We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Ranked #85 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed here for four nights in February as a part of our 20th wedding anniversary tour around Italy. The staff were lovely and very polite and helpful. The hotel surpassed our expectations and it was a wonderful way for us to end our holiday. The roof top bar was amazing and the meal we had there was one of the best we had in Italy. The location is very convenient to the sights of Rome. We would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay at a special place in Rome.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Dugong72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are honored you chose the Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese for your stay in the “Eternal City” in occasion of an important event of your life, your 20th wedding anniversary!!!

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. It was fabulous to hear that the hotel exceeded your expectations.

We were delighted to provide you with our undivided attention.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in near future, perhaps in occasion of your 21 wedding anniversary...

Best regards.

Laurent Hudry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,312)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

830 - 836 of 2,312 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

One of the best hotels I've ever been to! Totally refurbished in wonderful Rome, the hotel is spacious and very well kept, with that touch of elegance that really makes the difference. Wonderful service, the front desk will cater to your evey wish. The price is right for Villa Borghese, although you can spend less...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ezechiele70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

I am extremely thankful to you for pointing Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese out as one of the best hotels you have ever been to. This means a lot to the team and I!

Sofitel’s French elegance is expressed through the architecture of its hotels, each one reflecting its French origin together with the best of local culture through local food and wine and an atmosphere that makes each stay an exciting experience.

We genuinely look after our guests and love to indulge them.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards.

Laurent Hudry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terencelau66
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosanna399
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Right from the moment our taxi pulled up in front of Sofitel Villa Borghese we felt it would be something special. We had stayed at the Jumeirah Grand Via Veneto several days prior and really didn't expect it would be better than that as it was generally the same price. We were greeted warmly at the reception desk and then escorted to our room by a customer service manager. She was excellent explaining everything we needed to know about the hotel, the restaurant, our room, and the surrounding area. The hotel itself is an excellent combination of old architecture and modern interior design.

We stayed in the Borghese Suite on the same floor as the restaurant and bar. Its on the opposite side of the building so there was no noise from the bar and traffic from the elevator to the bar never comes near the room. The room is beautiful but very comfortable. There is patio off the room which had a view of both the Villa grounds and St. Peter's Basilica in the distance.

The bedding was excellent and the beds were extremely comfortable. They provided Hermes toiletries which were, of course, lovely. Beautiful bathroom with a massive shower. robes, slippers, etc. Excellent closet space both for hanging and folding clothing. One thing that absolutely thrilled me was that this room had a Nespresso machine. I read so many times that it was illegal to have coffee makers in Italian hotel rooms so I was rather surprised to have it. I don't know why hotels can't see what an asset this is to guests. Having to have a shower, get dressed and put on make-up just to get a cup of coffee in the morning should be against the law!! Anyway, I digress and reveal my all-consuming addiction.

What made this hotel experience outstanding was the service. The entire staff was so helpful and, although I don't expect it while travelling, all spoke excellent English. Right from the time of check-in we were treated like visiting royals. Upon returning to our room each evening, we were greeted with a tray of light snacks and one night after dinner we returned to lovely little individual cakes on our coffee table.

We had trouble accessing internet one day in the lobby and one staff member worked on it exclusively with my husband until it was resolved. Someone else came from the office to work on the reception desk while this was going on.

I will review the restaurant separately as our impression of La Terrasse is slightly different.

Overall, if I were to return to Rome, this is the first hotel I would choose. One thing we liked better about our earlier stay at the Jumeirah Grand was the veranda directly on Via Veneto for snacks, coffee or cocktails while people watching. But the Sofitel wins for overall hotel experience.

Room Tip: The suites are worth the money!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Excaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

I could not feel prouder of my whole team when reading your feedback. It is such a praise to our high standards of service. Thank you so much for mentioning it.

Indeed we pay special attention into details which are not as a matter of fact. Everything is important when you are away from home.

We were delighted to provide you with our undivided attention.

We thank you so much for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards.

Laurent Hudry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for five nights in September 2012. The hotel was stylish, clean and fairly well kept. The suite and bath room were spacious with french flair. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast buffet is a don't miss and reasonable in cost. Its location is steps from the Spanish steps, Trevi fountain, Rome night life, and of course the Villa Borghese. The price of the suite was very reasonable when compared with similar hotels and suites in Venice.

We had the most wonderful time in Rome, look forward to returning, and would definitely stay at the Sofitel in Rome again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a luxury suite and would choose it again.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jas U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful and romantic stay with us at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese and thank you for your pointing out many of our assets.

The central yet quiet location is one of them but the one we are the most proud of is our high standard of services.

We look forward to your next visit at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese.

Best regards,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights and found all the staff to be polite friendly and helpful, all of whom spoke very good English.
Location was central for many sights and quiet in the evening. Although the hotel is on a hill which may not be suitable for all travellers we walked extensively and didn't find this a problem.
The room was large clean and well appointed. The Hermes toiletries were lovely and the room was well supplied with all we expected, except no tea making facilities.
The terrace bar is great location with a fantastic view and excellent staff. It was expensive but not unexpectedly so for a 5 star hotel.
Overall we thoroughly enjoyed and will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have more light and would have less street noise, our room faced via lombardia which w...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DansanScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

The team and I felt very proud while reading your extremely positive feedback. We were truly glad to provide you with our high level of services.

We love to indulge all of our guests and we do it in a genuine way.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Laurent Hudry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#57 of 1,267 in Rome
1,383 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#132 of 1,267 in Rome
937 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#113 of 1,267 in Rome
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#108 of 1,267 in Rome
1,116 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese

Address: Via Lombardia 47, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Rome
#55 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#59 Family Hotel in Rome
#77 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $278 - $629 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Bella Roma, overlooking the Villa Borghese gardens, Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese means an outstanding stay. French-style living and devoted personalized service a l’italienne. A haven of refinement celebrating a perpetually fascinating city. The Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese stands adjacent to its namesake, just a stone’s throw from the poetic Villa Medici and the famed Piazza di Spagna (Spanish Steps). 81 elegant guest rooms, including 3 penthouse suites with private terraces, overlook either the Villa Borghese gardens or the charming city streets. Flooded with light, decorated in Natural Chic style in warm jewel tones and accented with silken textiles. Relax in marble bathtub, awaken fully refreshed from a night in the Sofitel MyBed. Enjoy delightful drinks and divine Mediterranean cuisine at the splendorous rooftop restaurant La Terrasse Cuisine & Lounge. Start the day with an energizing selection of French and Italian specialties at the elegant restaurant La Litterature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Roma Villa Borghese Hotel Rome
Sofitel Hotel Rome
Sofitel Hotel Roma
Sofitel Rome
Rome Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing