We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Ranked #91 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2012

A good hotel. Helpful staff, comfortable bed, tasty breakfast, good view from the rooftop bar. The balcony was tiny and the view was of the street. Overall perfectly acceptable and reasonably located just 5 minutes up a slight hill from the top of the Spanish steps. Not one of the top hotels of the world, but definitely nothing to be upset about.

For Accor members: No problem with a 4pm late checkout, but no upgrade (le club Accorhotels platinum)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dmahon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Dear Guest,

I am glad to hear that you have had an enjoyable experience at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese.

I am most thankful to you for your kind words which are a true encouragement for the whole team.

Our daily main concern is to look after our guests offering them our undivided attention.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

908 - 914 of 2,353 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

One of the best hotels I've stayed. Great staff, excellent service, great breakfast at the basement , romantic bar at the roof top. Very upmarket location and beautiful architecture. We stayed at the VIp suite with a garden like a penthouse.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dankittraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

I was truly glad to hear about your great experience at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese.

We do our utmost to enchant our guests and I am glad to hear that we have achieved our aim.

Service wise we try our utmost to indulge all of our guests as we have a passion for them.

We then look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The service in this hotel was amazing. Everyone was helpful and generous with their time and very helpful with suggestions. I was their with my organization for a conference and they handled the group very well. The breakfasts were amazing with French press coffee, a great selection of fruits, breads, cheeses, yogurts as well as a great hot buffet. The roof top lounge looks out over the Vatican in the distance and the hotel is just around the corner from the Spanish steps. Fabulous location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the gardens next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherev65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Guest,

It was great to read such positive a feedback like yours and I thank you for that.

We have a passion for all of our guests and cannot help indulging them. Our utmost reward is to hear our guests satisfaction. This is the reason why my team and I were so happy to read your kind words.

We all look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seabird985
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Myself, husband and 10 year old daughter have just returned from a 5 day break in Rome, staying at the Sofitel. Please do not look for any bad comments in my review, as I will not be writing any. We saw some 'moaners' whilst there, 'can't please everyone all the time.' But the Sofitel sure does try.
The service is second to none and the staff friendly, welcoming and warm. The rooms, well I can only comment on the one that we stayed in. (Luxury Room) Almost perfect, perhaps needed a coffee machine of sorts for that early morning riser or the late night thirst quencher. Wonderful well stocked bathroom and large extremely comfy bed !!
The lounge and restaurant took my breath away with stunning views over Rome and the Vatican. The food it certainly above average in price but also in quality. My favourite restaurant is The Cliff in Barbados, for those that have not had the pleasure of this fine establishment, please google the view and menu, The Cliff and Sofitel are similar in wow factor of food and views. My 40th birthday was spent in the Sofitel restaurant and I can honestly say that there was no other place I would rather have been. The bar staff were the friendliest people I have had the pleasure of meeting.
Breakfast is also a pleasure to experience, pricey but again I think well worth it. If you want something cheaper, then stay at a lower star hotel.
Luxurious, friendly, stunning views and food, perfect location..... Would I go back ? You try and stop me.

Room Tip: If possible book a luxury room, it won't disappoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear Guest,

I love to read such positive feedbacks about Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese.

Thank you very much for your kind words and for your pointing out many of our assets but the one we are the most proud of is our high standard of services!

The Executive Chef and I were very proud to hear that you have had a great food experience at our restaurant La Terrasse Cuisine & Lounge in occasion of your 40th birthday.

We look forward to your next visit to Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese.

Kind regards,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Very nice hotel, friendly helpful staff, great rooftop bar with beautiful views to the west. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom had good amenities and a nice rainfall shower head. A good location with easy access to lots of the things you want to see in Rome. Taxis were easily obtained, and a metro station was only a few blocks away.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BQ53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear Guest,

It is so pleasant to read such positive feedbacks as yours. Thank you!

As a matter of fact our daily main aim is to make our guests happy and we genuinely put a lot into it to provide the highest standard of services. I am most thankful to you for your kind words which are a true encouragement for the whole team.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

After taking a 14 hour flight, we arrived in Rome at 7:00AM and checked in at Hotel Sofitel. Since it was my first trip to Italy, I did not have any reference point, but in retrospective I can provide better comments.

The daily breakfast and service is excellent. The coffee is superb and the options range from eggs to fruit, cheese, breads. All of the food is excellent.

While some may feel that the location is off the beat and track a bit (up from the Spanish Steps), it means that it is not noisy. The area is nice as it borders the big park. While you have to walk up a bit of a hill to get to the hotel, we didn't find this to be an issue as we spent each day walking for hours.

Although the rooms were small, this is typical in Italy and certainly in major U.S. cities like NYC. But, the bed was very, very comfortable. The bathroom was very nice also.

On the top floor is a bar/restaurant which is a great way to end the day if you want a coffee or a drink.

When we returned back to Rome we stayed our final night at Hotel Hassler. While this hotel is quite lovely it is considerably more expensive. It's also a bit more formal. So, if you're looking for a high level of service, without the stuffiness, comfortable accommodations, friendly staff, we would recommend Sofitel. It will also save you a few bucks!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese and thank you very much for your pointing out many of our assets here at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese.

The central yet quiet location is one of them but the one we are the most proud of is our high standard of services.

Our daily main concern is to look after our guests offering them our undivided attention.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in near future.

Sincerely,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#57 of 1,271 in Rome
1,423 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#132 of 1,271 in Rome
966 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#113 of 1,271 in Rome
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Trastevere
Gran Melia Rome
Gran Melia Rome
#94 of 1,271 in Rome
1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese

Address: Via Lombardia 47, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Rome
#59 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#59 Family Hotel in Rome
#77 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $256 - $528 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Bella Roma, overlooking the Villa Borghese gardens, Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese means an outstanding stay. French-style living and devoted personalized service a l’italienne. A haven of refinement celebrating a perpetually fascinating city. The Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese stands adjacent to its namesake, just a stone’s throw from the poetic Villa Medici and the famed Piazza di Spagna (Spanish Steps). 81 elegant guest rooms, including 3 penthouse suites with private terraces, overlook either the Villa Borghese gardens or the charming city streets. Flooded with light, decorated in Natural Chic style in warm jewel tones and accented with silken textiles. Relax in marble bathtub, awaken fully refreshed from a night in the Sofitel MyBed. Enjoy delightful drinks and divine Mediterranean cuisine at the splendorous rooftop restaurant La Terrasse Cuisine & Lounge. Start the day with an energizing selection of French and Italian specialties at the elegant restaurant La Litterature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Roma Villa Borghese Hotel Rome
Sofitel Hotel Rome
Sofitel Hotel Roma
Sofitel Rome
Rome Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing