We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Ranked #87 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Tromsø, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Sofitel for the weekend, and was very pleased with our stay. The hotel has a wonderful atmosphere. Our room was quite small, but very nice and clean. The breakfast was excelent, maybe the best hotel breakfast we ever had. The view from the restaurant on the top floor is just magnificent. The food was good, however the sewrvice from the restaurant staff was at it`s best average, mostly below average. You fight for their attetntioon, and one time the wautress forgot to bring us our drinks that we ordered. The staff in the breakfast restaurant was totally different, responing to our smallest needs instantly.

The night we arrived, late in the evening, the reseptionist told us anxiously about the top floor restaurant, so we hurried up there so we could have a drink before midnight. But that night it was closed due to a private party, something they really should know in the reseption!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TK_NAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Quality at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese during your last trip in the "Eternal City".

It was nice to hear that your Breakfast experience exceeded your expectations. Thank you very much! Such feedbacks help in staff motivation and recognition.

I am sorry however to hear that the service at restaurant was not to your full satisfaction. Please rest assured I will discuss this with the F&B Director to avoid future occurence.

Moreover, I apologise for the miscommunication with the closing of the bar the night of your arrival.

Again, thank you for the comments which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.

I look forward to your next visit at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese.

Best regards,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,387
    570
    150
    43
    25
See reviews for
420
1,186
61
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here for two nights in september2009 whilst touring Italy , we was looking for two rooms and the whole of Rome seem to be full and the Sofitel had a suite which was amazing with a beautiful bathroom the beds were really comfortable , the staff were really helpful and put in extra beds for our children , took our new car and put in a secure garage because they were concern it would not be safe !!! But we were told this at most hotels in Italy .really good , hotel position is not brilliant but ok. Only had breakfast which was very good ,

Room Tip: Suite's are really very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank louisa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Quality Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese on your visit to the “Eternal City”.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time during your stay. We thank you for your kind words which are a true encouragement for the whole team.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

I recommend this place if you want a romantic place to stay within walking distance of the Spanish steps and other attractions in Rome. The rooftop restaurant serves an amazing watermelon mojito which is the perfect way to cool off during those hot summer nights. I was there during the fourth of July and it was shopping season galore! What I loved the most about this place is that I could just leave the hotel and walk/get lost in/explore the city.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N_Wayferer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Quality Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

I love to read such positive feedbacks about Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese and I am thankful to your kind words.

Indeed the hotel has the perfect location. It's located within walking distance of Villa Borghese, the “Galleria Borghese, the Spanish Steps, Pantheon, Trevi Fountain and the most exclusive boutiques in downtown Rome.

Our experienced Barman felt really proud when hearing that you enjoyed his spectacular mojito. He loves to surprise guests with Signature Sofitel Cocktails. To be noted is the “Aromojito” for men or women, a revised version of the Mojito (lime, fresh mint, white sugar, soda and rum) with cloves and cinnamon for a distinct masculine taste and with “Wyborowa” and rose petals for a delicate feminine taste.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel truly deserved 4.5 stars in my opinion, but sadly our options when rating are limited.

As other reviewers have stated, this is a beautiful hotel, in a fabulous location, with an excellent staff. Things we absolutely loved:
- the bed - one of the most comfortable we've ever slept on
- the 'waterfall' shower in the bathroom (which envelops you completely)
- the complimentary Hermes toiletries
- free wi-fi
- location: just a short walk from the Spanish Steps in one direction and Barberini Square in another (which connects to all of the transportation options)

The only reason why I didn't give the property 5 stars outright is that we had a 4th/top floor room - which therefore had a delightful balcony! - but which also meant we were directly below their Terrace restaurant (which meant it was noisy at night when going to bed and noisy in the morning when waking up). Despite this, we absolutely loved our stay and would, without hesitation, select this hotel if we ever get the pleasure of returning to Rome.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bomzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Quality Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am glad to hear that you have had an enjoyable experience at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese.

Our daily main concern is to look after our guests offering them our undivided attention. Thank you very much for your kind words.

I am sorry however to hear that your sleep was disturbed by noise from the restaurant. I thank you for your feedback and will discuss this with the Maintenance Service.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Spent three nights at the Sofitel in Rome and had an amazing stay. We had two rooms, which were beautifuly appointed and kept very clean and fresh. The hotel is located only a few minutes walk from teh Spanich steps and a one minute walk from Via Veneto, whih is full of restaurants.
The breakfast at the hotel is fantastic and very well priced. They charge 30 Euro for a full buffet breakfast and in restaurant outside the hotel they charge 27 Euro for just eggs, toast, juice and coffee. Dont bother going out for breakfast...just have it at the hotel. The space they use used to be the old stables many many years ago which they have converted to this beautiful space.
On level seven they have a beautiful terrace overlooking Rome and the Vatican.
The staff here are very friendly. Massimo at Concierge, Sara at Reception and their doorman Mario would have to be the friendliest people you will find in Rome.

Thank you again Sofitel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Welltravelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Quality Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is so pleasant to read such positive feedbacks as yours. Thank you!

Rest assured that I will share your laudatory comments with our team, and obviously with Massimo, Sara and Mario.

As a matter of fact our daily main aim is to make our guests happy and we genuinely put a lot into it to provide the highest standard of services. I am most thankful to you for your kind words which are a true encouragement for the whole team.

Moreover, the Executive Chef felt really proud when hearing that you enjoyed the delicious selection of French and Italian specialties served at breakfast at our elegant restaurant Le 49, previously the stables in which Caravaggio used to find refuge.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel is smaller than usual for a 5* hotel without the usual facilities (the gym is a tiny room with 2 treadmills) but it doesn't pretend to be otherwise. It has a friendly cosy feel and the rooms are very nice but not particularly grand. Our room had views of the neighbouring wall. I think you can get better views for more money. The hotel is well placed and it's very near to the Spanish Steps. The roof bar and restaurant has an amazing terrace with a superb views over Rome. It must be one of the most romantic places to have a meal or drinks on Rome.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DocDread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Quality Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese on your visit to the “Eternal City” and thank you for your kind words.

Indeed we are centrally located yet on the quiet Via Lombardia street which is an asset after a busy day of business or shopping in Rome.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed a wonderful and unforgettable time at our magnifique rooftop restaurant La Terrasse Cuisine and Lounge with breathtaking view over the "Eternal City".

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in near future.

Best regards,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#56 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#107 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#81 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,918 reviews
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese

Property: Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Address: Via Lombardia 47, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Rome
#52 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#59 Family Hotel in Rome
#77 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Bella Roma, overlooking the Villa Borghese gardens, Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese means an outstanding stay. French-style living and devoted personalized service a l’italienne. A haven of refinement celebrating a perpetually fascinating city. The Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese stands adjacent to its namesake, just a stone’s throw from the poetic Villa Medici and the famed Piazza di Spagna (Spanish Steps). 81 elegant guest rooms, including 3 penthouse suites with private terraces, overlook either the Villa Borghese gardens or the charming city streets. Flooded with light, decorated in Natural Chic style in warm jewel tones and accented with silken textiles. Relax in marble bathtub, awaken fully refreshed from a night in the Sofitel MyBed. Enjoy delightful drinks and divine Mediterranean cuisine at the splendorous rooftop restaurant La Terrasse Cuisine & Lounge. Start the day with an energizing selection of French and Italian specialties at the elegant restaurant La Litterature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, ACCOR, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Roma Villa Borghese Hotel Rome
Sofitel Hotel Rome
Sofitel Hotel Roma
Sofitel Rome
Rome Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing