We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well-run hotel”
Review of Mecenate Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mecenate Palace
Ranked #165 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A well-run hotel”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

The hotel has very pleasant decor and furnishings. The staff are friendly and courteous. The breakfast on the pretty roof terrace had a wide range of choices. The bedroom was sound-proofed and comfortable with attention to detail. The hotel is in walking distance of many tourist sites and the metro is close by for those further afield. Check out is not until 12 and Reception looks after your bags until you are ready to leave for the airport.

A lovely relaxing stay. Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MecenatePalaceHotel, Responsabile reception at Mecenate Palace, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having chosen to stay at the Mecenate Palace Hotel while in Rome, but also for your lovely note of appreciation.

Since our aim is to be able to meet every client’s expectation, your note about the room, our service and the location, gave us great satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Mecenate Palace Hotel in the near future.

Greetings from the Eternal City!
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    659
    177
    60
    55
See reviews for
363
707
54
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Once again the Staff of Mecenate Palace Hotel treated us like a member of the family. Their kindness and attention to our needs contributed greatly to a worry free stay. The outstanding breakfast has everything one could possibly want. I highly recommend this Fabulous Hotel to everyone coming to Rome.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking Santa Maria Maggiore offer a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my week long stay at the Mecenate Palace Hotel. The staff were very courteous, efficient, accommodating, and promptly responded to all my requests. My bed was very comfortable, my room had everything I needed, and the towel warmer in the bathroom was particularly awesome! The restaurant on the roof terrace is a nice option and the service was very warm and friendly, particularly from Chef Francisco. The views of the city from the terrace, and of Santa Maria Maggiore in particular, were lovely.

The location is perfect for traveling - the metro is a short walk down the block, the bus stop across the street has buses that go to many of the major tourist sites in about 15minutes (#71, #360 or #649 either go there directly or connect to buses that do), and the Termini station is about 4-5 blocks away. I bought a week long bus and metro pass from a tabaccoria, which was perfect as I both methods of transport often, and I bought my TrenItalia tickets online for a day trip to Florence - super easy and hassle free.

There are a number of small cafes and restaurants in the immediate area that offer a variety of coffee, sweets, sandwiches, pizzas, and tasty meals, up to at least 11 at night. There's even a neighborhood mercato on nearby via Meraluna. Lots of shopping, both on the street and in the store, for cheap gifts, clothing or accessories.

Walking back to the hotel late at night or departing early morning was not a problem, even when there were not that many people out and about. The Mecenate is one of the nicest hotels around Santa Maria Maggiore and I would definitely stay again when I come back to Rome.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sara_Calif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MecenatePalaceHotel, Responsabile reception at Mecenate Palace, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen to stay at the Mecenate Palace Hotel while in Rome, but also for having taken the time to share with us your satisfaction concerning your recent stay with us.
Our aim, in the hotel business, is to allow our clients to experience a unique and enjoyable break and make them feel “home away from home”. Your kind words of appreciation were also passed on to all the staff concerned.

We look forward to greeting you again, hoping that the future stores many other opportunities for you to return.

Greetings from the Eternal City!

Kindest regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

After staying in the nice Hilton Hotel in Amsterdam, this Hotel was a big let down when I took a triple room..it was cramped and left one feeling sorry for ourselves. I then upgraded to the suite for Euro 40 per night and that was a much better room with a living room with Sofa Bed and a bedroom. The view was not great from our room but if one can manage to get the Santa MAria Maggiore church view it will be splendid. Not much breakfast spread for vegetarians like us though, not even home fries. However lots of pizzerias and Trattorias close by. Even the Hop on Hop off is close by near the church of Santa Maria Maggiore,

Room Tip: Choose a suite if you can else its a waste!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lssrinivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MecenatePalaceHotel, Responsabile reception at Mecenate Palace, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for having decided to share your comments about your stay at the Mecenate Palace Hotel.

We were sorry to learn that the triple room booked was not to your satisfaction and therefore your stay was not pleasant from the beginning. We wish to assure you, however, that all your remarks were given careful attention.

On a closing note, we hope you will give us a future opportunity to demonstrate that we can meet your expectations.

Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Excellent location. 3 min walk to the main train station . The roof top view is marvelous ! And service of the breakfast is the best. This hotel should value this as the only attraction for the customer to come back.
The front dest need lots of improvement . It happen I ask them 2 famous location . Max just don't even know where it is. Wondering how he get this job!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 939Jenny939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We have the suite room, with a sitting room and a fireplace, mini fridge, hallway with bathroom and then the bedroom with a king size bed. Lodgings are very nice and well maintained. This hotel was a good place to get because of its location, we were able to walk to all the biggest attractions (15-20 minute walk) and if we desired to take a taxi back and they did not know the name Mecente, we could say Santa Maria Maggiore Bascilica and they knew that location (which is right across the street). The restaurant on the rooftop is amazing. First class food, presentation is a key factor we have noticed dining in Roma and this is one of the best. The minestrone soup is very hearty. We have also tried the ravioli, lamb chops, and lobster (very juicy but note, it's the whole lobster) linguini which were all very unique tasting and delicious. A appetizer we ordered was the beef carpaccio, which was raw slices of beef served with fresh tomatoes and grated cheese on top. The chef is also wonderful and caring about his guest, coming out to check on us and our food and also offering a few complimentary appetizers. A very wonderful place to add to our awesome experience in Roma, I highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaraStark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MecenatePalaceHotel, Responsabile reception at Mecenate Palace, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in writing such a nice review on our property. We are glad to understand that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have so many positive notes to underline!

We do agree with you, our Roof Top Restaurant "La Terrazza dei Papi" is just amazing. Our Chef Francesco is always ready to satisfy all the desires of our valued guest.

We look forward to greeting you again, hoping that the future stores many other opportunities for you to return.

Kind regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Just got back from staying here for three nights with my 14 year old son.
The Mecenate Palace is a great hotel, five minutes walk from the train station and easy to reach the main sights from. The room we stayed in was a deluxe twin, which overlooked the square and the Basilica opposite - a fantastic view and worth the few extra pounds that these rooms cost. The room wasn't huge, but I think most town centre hotel rooms are on the compact side and it was fine for my son and I.
The decor is a little dated, it says 'late 20th century' on the hotel website, which basically means 1980's, floral borders and all!! The whole hotel is spotlessly clean though, and the room was cleaned daily, with bed and linen change and toiletries replaced daily.
Breakfast is served on the roof terrace (covered and heated in winter!) and there was a lot of choice. Eggs and sausages, bread and rolls, five types of cereal, three cold meats and various cheeses plus several types of cake and pastry and big bowls of fruit, fruit juice etc. There was even a selection of quiches on two of the three mornings. Really set us up for the day.
The staff were friendly and courteous and went out of their way to help us with our sightseeing plans.
There are several shops and restauants nearby, from informal Pizzas with the locals to a slightly more formal restaurant just across the road, which still gave us a good feedup including drinks for under 25 Euros each.
The bus stop for the hop-on-hop-off bus is a two minute walk away and the hotel sells tickets at the reception desk. (25 Euros for a 48 hour ticket for me and my son's ticket was free) We used this bus for all of our transport whilst in Rome.
Overall I would highly recommend the Mecenate Palace as a comfy and convenient base for your trip to Rome.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are worth the extra for the view and free internet access as well as being slightly big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank j5956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MecenatePalaceHotel, Responsabile reception at Mecenate Palace, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your glowing review. It’s always with great satisfaction that we read our Guests’ reviews; this is our chance to learn directly from you your preferences and needs.

The Roof Top Terrace is our source of pride, and our morning breakfast is just the perfect way to start a long day visiting Rome. As you said the Hotel is very closed to all the main attractions, and there are also several shops and restaurants in the area.

It was a pleasure to learn about your experience with us and we do hope to have you back again to as our Guest.

Kind regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel
#89 of 1,257 in Rome
900 reviews
Monti
Duca D'Alba Hotel
Duca D'Alba Hotel
#153 of 1,257 in Rome
1,109 reviews
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#99 of 1,257 in Rome
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Augusta Lucilla Palace
Augusta Lucilla Palace
#183 of 1,257 in Rome
1,666 reviews
Esquilino
Starhotels Metropole
Starhotels Metropole
#166 of 1,257 in Rome
2,162 reviews
Esquilino
Gioberti Art Hotel
Gioberti Art Hotel
#136 of 1,257 in Rome
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mecenate Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mecenate Palace

Property: Mecenate Palace
Address: Via Carlo Alberto 3, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#163 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#181 Family Hotel in Rome
#195 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mecenate Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace is a 4-star luxury hotel, located in the historical centre of Rome, near by Colosseum and Roman Forum, overlooking the breathtaking façade of Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore and the Eternal City's unique skyline.Dimora dell'800 confort del 2000. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mecenate Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome
Mecenate Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing