We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best staff, location, and neighborhood”
Review of Duke Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Duke Hotel
Ranked #139 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The best staff, location, and neighborhood”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the DUKE and loved every minuted of it. My recommendation, get the suite with the terrace overlooking the main street. The breakfast is included and pick up from the airport; plus you get a wonderful breakfast every morning - be sure to order a cappuccino. Luigi is one of the drivers and he is so colorful, the staff is outstanding, and they aim to please. Plus, you'll want to escape the noise of Rome, it's a perfect way to end your day at the DUKE. I will tell you that the beds are a bit hard but you get use to it.

Room Tip: Choose the suite with terrace overlooking main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    707
    568
    125
    46
    32
See reviews for
275
686
35
217
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Thank you for trip advisor so I decided to go for this local hotel. My familly and I six of us in total, travel to Rome for a overnight stay for the next day on board to our 12 days cruise trip. So this is a important part to begin our journey. The hotel is beautifully docarated, our room is very comfortable, and the size is big in Rome. Buffet Breakfast is highlight, offee, bacon, sausages, just delicious.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chong18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed at The Duke for 7 nights for our family holiday in Rome. We were provided with a lovely family suite with two adjoined rooms, balcony and the usual facilities, Italian chic style.

Breakfast was buffet style, continental colds for all tastes as well as a hot counter with scrambled eggs, bacon and sausages. It was always well stocked and replenished regularly, we all really enjoyed it.

The main plus point of this hotel is the staff, all of whom are genuinely trying to ensure you have the best possible time. The reception staff speak most European languages and couldn't do enough for the guests.

There is a regular Mercedes people carrier shuttle to the Piazza di Popolo and collecting guests to take back to the hotel and we had no problem getting one when we wanted. The charismatic Luigi ensured this was fun for all!

As a family with under 10's we didn't really need to be in the thick of the Rome nightlife, the 10.30pm shuttle home suited us fine. I guess for those looking to adsorb the late Rome atmosphere then the out of centre location may not suit all.

Overall we're delighted with the stay, a great city and a lovely hotel.

General tips for Rome, taxi's to and from the airports are fixed price, don't get conned at the airport by the shuttles on offer. The other thing we found great was to use the open top tour bus (several companies, deals pretty much equal) on a 48hr ticket as a taxi around the city, the Metro was out of service at the time and this was an economical and entertaining way to get around.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights returning home yesterday. We took our 2 daughters age 9 and 12 to see the city we got engaged in as a pre-new-school-year treat and enjoyed the whole experience.
The hotel is lovely, the location is perfect in my opinion as it's 5 minutes from the city centre (so nice and quiet) but close enough for convenience. There's a free 7 seater private shuttle bus for residents use which makes things easy.
We had a family room on the top floor (6th floor) which was effectively a suite comprising of 2 lovely rooms, a large bathroom with corner bath and separate shower cubicle, a dressing room and a small room with mini bar. The master bedroom had super kingsize bed and lead out onto a spacious balcony with table, chairs and parasol. the 2nd room had 2 sofa beds (a single and a double).
We had breakfast included which was simple but lovely (buffet style).
TIP: book your shuttle bus for in advance; we booked the morning shuttle the night before and then the evening shuttle in the morning as it does get booked up.
Also beware the dodgy guys that force roses into your hand in the main square then demand money. They say they're free but get very aggressive if you don't give them money!!
All in all, a great hotel with very helpful staff

Room Tip: We stayed in family room 620. It's on the top floor so is quiet and has a lovely big balcony are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Director_of_Activity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My wife and I traveled to beautiful Rome for our anniversary. We had a beautiful room with a balcony where we could sip wine all evening and enjoy the cool night. The hotel had a dedicated shuttle for us to get to and from the metro station which was very nice. Also, the buffet breakfast every morning was very nice with coffee, pineapple juice, bacon, sausage, eggs, pastries, and lots of fruit. Our room was also very quiet and peaceful and we slept very well every night. The staff were always polite, although clearly in August you could tell they were short-staffed due to that being a big holiday month in Europe, but every day they were polite, gracious, and always willing to help us discover beautiful Rome. It was my first time traveling overseas but I would definitely stay at the Duke again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pau, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights. Our room was large and we enjoyed getting back to the calm hotel after a warm day in the city. The bathroom was well furnished in bathrobes, slippers and so on.
The location is a little away from the center, but the shuttle is always there when you need it! just think to book it the day before.
The day began with a wonderful breakfast: all tou need was there!it was amazing.
And special thanks to the staff and the drivers of the shuttle.
All this made our stay in Rome more remakable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claudette m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normanton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed at The Duke for 4 nights. Slight problem on checking in due to electrical issues in some of the rooms, but was sorted within half an hour. The fact that the setting was slightly away from the city centre meant that it was lovely and quiet at night. We had a wonderful suite with amazing roof terrace looking out onto surrounding residential neighbourhood. Bathrobe and slippers were provided which was a nice touch, together with luxury toiletries, and the shower was excellent. Very welcome after sightseeing in 38 degree heat!!

Plan your days ahead so that you can book the mini bus in advance. However, we did get a taxi to the vatican (12 euro) and collesseum (15 euro) so taxis, if you needed them, were not as expensive as we expected them to be.

Breakfast in the hotel was very good (although a little cramped in a side room off the main bar area) but had everything you could reasonably want from a city hotel. You do need to ask for toast if you want it as there is no toaster for guests to use. Pastries are amazing - best leave the diet for when you get back home!

All the staff we encountered at the hotel were wonderful but a special shout out goes to Massimo on reception who had the perfect mix of professionalism and friendliness. Also Luigi and Simone who drive the mini bus - grazie!

Altogether, we had an amazing trip - thank you to all at The Duke for a truly memorable time.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lulubluNormanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Pulitzer Roma
#117 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
San Lorenzo
Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Poggioverde
#122 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Ostiense
Caravel Hotel
Caravel Hotel
#134 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
H10 Roma Citta
#136 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke Hotel

Property: Duke Hotel
Address: Via Archimede 69, 00197 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Business Hotel in Rome
#82 Family Hotel in Rome
#83 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#101 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Duke Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star boutique hotel The Duke Hotel allows you to enjoy the city at its best: art, culture, shopping and business. Nestled in the Villa Borghese area The Duke Hotel offers a quiet and private place to return to after a day of exploring the Eternal city's attractions or doing business. Just minutes away from the historical center, where the finest shops and historical sites can be found and nearby the new Auditorium Parco della Musica, Galleria Borghese, Olimpic Stadium and the Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art. The Duke Hotel will be an ideal place for single tourists, families and business travelers alike.The Duke Hotel has 86 comfortable rooms. The rooms are distributed over 6 floors and are different in shape and size. Some rooms have balcony or terraces. Several connected rooms. Four rooms are equipped for disabled guests. A smoking floor is also available. All these rooms are tastefully decorated with the furnishings further enhanced by coordinated flowers and offers all comforts and services of a 4* hotel. Authentic Italian cuisine is served in its restaurant "I Duchi". You may enjoy a variety of original menu creations and regional home-made pastries. The cuisine adds a touch of creativity to the traditional cooking with international specialties recommended by our Chef. The comfortable Polo Lounge Bar is a popular meeting place. The warm atmosphere makes it an ideal meeting point where you can relax, enjoy a large choice of cocktails and drinks and taste the traditional English Afternoon Tea. For business travelers or those hosting a social event while in the city The Duke's Meeting Rooms are equipped with all technical fittings as well as special technology for videoconferences such as ISDN lines. All the Meeting Spaces maintain the same taste for detail as the hotel with comfortable chairs and furnishings in delicate shades creating an elegant yet efficient atmosphere.If you are looking for a quality luxury hotel in Rome ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Duke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Hotel Rome
Rome Hotel Duke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing