We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, a bit far out”
Review of The Duke Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Duke Hotel
Ranked #149 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2014

The hotel was really nice and clean. Staff was incredibly helpful especially the bar staff. Always made you feel welcomed and were eager to help. The room was very nice, although the wifi was incredibly complicated and I had to ask reception help more than once. The hotel is quite far away from the tourist attractions, although they do have a shuttle service you can book at reception. I had been to Rome a few times so it wasn't a huge issue for me, but if you have never been to Rome and are eager to see the sites I recommend you stay closer to town where the action is. Same if you are looking for nightlife as the hotel is in a very quite residential area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cash d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,529)
There are newer reviews for The Duke Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

446 - 452 of 1,529 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2014

Having not had a nice experience at this hotel last year, we returned this year. The Duke Hotel - as we had paid for 3 nights and left on the first night this year The Duke Hotel honoured the 2 nights we missed. Albeit, we would not return again. This is not a welcoming hotel, should you wish to use the bar you have to find staff to serve you first. The happiest face and friendliest person is the doorman/transfer driver. We spent our next 3 nights at Leonardo Di Vinci Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladybird737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Nice hotel, good bar, decent breakfast choices, good food. But the most uncomfortable bed I've ever layed in ... it was like lying on a concrete floor. Both my husband and I were actually sore upon awaking in the mornings. Also, not centrally located at all. It is in more of a residential area. A plus, however, was the shuttle that ran every 15 minutes to the Plaza de Poppula (sp?).

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathySails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We loved this hotel. We booked through Secret Escapes and had a superior room, this was very comfortable and clean. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The hotel is not walking distance from the tourist attractions but the Shuttle bus from the hotel was really useful. it took you to the Piazza Del Popolo, from which you could walk to the Colosseum in about 45 minutes, depending on time of day and heat, and also how much shopping you did on the way! or catch the Metro to Vatican Museums. The hotel was fully booked on one night but never felt full at all.

We had a lovely relaxing time, the staff were great, the waiter in the restaurant and polo lounge was really great and looked after us well. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and hope that we will go back one day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Maybe it is not hotel with a top modern interior or equipped with ideal technic, however I would say people with the great and really top service and smiling all the time. Reception as well as all of the staff were very (top) positive including Lorenzo the driver. Have to admit it is very comfortable that you stay as a location in the quiet and expensive part of the city but same time every 30 min you have an option to take a shuttle which brings you in five minutes to the touristic city center. I really enjoyed the hotel despite of basic room and not very modern upgrading. It is a good hotel for couples or family stay as well as for conferences. Thanks to staff of hotel once again

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vako D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Location - not great. It is minimum half an hour away from any tourist attraction. when you include the waiting times for transport, it'll be 45 mins.
Room - clean but very basic. small room, bed, bathroom. no kettle or fridge.
Breakfast was included in our stay which was great.
Aircon is controlled by reception which was weird, but didnt cause us any problems after initial confusion.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Brilliant hotel, great location, and wonderful staff. We arrived early at the hotel after a very tiring night time flight from Hong Kong, and we were expecting to go off for the day before we could check in but the hotel staff provided coffee for us and hot chocolate and cakes for our daughter while they finished cleaning the room so we could check in early which really was superb. We had read some reviews about room noise but our suite was really quiet even though it was next to the elevator. Breakfast was excellent. The NZ All Blacks stayed here during their 2004 tour so the hotel must be good. Getting to and from Piazza del Popolo was easy and we just walked 15-20 min from the hotel to the large park around the Villa Borghese. There are a number of restaurants, banks and shops within 10min walk down by the Piazza Euclide if you want to go somewhere where there are not so many of us tourists.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisPauline2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#126 of 1,267 in Rome
1,288 reviews
Hotel Pulitzer Roma
#116 of 1,267 in Rome
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Flaminio
Villa Glori Hotel
Villa Glori Hotel
#236 of 1,267 in Rome
761 reviews
San Lorenzo
Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Relais 6
#35 of 1,267 in Rome
1,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke Hotel

Address: Via Archimede 69, 00197 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Business Hotel in Rome
#82 Family Hotel in Rome
#90 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#101 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $100 - $443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Duke Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star boutique hotel The Duke Hotel allows you to enjoy the city at its best: art, culture, shopping and business. Nestled in the Villa Borghese area The Duke Hotel offers a quiet and private place to return to after a day of exploring the Eternal city's attractions or doing business. Just minutes away from the historical center, where the finest shops and historical sites can be found and nearby the new Auditorium Parco della Musica, Galleria Borghese, Olimpic Stadium and the Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art. The Duke Hotel will be an ideal place for single tourists, families and business travelers alike.The Duke Hotel has 86 comfortable rooms. The rooms are distributed over 6 floors and are different in shape and size. Some rooms have balcony or terraces. Several connected rooms. Four rooms are equipped for disabled guests. A smoking floor is also available. All these rooms are tastefully decorated with the furnishings further enhanced by coordinated flowers and offers all comforts and services of a 4* hotel. Authentic Italian cuisine is served in its restaurant "I Duchi". You may enjoy a variety of original menu creations and regional home-made pastries. The cuisine adds a touch of creativity to the traditional cooking with international specialties recommended by our Chef. The comfortable Polo Lounge Bar is a popular meeting place. The warm atmosphere makes it an ideal meeting point where you can relax, enjoy a large choice of cocktails and drinks and taste the traditional English Afternoon Tea. For business travelers or those hosting a social event while in the city The Duke's Meeting Rooms are equipped with all technical fittings as well as special technology for videoconferences such as ISDN lines. All the Meeting Spaces maintain the same taste for detail as the hotel with comfortable chairs and furnishings in delicate shades creating an elegant yet efficient atmosphere.If you are looking for a quality luxury hotel in Rome ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Duke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Hotel Rome
Rome Hotel Duke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing