We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made to feel special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Ranked #86 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

I have given Sofitel Rome top marks on everything. Brilliant staff, e.g cooking something special and off menu for me, (a pesky veggie!), bringing cashmere wraps out to us ladies on the terrace once the sun had gone, and happily sharing the recipe for the best basil bramble I have ever tasted!! I could go on with the compliments!! Luigi, who was so kind sent us to an authentic local restaurant where we had the best pizza among true Italian locals!! 5 stars for everything, and I especially liked the stunning photography in the lobby!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

I am glad to hear that you have had an enjoyable experience at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese.

Our daily main concern is to look after our guests offering them our undivided attention. I can tell that we have reached our aim.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese.

Best regards,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,312)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

758 - 764 of 2,313 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2013

We were picked up at the airpport by the hotel car, which gave us a impromptu tour of the city and arrived at the Sofitel ready to walk the streets of the Eternal City. The staff was even better then during out stay in 2012. Luigi my favorite doorman who is learning English and always has the infectious smile and thies to teach me more Iitalian was the perfection of ambassadorship. The staff at the front desk were a pleasure as we went though 7 different languages until we could all fit in to the conversation. The best part of the hotel is the terrace, we dined overlooking the Vatican on that special rainy night when the new Pope was elected. The view of the City, smoke rising from the Sistine Chapel and the bells ringing thoroughout Rome was magical. Our room was a bit smaller then in 2012 but we were not in it long enough for that to be a problem. It was clean and comfortable. One thing, if you want total quiiet get a room in the from of the hotel. All in all the staff made the stay perfect from umbrellas when it rained to arranging car serve they were there to help and did. Stay a this property as we will when in Rome.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

It was great to read such positive a feedback.

I thank you for mentioning Luigi. It is extremely rewarding for our Ambassadors to get such gratitude from our guests.

We have a passion for all of our guests and cannot help indulging them. Our utmost reward is to hear our guests satisfaction. This is the reason why my team and I were so happy to read your kind words.

We all look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The Sofitel Villa Borghese is a delightful boutique hotel, easily walkable to the Spanish Steps, the Via Veneto, Piazzo del Popolo and the Borghese Gardens. There are many reasonably (for Rome) priced restaurants within walking distance and the neighborhood is quiet with very little traffic. Beautifully appointed rooms with excellent beds, excellent air conditioning, and more room for luggage and clothes than expected. Their breakfast room on the lower level is charming, with excellent buffet or a la carte offerings. We paid for a breakfast /room package, and it was really a great start to a long day of sight seeing. The concierge and front desk staff were very accommodating and friendly, always smiling and willing to answer questions. The bathroom was beautiful, with lovely marble walls, floor and counters, a rain shower and bath tub, and good lighting. Couldn't have asked for more.
We arrived earlier than expected, several hours before check-in, after a mix up with our flight. Without any questions, we were warmly welcomed, and taken immediately to our room. The front desk staff had been contacted by our transport service to inquire about our arrival, as the airline had changed the flight number and arrival time. So they seemed genuinely relieved to see us and to learn that our transport had found us. We felt their concern was real and that we were really "home" for our six night stay.
We would definitely stay here again, would recommend it to everyone, and cannot say enough good things about the Sofitel Villa Borghese! After researching many hotels in this area, we were absolutely delighted with our choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the front corner! It had views to "die for". . . St. Peter's dome o...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce9732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

I was truly glad to hear about your great experience at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese.

Indeed we are centrally located yet on the quiet Via Lombardia street which is an asset after a busy day of business or shopping in Rome.

It was nice to hear that the Concierge Service exceeded your expectations. Our Ambassadors work exceptionally hard to make sure that every guest feels special.

Indeed we pay special attention into details which are not as a matter of fact. Everything is important when you are away from home!

Moreover, the Executive Chef felt really proud when hearing that you have had such an enjoyable breakfast experience. Indeed, early in the morning, French and Italian cultures blend together to delight guests’ palates!

We then look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I've stayed here twice and each time was perfect. The property is beautiful but the staff is outstanding. I recommend it to friends and family and look forward to staying there again on my next trip to Rome!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

I could not feel prouder of my whole team when reading your feedback. It is such a praise to our high standards of service. Thank you so much for mentioning it.

Indeed we pay special attention into details which are not as a matter of fact. Everything is important when you are away from home.

We were delighted to provide you with our undivided attention.

We then look forward to your next visit to Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese.

Best regards.

Laurent Hudry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The Sofitel is well situated in that it is close to almost everything but enough off the beaten track that you don't have to deal with street noise and all the negatives that go with it. And I cannot say enough about the staff and the service they provided from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. After having visited Florence and Siena where street noise was a huge issue, the front desk showed us two rooms and allowed us to pick which we thought would be the quietest. An added bonus is the restaurant which has a great view and fabulous food (this from a couple that rarely eats in hotel restaurants). We wouldn't consider staying anywhere else when we return to Rome.

Room Tip: Hotel is on a side street so almost any room will be quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SantaFeFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

I thank for your pointing out many of our assets here at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese. The central yet quiet location is one of them but the one we are the most proud of is our high standard of services.

The Executive Chef was also grateful to your praise regarding his cuisine. Indeed he only serves the freshiest seasonal products on the market.

We look forward to your next visit at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese.

A bientot!

Best regards,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, well situated near the Spanish Steps. It's beautifully maintained and has a very nice bar on its roof and comfortable and well-designed rooms that are of good size. It's the kind of hotel one would be glad to visit anywhere in the world.

But I'll tell you what will make you remember this hotel long after you forget what the rooms look like: the staff, especially the front-desk staff.

It was our first trip to Europe and we arrived at 10 a.m.on a Friday, tired and grubby from a long flight. We were about five hours early for check-in and desperately wanted showers and a nap. With not much hope I walked up to the reception desk and while the concierge checked my papers I asked if there were a chance of an early check-in. He'd already started working on it. The hotel was pretty full, he said while working the computer, but our room was vacant and he'd have housekeeping bump it to the top of the list. If we'd care to have some breakfast in the restaurant he'd make sure the room was ready within an hour.

It was no big deal to him, and it might not seem like one to you, but at that moment it felt like a gift to us, and it was typical of the kind and thoughtful way the staff treated us throughout our visit.

We had a wonderful time in Italy, and we can't wait to return. And when we do, I know just where we will stay.

Room Tip: We had a standard double room. We had been nervous about the possibility that rooms would be small...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese on your visit to the “Eternal City”.

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese.

It was nice to hear that our Front Desk Ambassadors exceeded your expectations.

They work exceptionally hard to make sure that every guest feels special.

Thank you so much for staying with us.

We hope to see you in near future.

Sincerely,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We checked into the Sofitel with high expectations due to the price of the room, however the service, room, and staff exceeded them. Unlike previous reviews, our breakfast and wifi were included with our room charge. The basic wifi included of 256kbs is a bit slow, but just fine for searching the web and booking activities. Higher speeds are available for a fee.

The buffet breakfast (30 euro if not included in your room rate) was exceptional. Fresh fruit, cheese, bread, cured meats, pastries and the best coffee were the perfect was to start the day.

Luigi the doorman greeted us each morning and was always very friendly. The rest of the staff were very helpful whenever we had any questions.

The location is about a 20min walk to the colosseum, 10-15 to the Campo de 'fiori and a 10 euro taxi ride to St Peters square. If you don't mind the walk its a great location as you can get away from the busy tourist area and go for a run on one of the recommended routes.

Of all our hotels stays in rome, this has been the best experience. If we return to Rome we will be staying at the Sofitel Villa Borghese.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPercy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

I am extremely thankful to you for pointing Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese out as one of the best hotels you have ever been to. This means a lot to the team and I!

We genuinely look after our guests and love to indulge them.

I thank you for mentioning Luigi in your feedback. It is extremely rewarding for our Ambassadors to get such gratitude from our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

A Bientot!

Sincerely,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#60 of 1,267 in Rome
1,383 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#134 of 1,267 in Rome
937 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#111 of 1,267 in Rome
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#105 of 1,267 in Rome
1,116 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese

Address: Via Lombardia 47, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Rome
#56 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#59 Family Hotel in Rome
#77 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $278 - $636 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Bella Roma, overlooking the Villa Borghese gardens, Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese means an outstanding stay. French-style living and devoted personalized service a l’italienne. A haven of refinement celebrating a perpetually fascinating city. The Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese stands adjacent to its namesake, just a stone’s throw from the poetic Villa Medici and the famed Piazza di Spagna (Spanish Steps). 81 elegant guest rooms, including 3 penthouse suites with private terraces, overlook either the Villa Borghese gardens or the charming city streets. Flooded with light, decorated in Natural Chic style in warm jewel tones and accented with silken textiles. Relax in marble bathtub, awaken fully refreshed from a night in the Sofitel MyBed. Enjoy delightful drinks and divine Mediterranean cuisine at the splendorous rooftop restaurant La Terrasse Cuisine & Lounge. Start the day with an energizing selection of French and Italian specialties at the elegant restaurant La Litterature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Roma Villa Borghese Hotel Rome
Sofitel Hotel Rome
Sofitel Hotel Roma
Sofitel Rome
Rome Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing