted personalized service a l’italienne. A haven of refinement celebrating a perpetually fascinating city. The Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese stands adjacent to its namesake, just a stone’s throw from the poetic Villa Medici and the famed Piazza di Spagna (Spanish Steps). 81 elegant guest rooms, including 3 penthouse suites with private terraces, overlook either the Villa Borghese gardens or the charming city streets. Flooded with light, decorated in Natural Chic style in warm jewel tones and accented with silken textiles. Relax in marble bathtub, awaken fully refreshed from a night in the Sofitel MyBed. Enjoy delightful drinks and divine Mediterranean cuisine at the splendorous rooftop restaurant La Terrasse Cuisine & Lounge. Start the day with an energizing selection of French and Italian specialties at the elegant restaurant La Litterature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Roma Villa Borghese Hotel Rome
Sofitel Hotel Rome
Sofitel Hotel Roma
Sofitel Rome
Rome Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing