We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good value”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Duke Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Duke Hotel
Ranked #137 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“good value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for 5 days . It was a nice hotel . The shuttle was very good and on time. Its not close to the centre so you need to rely on the shuttle or taxis. The breakfast was good but the room was tiny ! We ate supper there twice and it was amazing .

Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank emma d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    703
    560
    121
    46
    31
See reviews for
272
678
34
216
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chelsea, Alabama
Level Contributor
119 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I know that if you read some of the reviews here, it may scare the junk out of you. If you are a good traveler and not a snob, don't let these scare you. My wife and I stayed here a week and enjoyed the stay. Here’s what I think of the following:

1) Room: The room we had was nice, not huge but not too small, certainly when you are out in the town for most of the day. The bed was a little hard and lumpy but we slept nonetheless as after being awake and going full steam for 16 hours, you will sleep. The bathroom was nice and we had no problem with hot water, toilet, etc. The bathroom even had a bidet, though we did not touch that  The AC blew some what cold air, but was humid. TV is all Italian, who would of thought? hahahaha

2) Hotel: Nice grounds, well maintained, quiet area of town, yet not to far, could easily walk or jog into town. The shuttle was nice, we usually got on the first one in the morning and came back on the last one of the evening. We never had a problem not making or missing the shuttle. A couple of mornings we jogged into town, it is only about a 1 & ¼ mile run, not hard at all. We walked back on night as well. (Note: the people who reviewed the shuttle or distance from town negatively, freakin lazy!)
Also, there is a Carrefour mini-super market one block (5minute walk for those who can walk and don’t need shuttle service) away where you can buy your own water and any little snacks, gum, camera, etc . . . so you don’t have to spend double at the tourist marts in town. Also great place to buy cheese and meat to sneak home on the plane.

3) Breakfast: Was way better than reviewed. The great; the chacuterie meats and cheeses and the fresh bread to slice. I made a (togo) sandwich each day for a mid morning snack while we were touristing about (I had my own mayo and mustard packets, I’m American). . The good was the chocolate croissants and the fresh made cappuccino’s. You need to ask a server to bring you the latter. The, hmmmm, was the sausage, the watery bacon stuff (never tried the bacon) and the eggs.

4) Hotel personnel/Front Desk: There were two male attendants at the front desk who were extremely kind and very accommodating. Spoke great English and truly went out of there way to help with anything. For example, one of them called our tour guide’s to check in for us and confirm all information (they spoke to them in Italian) and then lined up the shuttle or taxi for us as well. Also, to the guys who drove the shuttle, great job and always very kind, punctual, and hard working.


See, Hotel was great. Those who gave negative reviews must have been lazy or had a bad attitude up front.

FYI: You don’t have to tip in Italy, I found that out after I tipped the cab driver from the airport, my wife pointed that out quickly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank roxanneandrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDukeHotel, Booking Office at Duke Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Sir,

We are glad to read your review, it was a pleasure for us to have you here at The Duke Hote.
We are always very happy when our guests leave the hotel, and the city, while maintaining a good memory.

We hopen to see you again in Rome and we send our best regards


Booking Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, FL
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

After a long plane ride and a confusing experience with the cab driver (the €48 sign on the side of the cab only applies to the ancient city) Maximo at the front desk of The Duke was a breath of fresh air. Every question we had throughout our three night visit was answered with a calm smile. They recommended restaurants, made reservations, helped explain busses, cabbies and trains.

The room was clean comfortable and larger than we expected in a European city. Our view was of a quiet street, we were there in September so it was cool enough to open the window in the morning. The breakfast at the hotel was nice. The wait staff was friendly. They learned our names and preferences on the first morning and greeted us as old friends after that.

The hotel is not in ancient Rome, but they run a shuttle to the Piazza del Popolo as often as necessary from early morning until almost midnight.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PamGonzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

... if you' re prepared to pay for a room upgrade, don't mind losing the bar/lounge facilities to conference delegates, know exactly when you want to go to the city centre (or have really good walking shoes - it's all uphill on the way back) and are prepared to struggle with the daily wifi password. We were woken twice one night by the phone, though we can't blame anyone for that except mischief probably.The desk staff always seemed to be very busy, so they must get loads of bookings. The multi-lingual Alessandro impressed. However, I would not stay here again if I were to returning to Rome for a 2-3 day break - too much time is spent getting to and from the centre (and wondering how). Great for conferences though perhaps.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mugeditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for a week on our first visit to Rome. We booked a junior suite which was roomy, clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast (plus scrambled egg, bacon and sausage) was high quality with plenty of variety and as much as we wanted. We did not dine there - the restaurant appeared expensive, lacking in atmosphere with few people choosing to eat there in the evenings. Much better to eat in Rome centre or in other restaurants locally. The hotel is some distance out of Rome centre. To compensate they provide a shuttle bus into the centre which has to be booked in advance. It was not always available during our trip. More reliable and equally convenient was the suburban train line with a station at Piazza Euclide, 10 minutes walk away. The hotel had a beautiful lounge area that doubled as a bar and a place to buy snack food. But for the bulk of our stay it was taken over by a succession of conferences. We had the feeling that conferees were given more attention than other guests. The reception staff were polite but did not go out of their way to be helpful.

Room Tip: From the floor plan the standard rooms looked quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Myself and my wife started our holiday on the 1st October, 2012.
We had booked and paid in full last March only to be told when we turned up at the Duke hotel That they had no reservation for us, even though I had a copy of the booking and confIrmation of the booking. The manager on duty told us that they were going to transferr us to another hotel of the same quality and when my wife asked were we going to get a superior room, which we had booked for and paid for in the Duke hotel, the manager assured us, yes and that the Duke hotel was going to pay the difference in cost of the other hotel all we would have to pay is the Italian taxes which we thought fair enough at least they were trying to solve the problem.
We paid 1200 euro for 6 nights to stay at the Duke. The other hotel did not live up to the standards the Duke hotels manager promised. Only 1 person could fit in the lift at a time and the hotel room was very small. We asked at reception what was the cost of staying there for 6 nights and were told that it was 720 euro but we would be charged less ??? plus there were no superior rooms all were of the same standard ???. We went back to the Duke hotel, they apologised and suddenly a superior was available. We were offered a meal free of charge by the reception manager but did not take up the offer as felt quite uncomfortable in the hotel and did not want to give them any more money for drinks etc. The room was very disappointing with damp and bacteria on the bathroom wall, cracked plaster around the socket in the bathroom and needed to be cleaned properly. We added our photos of the hotel room please have a look. The hotel did have a shuttle service into the centre of Rome which you need to reserve for a seat which we did one day but when we turned up to get on it, it was full already. Very disappointing experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank pauley70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We arrived at the Duke Hotel last week to find that the place was 'overbooked' because of a fault with the computer system, ie, they forgot to stop the counter. They then relocated us to a 'similar' hotel (we are not convinced) by sending us in a taxi. Although the reception staff there was helpful but we feel very disappointed with this overbooking issue; it seems on here that it is not the first time that it had happened. We are still waiting for an email reply from the general manager despite sending the email twice.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank F_Travel2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Pulitzer Roma
#121 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
San Lorenzo
Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Poggioverde
#116 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Ostiense
Caravel Hotel
Caravel Hotel
#125 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
H10 Roma Citta
#141 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke Hotel

Property: Duke Hotel
Address: Via Archimede 69, 00197 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Business Hotel in Rome
#79 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#82 Family Hotel in Rome
#101 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Duke Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star boutique hotel The Duke Hotel allows you to enjoy the city at its best: art, culture, shopping and business. Nestled in the Villa Borghese area The Duke Hotel offers a quiet and private place to return to after a day of exploring the Eternal city's attractions or doing business. Just minutes away from the historical center, where the finest shops and historical sites can be found and nearby the new Auditorium Parco della Musica, Galleria Borghese, Olimpic Stadium and the Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art. The Duke Hotel will be an ideal place for single tourists, families and business travelers alike.The Duke Hotel has 86 comfortable rooms. The rooms are distributed over 6 floors and are different in shape and size. Some rooms have balcony or terraces. Several connected rooms. Four rooms are equipped for disabled guests. A smoking floor is also available. All these rooms are tastefully decorated with the furnishings further enhanced by coordinated flowers and offers all comforts and services of a 4* hotel. Authentic Italian cuisine is served in its restaurant "I Duchi". You may enjoy a variety of original menu creations and regional home-made pastries. The cuisine adds a touch of creativity to the traditional cooking with international specialties recommended by our Chef. The comfortable Polo Lounge Bar is a popular meeting place. The warm atmosphere makes it an ideal meeting point where you can relax, enjoy a large choice of cocktails and drinks and taste the traditional English Afternoon Tea. For business travelers or those hosting a social event while in the city The Duke's Meeting Rooms are equipped with all technical fittings as well as special technology for videoconferences such as ISDN lines. All the Meeting Spaces maintain the same taste for detail as the hotel with comfortable chairs and furnishings in delicate shades creating an elegant yet efficient atmosphere.If you are looking for a quality luxury hotel in Rome ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Duke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Hotel Rome
Rome Hotel Duke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing