We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - highly recommended!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Ranked #85 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank HallsRT
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,313)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

707 - 713 of 2,313 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

We were shocked on the arrival to discover that Peaceful and spacious Luxury Room measuring 355 sq. ft. (33 m²) we booked is a worn, narrow arrangement of two small sections separated by a bathroom in the middle. We felt further cheated when we looked out of the window: in Sofitel peaceful means facing a hotel's ventilation ducts in a narrow, shaft-like courtyard. To add insult to injury they gave us a smoking room.
We stayed in Sofitel hotels in different countries and relied on the brand to expect a transparent and consistent service. We were let down by Sofitel Rome. Beware.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Scruffles2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking time to post your comments.

For us your and all the others guests' comments are crucial to improve every day our service and to keep high the quality and the level of our hotel.

We are very sorry to hear that the room was not to your full satisfaction; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies.

If you would like to discuss your experience with us, please send an email to h1312-dm@sofitel.com so we may address it with you directly.

Thank you again for sharing your experience as every guest impression is valuable and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I note that the great majority of recent reviews for this hotel are excellent, and therefore I am conscious of being in the minority. But I have stayed in a number of Sofitel hotels in various countries so I am comparing my exprience of them when I write this.

Despite the excellent, friendly and very willing to help staff in the hotel, we were disappointed with our room (a recent contributor got it spot on when he said that your experience at this hotel will greatly depend on the room you get). Well we thought a Superior room would meet our expectations (as they are not cheap), but were disappointed with the lack of relaxing chairs in the room, the size of the room and the lack of view. And the bathroom is an average size rather than a superior one!

So without any tea/ coffee facilities in the room and nowhere to sit comfortably in the room if you ordered room service, you are left with 2 options - go up to the 7th floor for a coffee in the La Terrasse lounge or sit in the Club Le Boston on the ground floor. La Terrasse is a nice contemporary bar/ restaurant but not really an area for afternoon tea/coffee and the Club Le Boston feels more set up for Business guests rather than tourists. In fact we had coffee twice in the Club Le Boston and both times it felt like we were going against the norm (we never saw anyone else drinking in there).

Then there's the location. Yes you've got Harry's Bar just up the road, and yes you've got a couple of reasonable restaurants within walking distance. But to get anywhere 'lively' you have to take a taxi (unless you're fit and up for walking back up the steep hill to the hotel late in the evening!).

Breakfast is good - but note you eat breakfast in the basement - and the cleanliness of the hotel can't be faulted.

But for a 5 star hotel, and the price we paid, we would be looking for alternative hotels if we returned to Rome.

Room Tip: Pay more for a substantial room with a good view
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JJMcQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking time to post your comments.

It was nice to hear that our level of servics exceeded your expectations. Indeed we pay special attention into details which are not as a matter of fact. Everything is important when you are away from home.

I am sorry however to hear that you were disappointed by your room during your last stay.

Your comments are very important for us to improve ourselves and we will keep your remarks in our mind.

Overall we hope you could keep a nice memory of your stay in Rome and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regards.

Laurent Hudry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
Dothan
104
Reviewed September 16, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My husband surprised me with a trip to Rome and this was our base during our stay. The hotel is fabulous, stylish and very well located for visiting all the sights of Rome. It is set back in a quiet area and has fabulous views especially from the roof terrace. The staff are very attentive and helpful and the rooms were very opulent.

Room Tip: Any of the suites are amazing.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moosuddeea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese.

We try and provide an excellent service to all of our guests and I thank you for pointing this out in your lines above.

We then look forward to welcoming you back to our centrally located hotel in occasion perhaps of a next surprise of your husband!!!

A bientot!

Best regards.

Laurent Hudry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We spent 10 days in the Sofitel Villa Borghèse in Rome and it was a great experience.

The room was furnished within a old Italian style, but remains very comfortable. The service was great, and the hôtels facilities are enough if you spend your day out to visit. The business center is very useful to get access to a computer. The hotel has a restaurant located on a terrasse at the top, which is servicing great food (howevera bit expensive). The hotel has a wonderful location : short walk to the heart of the city - we visited Rome by walk, always taking the hotel as the central point, without any problem.

The only big issue we faced was something about credit card autorisation (the woman at the reception did a big mistake) but it was finally solved - and we they apologized for that issue. We rate the service at 'average' because of that reason, however.

All in all, a great experience there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arbre_Sage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking time to post your comments.

I was truly glad to hear about your great experience at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese.

Indeed we are centrally located yet on the quiet Via Lombardia street which is an asset after a busy day of business or shopping in Rome.

Service wise we try our utmost to indulge all of our guests as we have a passion for them.

We are pleased to read that the payment issue was resolved and hope that it did not impact your stay and the possibility of returning back to Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese.

Thank you again for your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Everything from the room to the service was an excellence! Best luxury experience ever! Very classic but with all the modern facilities. Spacious room with a nice city view, big bathroom. The LA TERRASSE CUISINE & LOUNGE restaurant will satisfy any gourmet!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

It is so pleasant to read such positive feedbacks as yours. Thank you!

As a matter of fact our daily main aim is to make our guests happy and we genuinely put a lot into it to provide the highest standard of services. I am most thankful to you for your kind words which are a true encouragement for the whole team.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

A bientot!

Best regards,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#60 of 1,267 in Rome
1,385 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#141 of 1,267 in Rome
939 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#110 of 1,267 in Rome
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#108 of 1,267 in Rome
1,119 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese

Address: Via Lombardia 47, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Rome
#55 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#59 Family Hotel in Rome
#77 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $278 - $628 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Bella Roma, overlooking the Villa Borghese gardens, Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese means an outstanding stay. French-style living and devoted personalized service a l’italienne. A haven of refinement celebrating a perpetually fascinating city. The Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese stands adjacent to its namesake, just a stone’s throw from the poetic Villa Medici and the famed Piazza di Spagna (Spanish Steps). 81 elegant guest rooms, including 3 penthouse suites with private terraces, overlook either the Villa Borghese gardens or the charming city streets. Flooded with light, decorated in Natural Chic style in warm jewel tones and accented with silken textiles. Relax in marble bathtub, awaken fully refreshed from a night in the Sofitel MyBed. Enjoy delightful drinks and divine Mediterranean cuisine at the splendorous rooftop restaurant La Terrasse Cuisine & Lounge. Start the day with an energizing selection of French and Italian specialties at the elegant restaurant La Litterature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Roma Villa Borghese Hotel Rome
Sofitel Hotel Rome
Sofitel Hotel Roma
Sofitel Rome
Rome Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing