We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 nights in Rome”
Review of Mecenate Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mecenate Palace
Ranked #169 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Lets start with the staff. Rooms and the general areas were kept clean by the chambermaids. the waiting staff at breakfast were very efficient. Reception was fast and friendly both behind desk staff and the bell boys.
We only had breakfast in the hotel and the choice of food was very goodbut don't expect an English breakfast. There are various cakes, cereals, fruit, meat and cheese with boiled eggs and sausage: so a wide selection.
We had a room upgrade to one overlooking the basillica and square which was a reasonable size with a comfortable bed and a bathroom with everything you would expect.
We had a problem with the safe with a flat battery but it was attended to quickly.
With all this the location could not be better. A 10 minute stroll from Termini station and the main sights are close and can be walked to if you want to. For instance the Colosseum would be around 45 minutes but you can admire the shops and buildings along the way. Otherwise take the metro or bus. Both metro lines have stations within 10 minutes walk. Pleanty of reasonably priced restaurants and cafes in the area. I would recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you are in th emain building. The deluxe rooms are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnTLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,742)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

601 - 607 of 1,742 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel for two nights as a break in pace from the small local hotels. It lived up to a 5 star rating. Clean nice best resteraunt on the roof. Great location near the subway. Needs it because u are not walking to the attractions from here. Thy I the only draw back

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buckeye170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Found through hotels.com, this property is in a residential area of a busy street. So it is quiet, and still has much in walking distance. Shops and restaurants are very close, as is a a piazza. The Coliseum is just over a mile!
Features include souvenir slippers, free wifi, free breakfast, and special outlets so an adapter is not necessary!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David-ChiGuy-F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Our second stay at Mecenate Palace. Yes the rooms are small but no smaller than comparable hotels. We've rarely had a room size comparable to US hotels, when we have it's been a Marriott or Hilton near an airport.

We enjoy the location, within walking distance to most attractions. The central train station is only a couple of blocks and easily walkable.

The rooftop breakfast, which while plentiful was not a good as our last stay.

Hotel is sound proof from street noise, but the bed mattresses were quite hard and not comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed at the Mecenate Palace and it was OK. The size of the room was fine and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom shower needs some help. There is no shower head and its like standing under a hose. The small glass panel doesn't hold in the water so you need to be careful or the floor gets soaked. The front desk staff is efficient but not overly friendly. The location was good and very close to the train station. You can walk to all the Rome sites if you have heatlhy feet and legs. It was nice to have internet in the room. It wasnt the strongest connection but it worked. The breakfast was the same every day and just OK. They served boiled eggs, meat slices and cheese, yogurt, cereal, canned & fresh fruit, pastries, juice, tea, coffee.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKH-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We prepaid for a "deluxe" room only to arrive and be told it was not available. We were accommodated in a lower level room and were told the price difference would be refunded.
We never got the refund. We agree with a previous review saying the room was miniscule.
Not a good experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Walter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We got to rome and were excited after reading all the reviews on Trip Advisor that we booked this hotel. We arrived at 10 a.m. and our rooms were ready - very nice a clean and we upgraded to be looking out to the beautiful Basilica across the street. Almost a throwback to the "old days" the hotel has alot of character. It was nicely located and walkable to many of the sites in the city.. I really liked the fact that we were not in a "chain hotel" and eating on the open balcony on the roof was very nice indeed. If you want a change from the norm and like a clean centrally located hotel - this is the place !!!

Room Tip: choose a room for the small upgrade to have a view of the Basilica
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel
#94 of 1,271 in Rome
959 reviews
Monti
Duca D'Alba Hotel
Duca D'Alba Hotel
#150 of 1,271 in Rome
1,180 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#46 of 1,271 in Rome
2,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#79 of 1,271 in Rome
2,700 reviews
Esquilino
Quirinale Hotel
Quirinale Hotel
#213 of 1,271 in Rome
3,328 reviews
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#97 of 1,271 in Rome
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mecenate Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mecenate Palace

Address: Via Carlo Alberto 3, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#102 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#163 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#181 Family Hotel in Rome
#195 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $97 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mecenate Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace is a 4-star luxury hotel, located in the historical centre of Rome, near by Colosseum and Roman Forum, overlooking the breathtaking façade of Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore and the Eternal City's unique skyline.Dimora dell'800 confort del 2000. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mecenate Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome
Mecenate Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing